The Outsider Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 If you have 6 batsman in the team and you have to drop one, you drop one that has fared the poorest Dravid?
coffee_rules Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 Laxman's poistion is the most expendable. Tendulkar fields well and bowls. Ganguly bowls. Yuvraj is a better fielder at point than Laxman is in slips. So, Laxman is the most expendable player in the team currenfly. I would have said drop Dhoni despite his 50. But given the Youth brigade flag bearer, again Laxman's case is most easy one to take.
Lurker Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 Dravid? Wouldnt exactly mind that considering how Dravid's batting has taken a hit. But I don't see that happening. He would be in the team if only because he is the skipper.
zubinpepsi Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 If you have 6 batsman in the team and you have to drop one' date=' you drop one that has fared the poorest. This is not exactly rocket science. It would be nothing sort of favoritism that Sachin scores at a super 26.50 but Ganguly gets dropped who averaged 37 with the bat.[/quote'] y everytime it has to be sachin....... atleast he seems to be playing his natural game now.. wat do u say abt laxman.. he got bowled when hes well set.. and tht was typical laxman gap.... mind you, he is more hungrier to score a 100 in lords than any of us...
The Outsider Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 Wouldnt exactly mind that considering how Dravid's batting has taken a hit. But I don't see that happening. He would be in the team if only because he is the skipper. If you think Dravid deserves to be dropped to bring in useless Yuvraj I have nothing more to say here.
ludhianvi Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 did you guys see that when Dhoni was batting, Yuvraj was taking net practice at the adjacent ground and then came when Dhoin was still batting. This must have got Dhoni's attention:D
Lurker Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 y everytime it has to be sachin....... Everytime?? The simple FACT is that he has not been dropped. EVER. Based on his past performance, and the blind adulations of fans, he keeeps his spot in the team, talks nonsense these days, "I love the game", "We would win in South Africa" blah blah and keeps sinking to a new low these days. Give me one good reason why he should not be dropped. atleast he seems to be playing his natural game now.. Huh, what kind of argument is that? Okay so if he plays his natural game and scores at a super 26.5 against Trimlett, Anderson, Sidebottom I am supposed to support him? Also if is playing his natural game NOW, why wasnt he dropped when he was not playing the way he should? Admit it SRT fans would find it very difficult to "protect" Sachin, if you based the argument on merit of performance that is. wat do u say abt laxman.. he got bowled when hes well set.. and tht was typical laxman gap.... What about him? The man keeps getting dropped but his performance in the past couple of years is hardly worse than Sachin. In the last two series when they have played together, South Africa and PAkistan, VVS has topped the averages when compared with SRT. Even in this test he scored more, if only by a solitary run. Help me understand why VVS should be dropped then? mind you, he is more hungrier to score a 100 in lords than any of us... Yeah and I am hungry for a billion bucks? So? The man has played the last Test match at Lords, he aint playing again and would end up with 37 as his highest. Get used to it. xxx
Lurker Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 If you think Dravid deserves to be dropped to bring in useless Yuvraj I have nothing more to say here. Arre I never even say who to bring in bhai, Yuvraj or no Yuvraj. Dravid is gonna play, he is the skipper and amongst the loser 4 he is easily the best right now so he will keep his position. The one to go should be SRT, end of story.
Mr. Wicket Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 Laxman. Pains me to say it, but he's averaging little more than 33-35 in the last three years in tests. His fielding's generally average outside the slip cordon, and he can be replaced fairly easily in the slips by Dravid, Tendulkar and/or Jaffer. More concerningly, batting at 6, right now he hasn't shown his abilities to force the pace and counterattack when the tail is in to try and prevent the opposition from going straight on the attack. Yuvraj offers a more attacking option and a batsman who can dominate the opposition with more ease and maximise his time at the crease better, not to mention far better in-ring fielding.
