Suggestions-How to get best of both worlds-Keep IPL and still improve Indian cricket

maniac

Right now there seems to be a lot of anger among the Indian cricket fans about the IPL and how it has ruined Indian cricket etc,etc which is justified in it's own way given our recent performances At the same time like it or hate it but there is no denying that IPL is a money spinning juggernaut. I know lot of people are too good to watch tamasha league and only prefer the purest form of cricket and at the same time there are some fans who follow the IPL and support their teams religiously Is completely abolishing the IPL the solution....I personally don't think that would be a rational desicion and at the same time there is no denying that our quality of cricket has definetely come down due to the IPL where sloggers become heroes and greats like Laxman,Dravid become a liability at times. What would be a middling solution where we can still keep the IPL and infact use it as a way to improve our cricket i.e not just the infrastructure,money ,salary etc but the quality of gameplay(been playing too many video games but hopefully that is the right term so don't pick on it) There are some amazing cricket analysts here and i would be interested to know your viewpoint

Different Teams For Different Format, A Test Cap Player Paid The Highest, Then Odi Along With Ipl And T20,do Not Pick Players On Their Ipl Form For Test's Or Odi's,ipl Form Also Is Not An Indicator Of A Player Being A Bad Test Bowler Or Bat.more Exposure , Maybe A Franchise Or Sponsored Competetive Ranji Sides Some Good Things Taked From Ipl,good Sporting Wickets,players With Right Requisites Picketd Up For Test's And Odi's Respectively.good Administrative Machinery To Churn Out International Class Players Regularly.

With IPL offering such big returns its in the players interests to adapt their game in such a way e.g. scoring quickly which when pitched in the test arena they have no real technique or skills e.g. Kohli, Raina, VIJAY. As mentioned make test success highly rewarded e.g. doubling of winning bonuses, and also CUT THE IPL IN HALF...the number of games is ridiculous and this time could be better spent, plus in the future players will also go to the Big Bash and every other t20 league.

1 suggestion is to have ipl teams playing domestic cricket as well. already we have seen players wearing their ipl franchise helmets in the challenger trophy & ranji trophy. with the ipl franchises themselves playing the ranji trophy, the players wouldnt be so confused. also the bollywood involvement from ipl should be kicked out. the filmi teams usually finish in the bottom in the ipl, so with the ownership change, they would improve and with ipl teams now playing ranji trophy, the amount of money offered to the indian players would now depend on their performances across all 3 formats, so players who are more suited to test cricket, would develop their test match skills in the ranji trophy & still get paid heavily without having to turn to 20/20 sloggers although the ranji trophy would now include the ipl franchises, with the packed calender, getting foreign players wouldnt be possible. but if possible, each team should be allowed to field 1(or maybe even 2) foreign players

Firstly, I think there should be no more than 14 teams in ranji and it should not be state based. I guess the state quota has been killing us. It should be something like IPL and should consist of two groups. 7 in each. Each Team plays the other from the group and 4 teams from other group. so the initial rounds have 10 group matches for every team. Each team should have at least 2 foreign players in its team, a max of 3 . There should be 3 types of wickets - Spin, Bounce and Swing. The home team can choose the type of wicket it looks to sport at beginning of season . but a max of 5 per sporting wicket. These can be a round robin basis. We should identify venues where we can create these. For instance , we can create swinging conditions by building pitches near the sea or high altitudes like dharamshala. The winning team will get a purse of 2 million dollars from IPL kitties. Best batsman, best spinner, best fast bowler( highest average speed throughout season) , most wicket taking fast bowler should be similarly rewarded with cash prize of 15 lakhs per person. Pitch curators who produce results will get 3 lakhs for every result induced pitch and zilch if no result. They will also get no money if result is forced within 3 days. The top 15 batsmen and bowlers from this would then be chosen to go on india tours for the reminder of season to england, australia, south africa nd new zealand. These players would suitably be primed for test cricket and IPL would be strictly off limits for the first 3 years if they are less than 25. They will be suitably compensated at 250k USD for every year of missed IPL opportunity. This might not cost the BCCI much. It will help us to identify the real talent and scouts would start scouring smaller places for batsmen and bowlers with real talent as opposed to what we see now. the state system has to make way out. no point having it. we have been lucky to get sachin, dravid, ganguly sehwag,laxman, kumble , zaheer with it. mots prolly we will not be able to get the same talent if IPL ruins our talents with faulty technical adjustments. Matter of time before we lose in ODIs.. BCCI please listen....

