Cricketics Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 I have been put in this situation for this first time. Don't know what the heck I have to do. It's an American wedding. Still long way to go, but does anyone of you have any experience being the best man??
Texy Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 You safely carry the ring and guard it with your life....also you get to sleep with the bridesmaids & their sisters & their friends....it's a tradition, don't break it...good luck :icflove: P.S. get your tux/suit measured at the tailor early otherwise quite tricky situation when things get squished down there for a long time
Nova Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 Tics, you would have to do the following: 1. Stand next to the groom during the wedding rehearsals and the actual wedding, and usually keep the ring safe until needed. 2. Help the groom in wedding preparations, if required. 3. Help in organizing bachelors partaay. Hopefully you guys will have strippers around. :D 4. Make a toast to your best friend at the reception by giving a nice speech. You can do that impromptu or prepare it beforehand. Most importantly, you should talk to your friend and ask him what needs to be done. Do NOT assume things or go unprepared... coz this will be one of the most important days of his life and also an honour for you. Enjoy.. it's fun!
Jersey #10 Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 Nail em Beechees is the most important duty. Next guarding the ring and the speech.
Desi Cartman Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 Organize bachelor party and do the bridesmaids .... oh also carry the ring
Zelig Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 Organize bachelor party and do the bridesmaids .... oh also carry the ring :hmmm:
Nova Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 lol at people suggesting to do the bridesmaids. Tics, don't just blurt out to one of the girls: "I wanna do you". You will get your ass handed on a silver platter...
Sachin=GOD Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 lol at people suggesting to do the bridesmaids. Tics' date=' [b']don't just blurt out to one of the girls: "I wanna do you". You will get your ass handed on a silver platter... looks like you are experienced in this :sherlock:
asterix Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 'Tic.. It's just a tradition..You've to 'do' it.. :D
Stuge Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 lol at people suggesting to do the bridesmaids. Tics' date=' don't just blurt out to one of the girls: "I wanna do you". You will get your ass handed on a silver platter... [/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ I don't know much about christian traditions ,but here you have a nice chance to experience something new .So ,do your best for your best friend .best of luck :)
Texy Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 arre Tics bhai koi chinta nehi....Weddings are the best time to hit it and quit it...chicks are emotional, depressed during weddings partly because they are half jealous half discontent with their own inability to find a better half and be standing up there. Best bet if the bride has a single sister...she will be drinking wine like a thirsty dog after evening walk. Great time to introduce yourself as the best man, share few laughs, tell her jokes, tell her she's more beautiful than her sister and how the night is incomplete w/o her blah blah...as the saying goes, hatora maro jab loha garam ho...strike the iron when it's hot...ek bar she smiles and bam! that's the signal
Desi Cartman Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 arre Tics bhai koi chinta nehi....Weddings are the best time to hit it and quit it...chicks are emotional, depressed during weddings partly because they are half jealous half discontent with their own inability to find a better half and be standing up there. Best bet if the bride has a single sister...she will be drinking wine like a thirsty dog after evening walk. Great time to introduce yourself as the best man, share few laughs, tell her jokes, tell her she's more beautiful than her sister and how the night is incomplete w/o her blah blah...as the saying goes, hatora maro jab loha garam ho...strike the iron when it's hot...ek bar she smiles and bam! that's the signal Hit it and quit it - lols isn't that raj's (big bang theory ) favorite line
vvvslaxman Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 Hard part is giving him the toast.. if you are comfortable on the stage..you are fine. I would be terrified. Share some lighter moments that you shared with your friend. Keep it brief.
Desi Cartman Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 Hard part is giving him the toast.. if you are comfortable on the stage..you are fine. I would be terrified. Share some lighter moments that you shared with your friend. Keep it brief. And dont talk about cricket and/or Leander paes :mad:
Sachin=GOD Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 If you have to make a speech, begin it with - "It's been an emotional day..... even the cake is in tiers." :D
Desi Cartman Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 Show them Cricket Videos and promote the game.... yes but not the tour vs Eng or Aus :((
Cricketics Posted April 4, 2012 Author Posted April 4, 2012 Sab tharki log jama ho gaye idhar toh:) Woh sab toh sahi hAI. I thought people would share their experience if they had any. Like what else the person has to do.
jairamesh Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 If you are doing a speech, the line is pretty thin between being funny and being plain insulting. I had to two, I learnt after my first one it's best to keep the comedy to a minimum and unintelligent to get maximum reception. My first one turned more into a Chris Rock diarrohea with my friend (the groom) as the target. hehe, his dad wasn't too happy!:--D