zubinpepsi Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 Everytime?? The simple FACT is that he has not been dropped. EVER. Based on his past performance' date=' and the blind adulations of fans, he keeeps his spot in the team, talks nonsense these days, "I love the game", "We would win in South Africa" blah blah and keeps sinking to a new low these days. Give me one good reason why he should not be dropped.[/quote'] the fact tht hes not been droppped ver shud not be a yardstick for droppin him. i think hes still one of the best in our team.... and whom are you gonna replace with?? Huh' date=' what kind of argument is that? Okay so if he plays his natural game and scores at a super 26.5 against Trimlett, Anderson, Sidebottom I am supposed to support him? Also if is playing his natural game NOW, why wasnt he dropped when he was not playing the way he should? Admit it SRT fans would find it very difficult to "protect" Sachin, if you based the argument on merit of performance that is.[/quote'] well wat i meant is.. if hes playing his natural game hes more likely to succeed and we have seen tht..well he doesnt need external support to keep his place in the team.. his abilities will speak for him and it is.. What about him? The man keeps getting dropped but his performance in the past couple of years is hardly worse than Sachin. In the last two series when they have played together' date=' South Africa and PAkistan, VVS has topped the averages when compared with SRT. Even in this test he scored more, if only by a solitary run. Help me understand why VVS should be dropped then?[/quote'] apart form batting wat else this laxman can do? hes been playing for some time and how many times have we seen this laxman gap and get bowled.. and this is not the time for it... Yeah and I am hungry for a billion bucks? So? The man has played the last Test match at Lords' date=' he aint playing again and would end up with 37 as his highest. Get used to it. [/quote'] well i broughtup the century thing jus to point out he wants to play well more than anyone else.. well no one knows how many centuries hes gonna endup..we ll let the time to answer such qns.. xxx
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 i say send laxman back call in sehwag he will play in the lower middle order if not opening
zubinpepsi Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 Laxman. Pains me to say it' date=' but he's a[b']veraging little more than 33-35 in the last three years in tests. His fielding's generally average outside the slip cordon, and he can be replaced fairly easily in the slips by Dravid, Tendulkar and/or Jaffer. More concerningly, batting at 6, right now he hasn't shown his abilities to force the pace and counterattack when the tail is in to try and prevent the opposition from going straight on the attack. Yuvraj offers a more attacking option and a batsman who can dominate the opposition with more ease and maximise his time at the crease better, not to mention far better in-ring fielding. i agree... some valid points there
jf1gp_1 Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 If you want to drop some then get rid of the complete middle order. I dont see any reason why Dravid or Sachin get a free pass but laxman is dropped.
Lurker Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 the fact tht hes not been droppped ver shud not be a yardstick for droppin him. i think hes still one of the best in our team.... and whom are you gonna replace with?? His best is not enough. Enough said. He is only degrading his legacy. Even his staunchest fans support him because of what he did in 1999-2000 and NOT in 2006/7. From subtle jibes commentators take a regular dig at him and everyone is unanimous, including a certain Ravi Shastri, that Tendulkar is not a great player anymore. Who do I replace with? One of the new guns. Why should Yuvraj wait in wings and never play? That when SRT scores at a measly 26 average? Here is SRT's last 4 series averages: SL in India - 38 India in Pakistan - 21 England in India - 21 India in South Africa -33 Are you telling me if that was Kaif/Yuvraj/Raina scoring at that rate they would be playing still?? So why SRT? well wat i meant is.. if hes playing his natural game hes more likely to succeed and we have seen tht..well he doesnt need external support to keep his place in the team.. his abilities will speak for him and it is.. The only thing we have seen is that Sachin is getting progressively worse. He is NOT amongts the top 10 bats, not even in top 15 today. This for a batsman that was known as the best bat of our times and possibly 2nd best ever. Why would he want to further humiliated is beyond me. apart form batting wat else this laxman can do? hes