Alchemist Posted April 6, 2012 Posted April 6, 2012 Long read. But a very infuriating one. This is how the cops look at rape cases. Not that I am a big supporter of NDTV. But this seems like a real thing. http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/in-and-around-delhi-cops-blame-rapes-on-women-tehelka-investigation-with-ndtv-194735?pfrom=home-lateststories
Lurker Posted April 6, 2012 Posted April 6, 2012 Long read. But a very infuriating one. This is how the cops look at rape cases. Not that I am a big supporter of NDTV. But this seems like a real thing. http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/in-and-around-delhi-cops-blame-rapes-on-women-tehelka-investigation-with-ndtv-194735?pfrom=home-lateststories I am not surprised. And yes the easiest thing would be to be horrified at this and basically start goint postal at Cops but surely there is bit more to this here. We have to realize that last decade or two has seen a HUGE change in Indian society. The working class is lot younger. Indian teenagers, both boys and girls, are no different than West in terms of money and lust. Does a girl walking into a pub deserves rape? No. Does a girl walking into a pub deserves rape through the eyes of 50 year old cop? Maybe yes. There is a generational thing at play here. These people have grown up in an era where women used to wear ghunghats and pardah, it is not hard to see their reaction. Personally I have seen both eras, the era where Moms would step out with atleast a male member, or a servant, to now where girls are producing MMS clips on their own. What bothers is saw them both in a matter of less than 2 decades..who would have thunk???
Desi Cartman Posted April 6, 2012 Posted April 6, 2012 years ago in delhi I was enjoying a sutta at a panawala when a girl wearing jeans and a top (not even revealing) and the guys standing next to me said " pehle aise kapday pehenti hain, fir kehti hain rape ho gaya rape ho gaya" I was stunned. The people who said this were educated guys in early 20s and were laughing while saying this. I understand that they were kidding but this is mind set. BTW you can watch the program here http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/the-9-oclock-news/cops-blame-rapes-on-victims-in-delhi-shows-investigation/228580?hp
Prakat Posted April 7, 2012 Posted April 7, 2012 Whose fault could it be? These are the same people who figured that the sex of the newborn is to be blamed on the mother, and the man goes scotfree. Of course, if its a boy child then the man is a 'sher'. :facepalm:
PriyankaSR Posted April 7, 2012 Posted April 7, 2012 WTF. Wearing revealing clothes doesn't mean the girl is inviting rape. A girl who is wearing jeans and top is just as unsafe as the one wearing a dress. We live in a society which teaches women to be careful not to get raped instead of teaching men NOT TO RAPE. Its sad.
Prakat Posted April 7, 2012 Posted April 7, 2012 WTF. Wearing revealing clothes doesn't mean the girl is inviting rape. A girl who is wearing jeans and top is just as unsafe as the one wearing a dress. We live in a society which teaches women to be careful not to get raped instead of teaching men NOT TO RAPE. Its sad. If we don't keep raping you for wearing less clothing then one day you will be out wearing nothing. then where will we be? Wait, what? ....ok. No more raping shaping. :shakehands:
Alchemist Posted April 7, 2012 Author Posted April 7, 2012 WTF. Wearing revealing clothes doesn't mean the girl is inviting rape. A girl who is wearing jeans and top is just as unsafe as the one wearing a dress. We live in a society which teaches women to be careful not to get raped instead of teaching men NOT TO RAPE. Its sad. Exactly what I think.
ViruRulez Posted April 7, 2012 Posted April 7, 2012 It has got to do with both the sick Delhi mentality towards females as well as the fact that Delhi Police is one of the laziest and crappiest police force in the entire nation. No offense to anyone but DP has either the UP bhaiyyas, the Jatts, Gujjars etc. in their force and I have seen their way of talking and behavior. The only thing they are bothered about is "extra income" and don't give a damn about the public. And their police stations as a whole are corrupt and they are not worried to discuss and demand bribe for even registering FIRs in their police stations. The only situations where they easily take down FIRs is if you go with a VIP or higher officer who are their senior. Otherwise their system is corrupt from bottom to top. I don't see it changing it either in the future unless there is rule to fire all corrupt and lazy govt. employees in the future and to replace them by genuine and honest people. BTW how is a jeans and top revealing dress. That is far more modest than even the saree and covers nearly the whole body. I am not sure which moron made saree the most modest dress whereas it is far more revealing compared to jeans/top or salwaar/kameez.