I think the whole ICC itenary is wrong....I guess if ICC has a specific time allocated to T20 leagues...and then evenly distribute the amount of test matches played home and away between all test playing nations and then have a payoff,it would mean all to gether a different thing... For eg;Look at the tension and intensity of the Indian team during the WC Qf,SF and Finals....did they have the same level of intensity when they were getting their a**** handed in England and Aus.If winning every test meant something than it would be completely different. Most of us did not have the same kind of anger after the Eng series that we had during the series.Yes losing the No1 ranking was a big deal but we can always reclaim it by consistently crushing WI, Nzl or even England at home.Things like Pride etc cannot be quantified. I am going to take a bullet for this but apart from SRT who has a point to prove due to his 100th 100 hype or maybe a Kohli,Ashwin or Umesh who are trying to establish themselves....none of our test players have the same level of intensity that they have say while playing for their franchises. The difference is IPL they have to be accountable to their owners but losing a test series is not a big deal to except some hardcore fans whom no one really cares or have no reason to care about. My whole point is it is ICC and BCCI with all the influence they have need to bring in something into cricket where every game...be it IPL or test cricket or ODI has some kind of value attached to it.

makes absolute sense.. They have taken their places for granted a la harbhajan attitude.. Sehwag should be kicked out irrespective of how many 200s he scores on flat lifeless tracks, not that he looks destined to score a hell lot.. If he does not value his ticket no point being in test team. i am all for coporate backed teams in Ranji. Link IPL to Ranji teams and have an incentivised scheme to ensure the best teams win. in short outsource Ranji . If IPL teams start to make money out of Ranji, I am sure they will ensure that they prepare the best wickets and get the best talent. Firstly if the home pitch produces dull draws, the home team should be penalized. Especially states like gujarat and saurashtra have to be penalized for building tar roads instead of sporting wickets...
Right now there seems to be a lot of anger among the Indian cricket fans about the IPL and how it has ruined Indian cricket etc,etc which is justified in it's own way given our recent performances
Err there isnt.The only anger is towards the Indian team that is performing poorly.Not against IPL.And why exactly would u blame IPL for Sachin Dravid Sehwag and Laxman performing poorly.
At the same time like it or hate it but there is no denying that IPL is a money spinning juggernaut
. True.And the most popular tournament in India.And thats why its a money spinning juggernaut.
I know lot of people are too good to watch tamasha league and only prefer the purest form of cricket and at the same time there are some fans who follow the IPL and support their teams religiously
And how many of these people u know are exactly living in India? Where are they exactly when the stadiums are empty during every home tests? Last week i went to Ranji QF and the audience in the stadium is in single digits.So why exactly are these not coming to watch matches if they care so much about test cricket.
Is completely abolishing the IPL the solution....I personally don't think that would be a rational desicion and at the same time there is no denying that our quality of cricket has definetely come down due to the IPL where sloggers become heroes and greats like Laxman,Dravid become a liability at times.
No isnt.No one is portraying Valthathy or Yusuf Pathan as a great ahead of Laxman and Dravid.
What would be a middling solution where we can still keep the IPL and infact use it as a way to improve our cricket i.e not just the infrastructure,money ,salary etc but the quality of gameplay(been playing too many video games but hopefully that is the right term so don't pick on it)
First step would be stop blaming IPL for everything and looking at real reasons.

I agree IPL is needed in the larger interest of the game because teams are more evenly matched as opposed to ODis and tests where it is more one sided... we have a great format and money spinner which we can leverage to hone our strengths... unfortunately our board has been too short sighted and fail to see the larger picture... if they think that tests will die... ODIs are irrevelant and only T20s are sufficient they refuse to foresee a larger problem... waning interest in cricket..leading to lower ratings ..leading to lower advertising money.. leading to more boards becoming cash strapped like windies, pakistan, slc leading to death of the game.. i would not want to watch a game that is not played by less than at least 10 competitive teams.. thats wat makes the NFL, soccer err football:two_thumbs_up: or basketball so attractive... we should follow NFL based drafting schema for Ranji teams. please do away with state teams and associate evry IPL team to a ranji team so that the same fan base can be used for propelling Ranji interest... if revenues drop more youngsters would start to take other financially viable sports and that could sound the death knell of cricket. as much as ICC needs BCCI to spruce up revenues, BCCI also needs other boards to get a fair share of revue to develop the competitiveness... if Indian cricket performs the same way, the death of cricket is not far off.. IPL money needs to be siphoned off to ranji...B->B-> Corporatize Ranji.. i would love to go and see day and night test matches spread over say 6 days with 6 hours of play in chepauk with some good music, nice chairs if the team is called chennai Test Kings . It would be great if we have a say in voting the best player, suggesting prospects who could be recruited to the team. have an interaction with the fans , maintain dialogue. I am sure you will see ranji cricket regaining its charm.... :nervous::nervous: If we get to discuss about players , probably chat with upcoming superstars, are able to meet them after the match. i am sure you are going to get a lot of young kids excited as well as make players believe they have a huge fan base. right now IPL seems to be the only way to notice:pray::pray:

