rkt.india Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 IMO, speed between 135-145 is good enough for any fast bowler given that he has different tricks at his disposal and has skills to use those tricks. Likes of Styen, Harris, Anderson do not bowl faster than these speeds, it is their skills with decent enough pace with make them handful in most conditions.
ChanaLal Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 IMO' date=' speed between 135-145 is good enough for any fast bowler given that he has different tricks at his disposal and has skills to use those tricks. Likes of Styen, Harris, Anderson do not bowl faster than these speeds, it is their skills with decent enough pace with make them handful in most conditions.[/quote'] ^^^agree with this BUT.... why can't we have speed to go with that control? It doesn't have to be mutually exclusive..one or the other. Most coaches think it's one or the other but you can surely have both if you get the right coach to coach speed into bowlers.:hatsoff:
rkt.india Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 ^^^agree with this BUT.... why can't we have speed to go with that control? It doesn't have to be mutually exclusive..one or the other. Most coaches think it's one or the other but you can surely have both if you get the right coach to coach speed into bowlers.:hatsoff: We can have both together. I will take a bowler bowling at 140 with control and skills rather than one who is 150 plus but is like Tait or Actor, always injured.
CG Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 We can have both together. I will take a bowler bowling at 140 with control and skills rather than one who is 150 plus but is like Tait or Actor' date=' always injured.[/quote'] I would take akhtar anyday ,His record considering he played in subcontinent is amazing,You need to manage such players they are match winners.
rkt.india Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 I would take akhtar anyday ' date='His record considering he played in subcontinent is amazing,You need to manage such players they are match winners.[/quote'] bowlers who have potential like that are one in a decade. Rather waiting for that rare potential, focus on getting bowlers like Yadav and learn them the art and skills.
CG Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 bowlers who have potential like that are one in a decade. Rather waiting for that rare potential' date=' focus on getting bowlers like Yadav and learn them the art and skills.[/quote'] Yes they are.Yadav seems pretty skillful already .
rkt.india Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 Yes they are.Yadav seems pretty skillful already . If Yadav continues to work well on his fitness and bowling, he too can hit 155K like Shoaib by the time he reaches 26-27 because it was the time when Actor and Lee were at their peak in terms of pace. They were not 155-160 at age 24 but increased their pace in duration 23-27
MCcricket Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 If Yadav continues to work well on his fitness and bowling' date=' he too can hit 155K like Shoaib by the time he reaches 26-27 because it was the time when Actor and Lee were at their peak in terms of pace. They were not 155-160 at age 24 but increased their pace in duration 23-27[/quote'] Also most of Umesh's deliveries are bowled from 2 steps behind where he could normally bowl, I HAVE NO DOUBT OF HIM TOUCHING 155K, JUST A LITTLE BIT MORE POLISHING AND HE WILL BE A DEVASTATING FAST BOWLER.
MCcricket Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 Want to take India back to No.1: Dawes First Published : 16 Feb 2012, 10:53 Last Modified : 16 Feb 2012, 12:59 By: Shirin Sadikot Rating: Enlarge Mumbai, Feb 16: A strapping fast bowler who took 285 first-class wickets for Queensland. A plain-clothed policeman who enoforced the law for close to a decade. A political media advisor, owner of a news agency, a businessman who dealt in sports shoes. Joe Dawes’ résumé reads like options ticked by a wide-eyed youngster on a career-counsellor’s attractive brochure. After retiring as a cricketer in 2005, the multi-faceted Dawes coached Queensland before taking up the same job with South Australia. At 41, Dawes has landed the most high-profile job of his career – that of the Indian cricket team’s bowling mentor for the next two years. He will take over from the incumbent bowling coach, Eric Simons, whose tenure ends with India’s ongoing tour of Australia. The moment Dawes agreed to take the job, he knew what he wanted to achieve out of it. “I want to take India back to the No.1 position in Test cricket,” was a familiar refrain during the course of his interview to bcci.tv. He also has a plan to achieve that aim. “People talk about developing four or five good fast bowlers but I want to form a pack of eight to 12 quick bowlers to fall upon at any time.” Confidence in his coaching abilities, and the talent that he has seen in India on his few visits to the country, fuel Dawes’ ambition. “I believe I’ll do a very good job. There are some really young, exciting prospects in the Indian set-up and India being such a vast country, there will be so much untapped talent as well. We can go beyond the obvious and search for that talent,” he said. Australia’s ongoing domestic season means Dawes, currently South Australia’s bowling coach, has been able to catch only glimpses of the Indian bowlers in Australia. His meetings with MS Dhoni and Duncan Fletcher have been short and formal. But he’s already managed to have some useful conversations with Eric Simons. “I did speak with Eric a couple of times and I’m hoping to catch up with him again before the team leaves Australia,” Dawes said. “He’s given me a good insight as to where the bowlers currently stand in comparison to where they want to get. He’s been very helpful without giving me any preconceived