King Tendulkar Posted July 18, 2007 Posted July 18, 2007 We are talking about sports ' date=' not sports entertainment !:P[/quote'] :teeth_smile:fell for the trap ,darts , wwe you have to be kidding. :hysterical: Althogh the Great Kali is an indian legend:haha:
WC2011INDIA Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Play 1) Cricket 2) Ten pin bowling 3) Snooker 3) Soccer 4) Golf Watch 1) Cricket 2) Soccer
Alchemist Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Play: 1) Soccer 2) Basketball 3) Volleyball 4) Cricket 5) 10 pin bowling Watch: 1) Soccer 2) Sachin Bat 3) American Football
glogirl Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 i play badminton and tennis. also play gully cricket with my brother and his friends on our streets its fun.
Asim Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 and which Sports Video Game you guys like to play the most? :gamer1:
BERGKAMP Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 1) Golf 2) Football 3) Badminton 4) Poker 5) Pool
Baad Indian Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Love to play Cricket ( Only Batting though) and enjoy Table Tennis to some extent . Cricket rules because there is no other feeling which is more satisfactory than dominating 11 guys trying there best against you . Complete Domination . Always loved the opposition team getting furious and irritated at getting me out .
akshayxyz Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 For watching - cricket, tennis, pool/snooker/billiards. For playing: Pool/Billiards/snooker (Can take anyone - unless you are a pro) Squash (can play for 2-3 hours, don't mind repeatedly losing to better players, enjoy it for sweating it out and hitting hard). Carrom (old favorite, but haven't played since college days, one-two month practice and can take anyone unless you are a pro). Cricket - enjoy mindless hitting (lefty/righty) and bowling - various spin deliveries/medium fast - with either hand. Gym (if you consider it sport) - can compete with anyone for muscle-fat% change race, in terms of efficiency and accuracy of results/targets w/o using burners/steroids. Computer/Mind-sport stuff - AoE, Poker, Scrabble - have played these for countless hours (some times even 24 hours at a stretch).
akshayxyz Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 I know its a fun sport which does evoke a lot of passion sometimes. Personally ' date= I dont think i will get a lot of satisfaction out of winning a carrom game , when compared to a lets say a gruelling basketball match. If you play for fun, its fun. But trust me, it takes a lot away - mentally and physically ( sitting/practicing for long hours).. And every hard fought win is as satisfying as it is in any other game/sport. Winning and repeated losing (against better player, until you start winning for that special feeling of satisfaction) to become better - is an attitude not limited to any particular sport/game. Ofcourse, it does change with age, stakes, motivation and your purpose to play (hobby/relaxing or competitive).
akshayxyz Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Arre Bhaiya hum bhi ussi side ke hain. Saala ghar ka Cuticura' date='[b'] Nycil powder choora choora ke carrom pe daalte the. Bahut joota para hai yeh sab ke chakkar mein. But there is nothing better than sitting under a Phillips bulb aiming for that Queen...aur bijli chali jaaye to Petromax ya even dhibri chalega lekin game nahin rukega! If above is true - you are a fake carrom player..:P Any good (competitive) player will refuse to play (or crib/preach at least few times) - about Nycil/talcum Powder and w/o 200 Watt bulb hanging on top of the proper quality board :).
Mariyam Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 @ Lurker and Akshayxyz, Can carrom/scrabble/chess etc be classified as sports?
Asoka Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Can someone differentiate between a sport and a game? My PT Sir told me that a sport is an individual competition while a game involves teams. So cricket,football,basketball are games while singles tennis,golf etc are sports. I guess that is why Athletics is called sports and games because it can be individual or team(relay) competition. Is this definition right?
Late Cut Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 To play: American Foortball- kinda like a cross between chess and rugby; i love the tactical side of it when i play Cricket- Fun to play with da guys, love the feeling of being in a park, the breeze, the competition, the old man with the toupee bowling mystery finger spin Basketball- Used to play alll the time, sometimes a whole day, ahh the days of youth Soccer- fun to play casually, tragically, my body cant do what my mind can imagine Table Tennis- If you are indian you gotta play TT Pool- has it's advantages :winky:
akshayxyz Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 @ Lurker and Akshayxyz, Can carrom/scrabble/chess etc be classified as sports? How do you want to define sport? What is the 'official' definition? As per me it is not any different from other sports when it comes to: a) winning/losing b) competitiveness (between top skilled players) c) satisfaction of winning against good player d) frustration of losing against worse player e) Amount of effort required ( # of hours to put) to become the best in the business. f) The part luck can play - when a match is between two players of significant skill difference. A significantly better skilled player will beat lesser one, more often than not. g) Physical and mental endurance required to become the very best. and so on.