:two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up: How about some Cheerleaders too...

Nothing to do with IPL. Ranji Trophy is sh!te, Man management of ODI and Test players is sh!te, not enough Cricket Academies for the country the size of India and worst of all the scouting system is non-existent. Funnily IPL (has done and) will do a better job than BCCI at scouting players and nurturing them.

IPL does play a very important role in identifying the right talent. Pace bowlers like umesh, varun, abu nechim got into the limelight only because of ipl. Yes there are few victims like pujara and few other guys injured while playing for ipl. But still IPL unearths lot of talent and gives them opportunity to showcase their talent infront of the public and the selectors now will be in constant scrutiny if they select players from their zonal.

IPL is everyone's favorite scapegoat..Its nothing to do with Indian Test Team's performance. IPL started in 2008, is played during the off-season and is over in one single stretch. It is the non-stop circus of tours and ODI mixed with Test Matches that has created the rot.

IPL is not the reason and neither is Ranji trophy because these same players will beat the hell out of England and Australia at home as they have been doing for so many years. The problem has always been conditions in foreign countries which Indian players are not familiar with and it will always remain tough. The likes of Dravid, Laxman and Sachin have gotten used to these conditions over years of playing there and have done well over the years and we expect them to do well even now. But now they are getting older, their reflexes are getting slower and they are not performing the way they used to. The younger batsmen will take many years of playing in those conditions to do well. There is no way around this. We can only hope the senior batsmen get back to form and hope the younger batsmen learn to cope with foreign conditions as soon as they can.

IPL does play a very important role in identifying the right talent. Pace bowlers like umesh' date=' varun, abu nechim got into the limelight only because of ipl. Yes there are few victims like pujara and few other guys injured while playing for ipl. But still IPL unearths lot of talent and gives them opportunity to showcase their talent infront of the public and the selectors now will be in constant scrutiny if they select players from their zonal.[/quote'] Simple economics, competition breeds necessity to innovate to stay ahead and capture fan bases. BCCI has no competition for fans. Hence it's lackluster approach to cricket will continue as long as ad money pours into "Team India" :hehe:

I still believe if ICL had been allowed to thrive it would have benefited Indian cricket immensely, as it would have prompted BCCI to get off it's backside and invest in the development of domestic cricket, and ICL would have done the same. But alas, like all dictators BCCI took the easy route to kill off ICL through blackmailing and harassment.

IPL is everyone's favorite scapegoat..Its nothing to do with Indian Test Team's performance. IPL started in 2008' date=' is played during the off-season and is over in one single stretch. It is the non-stop circus of tours and ODI mixed with Test Matches that has created the rot.[/quote'] Burying your head in the sand does not automatically make the problem disappear. Forget the physical - why would you be motivated to play 5 days under stressful conditions against quality bowlers under really competitive spirit while earning a fraction of what you could earn playing on roads, small grounds, requiring less effort, less stress and playing mostly mediocre opponents. If I were in the Indian team I would do the same. Play international cricket for the sake of playing cricket and focus on staying fit for the two months of IPL.
I still believe if ICL had been allowed to thrive it would have benefited Indian cricket immensely, as it would have prompted BCCI to get off it's backside and invest in the development of domestic cricket, and ICL would have done the same. But alas, like all dictators BCCI took the easy route to kill off ICL through blackmailing and harassment.
I feel sorry for ICL, they brought their original idea in to existence without involving BCCI but BCCI just blackmailed and harassed them including the players, officials and other cricket boards.