msb1991 Posted October 31, 2011 Posted October 31, 2011 You are better informed than me about this' date=' but his List A record seems decent enough - a touch on the expensive side, but average of 25 is very good. Stark contrast to his ODI record where he averages almost 40 with economy rate over 6 an over.[/quote'] Not better informed than you, I only read the stats too. His List A record is good but OD cricket in India is dispersed through a season at various levels. Consistent performances at Ranji 4 day level mean more for that format than List A do for ODI format. Therefore, a failure to convert List A performances to ODI cricket does not mean he will necessarily fail to convert FC into Test performance.
msb1991 Posted October 31, 2011 Posted October 31, 2011 but in Tests' date=' he needs to have skills like seam and swing which is not there to see much. He struggled even in Irani cup match though he got 4 wickets, but most of those were batsmen making mistakes, no special or worth wicket taking deliveries. [/quote'] Have batsmen just been 'making mistakes' for the half dozen domestic seasons he has played?
vayuu1 Posted October 31, 2011 Posted October 31, 2011 [Yusuf Pathan mode = ON] Haan g@ndu, jo tujh mein hai nahi ! [/OFF] Language achilies:hysterical: but vk skill is as good as *****:hysterical::hysterical:
Karan114 Posted October 31, 2011 Posted October 31, 2011 Not better informed than you' date=' I only read the stats too. His List A record is good but OD cricket in India is dispersed through a season at various levels. Consistent performances at Ranji 4 day level mean more for that format than List A do for ODI format. Therefore, a failure to convert List A performances to ODI cricket does not mean he will necessarily fail to convert FC into Test performance.[/quote'] Fair enough - I do recall there being some talk on ICF about one of the domestic one-day tournaments getting shovelled into a small time frame in order to accommodate the IPL last season.
saneindian Posted October 31, 2011 Posted October 31, 2011 but in Tests' date=' he needs to have skills like seam and swing which is not there to see much. [b']He struggled even in Irani cup match though he got 4 wickets, but most of those were batsmen making mistakes, no special or worth wicket taking deliveries. Batsman can easily maneuver him especially when he is slow with not much bounce or seam. Now now RKT, thats hillarious. VK was not as bad as you make him sound like. Swung the ball, moved it on a dead surface and beat the bat on numerous occassions!! With the old ball, he definitely was a better bowler than Umesh and Varun.
rkt.india Posted October 31, 2011 Author Posted October 31, 2011 Have batsmen just been 'making mistakes' for the half dozen domestic seasons he has played? Yaar according to this argument Joginder Sharma should be there ahead of any one. WE need to see what kind of talent someone has. We cannot pick players just based on stats. We have picked a lots of talentless wicket taking dragon's before in 90s and early 2000s, but they never succeed.
rkt.india Posted October 31, 2011 Author Posted October 31, 2011 Now now RKT' date=' thats hillarious. VK was not as bad as you make him sound like. Swung the ball, moved it on a dead surface and beat the bat on numerous occassions!! With the old ball, he definitely was a better bowler than Umesh and Varun.[/quote'] I just went what you had written in Summary. I didn't watch the match. I watched his dismissal which were more lucky.
achilles Posted October 31, 2011 Posted October 31, 2011 Language achilies:hysterical: but vk skill is as good as ****:hysterical::hysterical: VK is our new prophet
Malcolm Merlyn Posted October 31, 2011 Posted October 31, 2011 Skills?What skills?Getting hit the boundary?He has zerooooooooooo skills....he is a hack........Ofcourse Kumble is his mentor...how else he got into the team.......Tenvic is the way to go........He is an insult to Indian international cap.........test cricket........he shouldbe 10000000000miles away from our test team.
JeffThommo_fan Posted October 31, 2011 Posted October 31, 2011 People are so quick to dismiss Vinay' date=' so soon after he took four wickets against England. Fans are far too keen on what they want to see and not keen enough on what is successful. Fact is that Vinay outbowled Yadav in the recent series, despite Yadav bowling consistently at 145kph. I do not think that Vinay is a great ODI bowler or even a good one but to say he is devoid of skill is to oversimplify and be plain wrong. I think he is best suited for the Test format as he seems to struggle only when batsmen truly improvise to go after him - such as in T20 whereas if a batsman is being cautious, he can be more successful. His domestic consistency which earned him his selection, moreover, came in the 4 day rather than OD format.[/quote'] He don't have height, neither pace, nor reverse swing. He don't have aggressive body language like S Sreesanth or Irfan Pathan used to have at the start of their career. Imagine VK sledging to Matthew Hayden or KP. He bowls loopy bouncers. His conventional swing is even lesser than S Sreesanth. I don't know whether he can bowl incutters. Pet iska bahar aa raha hai. We are current World Champions yar, think something about that. Why you want to give him chance in test matches?? If you are going with domestic record, then Pankaj Singh and Ranadev Bose and many others deserves more than VK. Even if there are some people who watches test matches, they will get bored soon watching this line and length kind of bowling. And I can guarantee you, in test matches he will soon be at 124 k in his second spell.