chainsmoker1985 Posted February 23, 2012 Author Posted February 23, 2012 Dude.' date= so 4s going through edges, runs through iffy shots is like taken apart for you. So what is the thrashing of Vinay for you. Yadav conceded at least 10-15 runs through edges and top edges through slips and gully areas take those 15 out. If captain had slip, Thiramanne could have been gone there at the start of his innings but it went for 4 instead. You need these kind of luck and edges going into the hand of slip or keeper, same thing happened against Australia when SRT was standing too fast behind at first slip and he could catch the edge from Forrest and it hit his shin. You need these kind of luck and catches to be taken to win matches, look at how David Hussey caught Kohli. It was not to be a catch if there was an SRT standing. This is the kind of luck I am talking about. Dude, I think you are forgetting one important point here that Yadav was bowling in a match not in nets. In nets the bowlers usually say these things which you are saying that edges could go to 1st slip so batsman would be out or this would have been caught at mid-wicket. The fact of the matter is, if it is so easy to score runs off edges off Yadav, then why is it not for each and every bowler. On top of that, there is one simple solution which experts tells you, that pitch the ball up. If you pitch the ball up, the runs scored through edges or iffy shots will be 90% less. Its as simple as that. I remember, Sachin at the start of this tour, was teaching Yadav to pitch the ball up on Australian pitches. But, he hasn't learned as yet. Even I support Yadav a lot, but looking at the current situation, it seems that Yadav is over-confident coz of his pace. Over-confidence is one thing which is completely unacceptable in Intl Cricket. We have recently seen an example of that yesterday only when Jesse Ryder and NZ team's over confidence had cost them a match quite uniquely. They required 15 runs of 24 balls with 7 wickets remaining and they lost it. So, Yadav was over-confident after Adelaide ODI against Australia and that over-confidence has cost him in last 3 matches.
express bowling Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 Its the main problem in india ,people expect ready made mcgrath,gillespie,steyn.People forget how they also struggled when they started and got dropped. You talk about plans ,every team makes plans it all about execution ,somedays you cannot as its nature of game.Umesh is blessed with talent as he can bowl both the outswinger and inswinger ,so he has many deliveries in his arsenal with time and exp he will no when to use them . You seem to have very little hands-on knowledge about India's sporting world and the mentality that is prevalent there. You come across as an armchair "expert". In our country it is often thought to be a derogatory step to think and plan in sports and it is thought to be a much nobler approach to just be natural. The pace bowlers are especially susceptible to this attitude. You simply do no comprehend what I am trying to say in my original post. I am not expecting a McGrath or Steyn overnight. As I have repeatedly written -- I want Umesh to get a lot of encouragement and support. If he gets hit for runs I have no problem but the approach to becoming a good and genuinely quick strike bowler should be proper. A brainless approach does not help in any field. Most great pacers have a good cricketing brain. Umesh has a lot of talent and has the ability to learn. But he is encouraged to take a brainless approach. If you can't understand the difference in approach between a Pattinson and an Umesh then you are not worth debating with.
rkt.india Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 Dude' date=' I think you are forgetting one important point here that Yadav was bowling in a match not in nets. In nets the bowlers usually say these things which you are saying that edges could go to 1st slip so batsman would be out or this would have been caught at mid-wicket. [b']The fact of the matter is, if it is so easy to score runs off edges off Yadav, then why is it not for each and every bowler. . Others like Vinay and Pathan dont go for runs through edges because they are easier to hit and if batsman hit them, they will go wiht over the top hits and authentic shots and not edges.. those edges could have been catches on his good day. Yes, I know he tries too much and does not stick to a certain line and length but that is the freedom given to him to attack the batsmen with quick short balls as he has pace and is aggressive.
express bowling Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 Others like Vinay and Pathan dont go for runs through edges because they are easier to hit and if batsman hit them' date=' they will go wiht over the top hits and authentic shots and not edges.. those edges could have been catches on his good day. Yes, I know he tries too much and does not stick to a certain line and length but that is the freedom given to him to attack the batsmen with quick short balls as he has pace and is aggressive.[/quote'] Umesh is being scored off edges because of his extra pace and our captains do not know how to set the field to a genuine quick. As you have rightly said, Vinay and Pathan are being hit in front which is not as easy to do to Yadav. Yadav should try the quicjk short balls but should also try the quick yorkers more as he was doing in India. I am hopeful that he will do better in India or the subcontinent when he can reverse the ball and also bowl those low quick deliveries off which he was getting wickets. In Australia they are going over the stumps.
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 23, 2012 Author Posted February 23, 2012 Others like Vinay and Pathan dont go for runs through edges because they are easier to hit and if batsman hit them' date= they will go wiht over the top hits and authentic shots and not edges.. those edges could have been catches on his good day. Yes, I know he tries too much and does not stick to a certain line and length but that is the freedom given to him to attack the batsmen with quick short balls as he has pace and is aggressive. If Yadav pitches the ball up then batsmen will have to hit him over the top or play more authentic or proper cricketing shots, even on his bowling as well. And you know, how difficult it is to hit Yadav over the top or play proper cricketing shots off him. It'd benefit Yadav in both ways if he pitches the ball up to the batsmen at his pace- 1. It will increase his chances of picking wickets. 2. The unnecessary runs that he is giving off edges and nudges down fine leg or 3rd man, that will reduce a long way as well.
asterix Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 I hope Yadav too doesn't ends up being an "unlucky" bowler after 4-5 years.
