Indian fans must protest against the BCCI

I am sick to death of these politicians running (or should I say ruining) Indian cricket. There is never any accountability from their side. I can predict the reaction by Indian fans "Sack Dravid. Sack Tendulkar. Sack Laxman. Sack everyone". Thats all well and good and realistically we have to inject youth into this side sooner or later but the truth is that these 11 players are or are very close to the best 11 test players in India and they have consistently been shown up overseas. It's not simply a selection problem. The system is broken. The system is badly broken. We have an abundance of batsmen that average 50+ in first class cricket, but very few have the technique to handle difficult seaming and bouncy tracks. First class form is not translating into Test form and shows that the system is broken. The entire Indian domestic cricket circuit is desperately in need of a massive revamp. Its diluted, there are too many teams, the pitches are flat, there aren't many outright results, and there is absolutely no promotion of the domestic cricket competitions in India. I am tired of hearing about how T20 is taking over and Test cricket will die out. The truth is its not dieing out, India are dieing out. Every Indian fan is deeply deeply hurt by our Test results. The only thing that gets through to the BCCI is $$$. You can sack this team and sack the coach and it might give you a temporary scapegoat but this result is the product of years and years of mismanagement and negligance by the BCCI. Why do we have to send players to County Cricket in England to improve their game? We are the richest cricket country in the world, we have over 1 billion people and for 60+ years we haven't been able to produce a dominant side. The sad truth is, unless we as Indian fans do something ... Whether it be, boycotting the IPL, actively protesting (I honest don't know how) ... But unless we do something, nothing will change. The politicians will give their usual responses (that we won the World Cup, beat West Indies this year, we were World No.1 etc. etc.) , then we'll begin the circus (IPL) again, we'll have a home series and all will be forgotten. Sweeping changes need to be made to the way Indian cricket is run.

I am sick to death of these politicians running (or should I say ruining) Indian cricket. There is never any accountability from their side. I can predict the reaction by Indian fans "Sack Dravid. Sack Tendulkar. Sack Laxman. Sack everyone". Thats all well and good and realistically we have to inject youth into this side sooner or later but the truth is that these 11 players are or are very close to the best 11 test players in India and they have consistently been shown up overseas. It's not simply a selection problem. The system is broken.
So u were in mars when our batsmen were scoring tons of runs in England 2007 Australia 2008 New zealand 2008 and SA 2010.? Seriously the problem is yes Dravid Sachin and Laxman but they werent shown up before as u are assuming with retarded logic.They are shown up now because they are past their best and need to be replaced.
I will discount new zealand because they have never been a top test side. But between australia, england and south africa, we have won 1 series away from home EVER. ... Yes we have won the odd match here and there but we haven't won series. I'm not blaming the players. The players are just a product of a system thats been broken for years and a board that simply doesn't care. We can be ignorant and gloss over the odd test victory overseas here and there and fawn over the IPL and ODIs but the truth is 1 billion people are sick and tired of this. Its time we finally held the BCCI accountable
u see, that was 2 years back, the batsmen were in prime form, specially sach,lax,gambho nd viru, now the trio has got old, its difficult to field for 2 days, come into bat, run hard,bat for hours at the age of 39....they must retire, they are not improving nor are fit
u see' date=' that was 2 years back, the batsmen were in prime form, specially sach,lax,gambho nd viru, now the trio has got old, its difficult to field for 2 days, come into bat, run hard,bat for hours at the age of 39....they must retire, they are not improving nor are fit[/quote'] Err thats exactly what i said
I will discount new zealand because they have never been a top test side. But between australia' date=' england and south africa, [b']we have won 1 series away from home EVER. ... Yes we have won the odd match here and there but we haven't won series. I'm not blaming the players. The players are just a product of a system thats been broken for years and a board that simply doesn't care. We can be ignorant and gloss over the odd test victory overseas here and there and fawn over the IPL and ODIs but the truth is 1 billion people are sick and tired of this. Its time we finally held the BCCI accountable
Errr no not really. India has beaten England 3 times away but have to break the duck in Aus and SA.
Ok fine we won in 1971 and 1986 ... But in the last 25 years we've won 1 series between those 3 countries. My point is this. Australia lose the Ashes 3-1, and they have undergo a full scale independent review and end up with a new coach, new selectors, new captain, new openers, new bowlers. And they look to fix holes in the system from top to bottom. What are the BCCI doing right now? They're too busy worrying about the Nimbus telecast rights deal, and announcing the IPL 2012 schedule. What saddens me the most is that all the steps forward we took under Ganguly's reign are being undone because India's away performances are getting worse and worse, and the board doesn't care.

we are in for a freefall before the new crop of batsmen adjust to playing on conditions which are alien to them,we may even drop below pakistan before the ship is righted somewhat.

Ok fine we won in 1971 and 1986 ... But in the last 25 years we've won 1 series between those 3 countries. My point is this. Australia lose the Ashes 3-1, and they have undergo a full scale independent review and end up with a new coach, new selectors, new captain, new openers, new bowlers. And they look to fix holes in the system from top to bottom. What are the BCCI doing right now? They're too busy worrying about the Nimbus telecast rights deal, and announcing the IPL 2012 schedule. What saddens me the most is that all the steps forward we took under Ganguly's reign are being undone because India's away performances are getting worse and worse, and the board doesn't care.
Actually before the Aussies, England underwent the Schofield review after their Ashes massacre in 2006-07. People laughed at it initially because the changes suggested took time to settle in, but in time England became the no.1 Test side with an array of pace bowlers that makes our excessive reliance on one 33-year old injury prone player all the more laughable. When we were similarly annihilated in England last year, the boss of the Chennai Super Kings IPL franchisee, who also happens to be the boss of the BCCI, had the following to say: http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/story/533006.html Of course he did, because any fair review would have surely mentioned that after such a gruelling season, Indian cricketers should not be playing meaningless tamasha cricket in the April-May period. But therein lies the reason why India will languish in Test mediocrity now that the golden generation of players is past it or retired - the guys with the power to do something about it have other priorities.

welcome to Indian version of capitalism...!! what I'll be doing is boycotting IPL completely.. i boycotted 20/20 champions trophy already. However, I am wondering what Indian fans living in India wants.. they didnt turn up in Test matches last month.. and not even in ODIs.. so curious if they are boycotting Cricket or Test Cricket or IPL?? Lets see...