notions about the players.” Dawes has also received a valuable piece of advice from Simons which he intends to “use as a massive part of [his] coaching method”. Simons told him, “You need to understand before you try to make yourself understood.” “It’s a treasure from him, a great piece of advice when you’re dealing with a team with varied cultures, different languages and backgrounds,” Dawes acknowledged. Simons’ inputs aside, Dawes is working on his own strategy to get through to the team. “When a coach suggests something, he needs to have the player’s understanding and inputs as well. For that, I have to be a part of the team first and get to know them as persons before trying to know them as bowlers.” He believes the varied experiences gained from his multiple professions will help him “to build friendships with players and not only be their coach but also their friend.” Dawes’ new job is equal parts opportunity and challenge. Used to bowling and coaching on the bouncy and pacy Australian pitches, Dawes will have to recalibrate his plan while guiding a bunch of fast bowlers who play most of their cricket on docile Indian tracks. “On the sub-continental tracks, whatever the bowlers do, they have to do it exceptionally well. In Australia, you can get away with a few mistakes because you get assistance from the wicket, but not in India. The reverse swing becomes very important there and it is a very hard task to master.” Dawes admits he’ll have to alter his coaching methods quite a bit to suit the situation. “We have to make changes even when we go around the six states in Australia. The sub-continental wickets are way different from that. It’s a challenge for me as a coach.” However, with the bowling talent available to India, he believes his work will ease down. “We’ve got a good mix of bowlers who can bowl fast and those who are very skilful. We just need to be a little more consistent and utilise our skill better than we’re doing at the moment,” he said. The Aussie has also braced himself for the non-cricketing challenges that his new job presents not least of which is handling the expectations of millions of zealous fans. “The expectations of the Indian public are welcome,” he said. “Indian people are passionate about their cricket and I’m passionate about my coaching. All I can do is perform my job to the best of my abilities. Hopefully, the Indian public will get behind me and the team as we climb our way up the ladder.” Dawes aims to “build a strong relationship based on trust and honesty” with his wards. “I don’t beat around the bush,” he says, describing his coaching method. “I’ll always tell you what I think with a view to making you a better player. I’ll work to build an environment where I can be honest with the players and they can be honest with me.” Officer Dawes makes a brief reappearance when he lays down the rules for his new set of wards. “I set very high standards and expect the same from my players,” he warned. But the transition to Coach Dawes is seamless. “I’ll back you and give my 100 per cent if you’re willing to work hard. I’ll challenge you to get better and help you get there He seems to have the right ideas and the drive, willing to look outside the circle and push the bowlers harder, also creating a pool, I am a bit impressed , lets hope for the best and not be judgemental as best players dont make best coaches.
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 17, 2012 Posted February 17, 2012 ...and the Earth is flat right bhai? :giggle: Bhains ke saamne been bajane wali baat hai :wall:
ChanaLal Posted February 18, 2012 Posted February 18, 2012 Dawes admits he’ll have to alter his coaching methods quite a bit to suit the situation. “We have to make changes even when we go around the six states in Australia. The sub-continental wickets are way different from that. It’s a challenge for me as a coach.” I hate to say this but coaching 'methods' such as increasing pace, upskillng bowlers and showing how to have control over length, does not ever need to be changed. These are the fundamentals of world class coaching. If Dawes means different PLANS for different pitches, then that's true. But NOT different coaching methods. Such a strange comment that I wanted to highlight it. I feel this is further proof Dawes might not have a grasp on how to implement world class protocols if he thinks methods need to be changed state by state within his own country. The more I hear from this guy the less I think he has much idea.
diga Posted January 27, 2013 Posted January 27, 2013 Will Fletcher be sacked anywhere in the near future though? I am yet to see an ounce of improvement in the team ever since his improvement. In fact' date=' our batting has become worse since his appointment and our bowling has not improved either.[/quote'] Epic prediction from RKT .. :two_thumbs_up: Its 1 year since Joe Dawes was appointed
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 27, 2013 Posted January 27, 2013 Dawes seems to have worked with Ishant.Ishant is pitching the ball further up and bowling well.Its our batting which is a failure. Sack Fletcher Keep Dawes.
diga Posted January 27, 2013 Posted January 27, 2013 Dawes seems to have worked with Ishant.Ishant is pitching the ball further up and bowling well.Its our batting which is a failure. Sack Fletcher Keep Dawes. Then Dawes should work at the NCA to correct the mistakes.. at the international level, he should look after the bowling plans, fitness sessions, plan workload of bowlers in the nets
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 27, 2013 Posted January 27, 2013 Then Dawes should work at the NCA to correct the mistakes.. at the international level' date=' he should look after the bowling plans, fitness sessions, plan workload of bowlers in the nets[/quote'] Already enough guys at NCA.Isnt TA Sekhar anc co. working there?