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 23, 2012 Author Posted February 23, 2012 I hope Yadav too doesn't ends up being an "unlucky" bowler after 4-5 years. Don't worry he will not. I hope our new bowling coach will work with him and our other upcoming pacers. And one more thing, I don't like putting a tag of test bowler or limited overs bowler, on any bowler, whether its Ishant Sharma or Umesh Yadav or Varun Aaron.
rkt.india Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 If Yadav pitches the ball up then batsmen will have to hit him over the top or play more authentic or proper cricketing shots' date=' even on his bowling as well. And you know, how difficult it is to hit Yadav over the top or play proper cricketing shots off him. It'd benefit Yadav in both ways if he pitches the ball up to the batsmen at his pace- 1. It will increase his chances of picking wickets. 2. The unnecessary runs that he is giving off edges and nudges down fine leg or 3rd man, that will reduce a long way as well.[/quote'] Dude...go to hawkeye and see how many times he pitched the ball up and then talk.
saneindian Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 Dude...go to hawkeye and see how many times he pitched the ball up and then talk. hawkeye shows Umesh's average speed to be 72 mph , not sure how accurate that "tool" (pun intended) is :winky:
rkt.india Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 hawkeye shows Umesh's average speed to be 72 mph ' date=' not sure how accurate that "tool" (pun intended) is :winky:[/quote'] :giggle:
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 23, 2012 Author Posted February 23, 2012 Dude...go to hawkeye and see how many times he pitched the ball up and then talk. Checked it and he was all over the place, as I said. Here it is
Old guy Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 no going for runs here in series doesn otm ake him loser mcgrath at start got stick in odis.. steyn did too when he toured australia specially in odis im sure! i odnt get it why would u even create this thread :wall:
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 23, 2012 Author Posted February 23, 2012 no going for runs here in series doesn otm ake him loser mcgrath at start got stick in odis.. steyn did too when he toured australia specially in odis im sure! i odnt get it why would u even create this thread :wall: Bro, I love talking about Umesh Yadav whether appreciating him or criticizing him :winky:
Old guy Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 Bro' date=' I love talking about Umesh Yadav whether appreciating him or criticizing him :winky:[/quote'] criticize vinay koomar.. or are u afraid of saurav ghosh dada ? :dontknow:
rkt.india Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 Checked it and he was all over the place, as I said. Here it is You call this allover the place. His lines are good and lengths are good as well. You expect him to bowl all fuller. It will become predictable and then batsman can align him more easily. There is nothing wrong in most of his length and lines here. He has varied his lengths. The only thing I want is eh can improve his line more and bowl more off stump rather than middle and leg, otherwise there is no problem in this pitch map. It shows how good the pitch was and Indian batsmen threw their wickets.
Old guy Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 true pitch map isnt that bad.. u have to remember its odi so line is little less attacking but he wasnt consistent enough but thats expected from new young upcoming fast bowler wht im trying to say u cant really call him "loser" cos of this pitch map.. bowlers like steyn are rare to have pitch map of a medium pacer and bowl like fast it comes iwth experince and lots of talent even morne morkel has his bad days anderson only now got consistent would love to see pitch map of ishant in tests :P
rkt.india Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 true pitch map isnt that bad.. u have to remember its odi so line is little less attacking but he wasnt consistent enough but thats expected from new young upcoming fast bowler wht im trying to say u cant really call him "loser" cos of this pitch map.. bowlers like steyn are rare to have pitch map of a medium pacer and bowl like fast it comes iwth experince and lots of talent even morne morkel has his bad days anderson only now got consistent would love to see pitch map of ishant in tests :P Problem with his is he tries to attack the stumps where he goes for runs as well through fine leg, etc. He wants the batsmen to clean bowled or LBW and bowl middle line, but I would want him to bowl around off and out side off.
Old guy Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 Problem with his is he tries to attack the stumps where he goes for runs as well through fine leg' date=' etc. He wants the batsmen to clean bowled or LBW and bowl middle line, but I would want him to bowl around off and out side off.[/quote'] in tests i actually like this line.. full and attacking stumps .. (not yorker full but u get my point right ? ) in odis yes bowling little bit out side off will help.. if he can swing from even out side off stump.. in odis batsmen wil still go for it and it would stilll be an attacking line. anyway..he hasnt really bowled badly .. like u urself said no one was actually comfortable against him hopefully team keeps on playing him and give him newer ball otherwise it would be such a waste!
bajrang Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 dear noob, asking to pitch up the ball at gabba, go look at ben hilfenhaus pitch map againt india at gabba. 4 out his 5 wicket came from short ball. aa jate hai pata nahi kahan se test match ki commentary sun ke ,aur sochne lagte hain ki hum toh expert ho gaye fast bowling ke.
Old guy Posted February 23, 2012 Posted February 23, 2012 dear noob, asking to pitch up the ball at gabba, go look at ben hilfenhaus pitch map againt india at gabba. 4 out his 5 wicket came from short ball. aa jate hai pata nahi kahan se test match ki commentary sun ke ,aur sochne lagte hain ki hum toh expert ho gaye fast bowling ke. true..no one really pitched it up there.. do u have hilfy's pitch map ?