Indian fans will show up in hordes during IPL. No one cares about a series against minnows (WI) when there's already so much cricket around.

i dont think there is any point in blaming ODIs n IPLs...everyone watches them including you and me...we all love when India wins ODI series anywhere... but agree with Professionalism and Accountability...and it is managed by whims n fancies of few... and everybody's level of professionalism and accountability is different in this country... India are loosing simply because they r not good enough ...lets accept it...and Australian or SA culture of professionalism and accountability would have rolled long back if that would have happened in their country... they would have fired people/players with much ease... players and their bosses all are helping each other mutually in India...no point in blaming one section...either accept all or change everything...

As the Golden Age of our best test cricketers comes to an end, Laxman, Dravid, Ganguly, Tendulkar ,Zaheer have won us test series almost everywhere home and away, were robbed of a victory in OZ , and failed to take grasp an opportuniy to win in SA.INDIA BEING WHERE IT IS DUE TO THESE SUPER PERFORMERS WHO DEFIED NORMS,INDIA STARTED TO BE RECOGNIZED AS LIONS AT HOME AND MINNOWS ABROAD TO FIGHTERS HOME AND AWAY. The scary thing for us Indians is we seriously lack the bench strength as far as the next generation to take over , atleast in the near future, the current generation fed on IPL and ODI'S lack the patience , technique and the game to suit test , some might succeed but that will be a learning process.BCCI being a very poor sporting body has no plans chalked out or a organized plan to promote, groom, pick talented players for higher honors. Ranji Trophy is played on mostly sub standard tracks , which do not challenge or promote talented players much,mediocricity thrives because of the tracks and team selection at state levels.In a way we should be thankfull to IPL or else Umesh , Varun would have been unknown and most probably never get selected like players in the past.We need better tracks and improvement in domestic cricket, sporting wickets which will favour pace bowlers , then batsmen and finally the spinners , from day 1 to day 4 so the bowlers, batsmen get tested enough and learn to perform at various conditions, we will see more rounded cricketers , also better spinners, pacers and spinners who can bowl outside India. State level associations and BCCI do not have any co ordination in identifying, grooming , promoting talent,NCA monitoring them year round and organizing A tours.A tours should be for talented players not for quota or slectors kins, BCCI should appoint talent Scouts for India , who monitor all the teams , even outside Ranji sides.Selections have been very poor also with no planning for the future and fringe selections have been worst , injury monitoring , recuperation has been very bad, seperate teams for ODI'S, TEST, T20,players should be graded based on their performances, or some kind of matrix to identify performance,Gony has performed very well this year, he along with Dinda have been the best bowlers this year, You will see Sudhindra as a trundler looking the best in terms of stats though ,selectors need foresight, looking at selections of Pattinson, Cummins, who haven't played much cricket. Test cricket is the pinnacle as far as cricket or pride of cricketing nation goes, so these players should get all the respect, money they deserve,players like Ganguly, Akram, Vengsarkar, Shastri should be involved in the BCCI as either selectors or grooming identifying talent or making improvements in our domestic structure, India also needs a commitee and findings like Argus report to see what can be done and implemented.Lets get world class coaches at NCA, WE A COUNTRY OF 1 BILLION CRICKET FANS , WILL BE A SHAME IF WE DONT RULE THE WORLD OF CRICKET AS WE HAVE THE TALENT, RESOURCES, LACK ORGANISATION, METHOD, INTENT AND FORESIGHT.

IPL is the best way for cricket fans living in India to go to stadium and watch cricket.Take Chennai for example.Before IPL we had at best 3-4 ODIS in last 10 years in chennai which has a population of more than 1 core.And most of the tickets are given to friends and affiliated clubs by BCCI administrators .And we arent talking about Tamil nadu the state which has 6 crore population. How many do u think get a chance to watch international cricket in those years.IPL is first time many fans in India get a chance to go to stadium and enjoy cricket and see Sachin and Dravid bat.If not for IPL most would never have an opportunity to watch these guys play apart from TV. Thats why regardless of few test fans moaning most in India love IPL its not just because its T20.Thats why IPL is best thing happened in Indian cricket from a fans perspective. Err.We mostly did.It was only the England series.The next WI series was mostly packed to full.

I don’t think the IPL is responsible for our free fall. IPL is over in 6 weeks of intense cricket and then the players can be free of the T20 mindset. I think the main reason is we are playing too much ODIs throughout the year. Most of our Test batsmen are playing as if they are playing ODIs. There is in fact too much cricket on a continuous basis. It is due to lack of professionalism in our structure and the fact that BCCI is run by businessmen and Politicians. Both these categories really don’t understand cricket. They only think in terms of optimization of profits and taking their cut. They don’t understand that producing quality cricket is not like producing cement. Look at our schedule in 2011. The South African tour, the world cup, the IPL, the West Indies Tour, the England tour, CLT20, England ODI series ,another West Indies tour and the MCG test all cramped in a period of 12 months-ridiculous. So cricket has become like an office Job for our players – a 9 to 5 job with lots of Weekend workload too. Of course they are getting plenty of Overtime Payment. But quality of work will definitely suffer.