been playing for some time and how many times have we seen this laxman gap and get bowled.. and this is not the time for it... You did not answer my question ZP. I asked if VVS has outscored SRT in both of the past series, as also this Test(admittedly by a solitary run), why should VVS be dropped and NOT SRT? well i broughtup the century thing jus to point out he wants to play well more than anyone else.. well no one knows how many centuries hes gonna endup..we ll let the time to answer such qns.. Look that line of thought - he wants to play well more than anyone else - is ridiculous. If Ganguly have the same philosphy does he gets to stay? NO. He gets dropped, same with VVS, so why is Sachin different? He may want to do good but the fact is he has not even managed a series with 40 plus average against top teams in past 4-5 series. And I am not even mentioning 50-60 plus. As for the number of centuries like I have said, he has played his last game at Lords, he will end up his career without a 50 let alone a 100 at it. xxxx
zubinpepsi Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 Quote: apart form batting wat else this laxman can do? hes been playing for some time and how many times have we seen this laxman gap and get bowled.. and this is not the time for it... You did not answer my question ZP. I asked if VVS has outscored SRT in both of the past series, as also this Test(admittedly by a solitary run), why should VVS be dropped and NOT SRT? I dont know exactly the nos.. but i can say tht he hasnt done exceeding well. u seem like to know the nos... tlel me when was the last time laxman made a big score ?? atleast sachin is a utility player.. SA series VVS Laxman 3 6 1 180 73 36.00 38.21 - 2 5 - SR Tendulkar 3 6 0 199 64 33.16 46.82 - 2 3 - WI series VVS Laxman 4 7 0 257 100 36.71 40.53 1 1 1 -SL series VVS Laxman 3 5 0 194 104 38.80 43.30 1 1 1 - SR Tendulkar 3 5 0 189 109 37.80 42.47 1 - - -
Lurker Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 I dont know exactly the nos.. but i can say tht he hasnt done exceeding well. u seem like to know the nos... tlel me when was the last time laxman made a big score ?? atleast sachin is a utility player.. That is nothing but a smokescreen. I remember writing many a months back that the problem for Sachin would come NOT from his critics, but from his fans who keep backing him up for no reasons. In the end that hurts him and Indian cricket. Utlity player? Sachin is in the team for his batting. Period. VVS is in the team for his batting. If they can take some good catches or wickets that is bonus, but that is not what they are in for. I would much rather have Sachin/VVS scored a 100 that have Sachin score a 45 and take 1 wicket(or 2). By the way Sachin has taken a grand total of 4 wickets in last 10 Tests matches, 3 of which have come against BD. So 1 wicket in 10 test, does that make him a utlity player now? xxxx
sandtest Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 See the tragedy with our team. We have such a "great" batting line that we cannot accomodate a batsman like Yuvraj. and still we have to rely on rain. :wall:
Dhondy Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 It's not Laxman. The buck for India's dismal performance stops squarely with the big two. These are their scores in the last 10 innings they have played together against the non minnows, starting with the Mumbai Test against England, through the SA series, and including this Test match. Dravid- 52, 9, 32, 1, 11, 5, 29, 47, 2, 9= 197 @ 19.7 Tendulkar- 1, 34, 44, 14, 63, 0, 64, 14, 37, 16= 287 @ 28.7 Total 484 @ 24.2. When your top two players, with nearly 20,000 runs between them, with Test average of 57 and 55, average 24 over a cumulative period of 10 innings, there's something very wrong. We have lost three Tests during this period, won one, and very nearly lost this one, but for the rain. We have got to the situation where a big score from one of these two has become an unexpected bonus rather than the norm. Dravid gets more sympathy because of what he achieved in the West Indies, and because of his comparatively better recent record. He may also point to three rough decisions he got over this period. Whatever the mitigations, it is quite clear that we cannot afford to have our two major batsmen underperforming at the same time. This cannot continue. Before we look at anybody else, these two must put up their hands and be counted. If not, maybe it's time to make way for those waiting in the wings.
theguyinallblue Posted July 23, 2007 Posted July 23, 2007 how about..if Sachin catches cold..or Flu suddenly.. sachin needs to rest himself for the next game..i don't see any one else being dropped... sachin must vacate his place for yuvi...