ravishingravi Posted April 7, 2012 Posted April 7, 2012 There was some heated discussion going on today on this issue. I have always felt that the neo feminists have polarised every debate beyond any reasonable limits. While, it is shameful, we have to be in complete denial that it reflects the mindset of society, men and women included. On the question of validity of this mindset, I say it is a grey area. We are not San Francisco or Paris. We are not quite Somalia either. But let's not get ahead of ourselves. It is by and large not a safe country for women, revealing clothes or not. So, if a woman completely ignorant of the country she lives in tries to wear her sexuality on her sleeve, then yes she is asking for it. But let me make it clear, it is a *****y situation but it is a ground reality. Yes it is not the kind of society we aspire for but given the circumstances, we have to take absolute precaution. Don't want to pass a sweeping judgement. But I absolute this hypocritical outrage displayed by some on cops comments. It is the Indian mindset and it is not completely unjustified.
nikred Posted April 7, 2012 Posted April 7, 2012 Welcome to the stone age. I am sure Indians were lot more liberal in the stone age than they are now. :winky:
CSK Fan Posted April 7, 2012 Posted April 7, 2012 There was some heated discussion going on today on this issue. I have always felt that the neo feminists have polarised every debate beyond any reas. While, it is shameful, we have to be in complete denial that it reflects the mindset of society, men and women included. On the question of validity of this mindset, I say it is a grey area. We are not San Francisco or Paris. We are not quite Somalia either. But let's not get ahead of ourselves. It is by and large not a safe country for women, revealing clothes or not. So, if a woman completely ignorant of the country she lives in tries to wear her sexuality on her sleeve, then yes she is asking for it. But let me make it clear, it is a *****y situation but it is a ground reality. Yes it is not the kind of society we aspire for but given the circumstances, we have to take absolute precaution. Don't want to pass a sweeping judgement. But I absolute this hypocritical outrage displayed by some on cops comments. It is the Indian mindset and it is not completely unjustified. Because if society kept on thinking like you did India would still be in the stone age. India would never be a safe country for women because of apologist or realists like you. The day educated people like you condemn such acts instead of making excuses on why and how India is unsafe fit women, we will reach places. After all if women and some men didn't take initiative against sati, we would still have it on a large scale today.
Crookbond Posted April 7, 2012 Posted April 7, 2012 It has got to do with both the sick Delhi mentality towards females as well as the fact that Delhi Police is one of the laziest and crappiest police force in the entire nation. No offense to anyone but DP has either the UP bhaiyyas' date=' the Jatts, Gujjars etc. in their force and I have seen their way of talking and behavior. The only thing they are bothered about is "extra income" and don't give a damn about the public. And their police stations as a whole are corrupt and they are not worried to discuss and demand bribe for even registering FIRs in their police stations. [b']The only situations where they easily take down FIRs is if you go with a VIP or higher officer who are their senior. Otherwise their system is corrupt from bottom to top. I don't see it changing it either in the future unless there is rule to fire all corrupt and lazy govt. employees in the future and to replace them by genuine and honest people. BTW how is a jeans and top revealing dress. That is far more modest than even the saree and covers nearly the whole body. I am not sure which moron made saree the most modest dress whereas it is far more revealing compared to jeans/top or salwaar/kameez. The highlighted is one of the real issues why law enforcement epic fails.
Deleted_User_1 Posted April 8, 2012 Posted April 8, 2012 Look India is a backward country socially, deal with it!!!!!!!!!!!! Superpower my asss!
ravishingravi Posted April 8, 2012 Posted April 8, 2012 Because if society kept on thinking like you did India would still be in the stone age. India would never be a safe country for women because of apologist or realists like you. The day educated people like you condemn such acts instead of making excuses on why and how India is unsafe fit women' date=' we will reach places. After all if women and some men didn't take initiative against sati, we would still have it on a large scale today.[/quote'] The question is not about taking the initiative. The question is about firstly accepting that we are in a stone age. Okay now that we have crossed step 1, we can talk about step 2, enforcing the law and order situation and protecting women. First stop the bleeding and then perform the surgery. Now if society kept thinking like you did that let us risk the rape, we can cry cry foul later and go for dharna and cover 2 days of 24 hour news cycle till the next rape happens which would be in next 10 minutes then i would rather be in stone age but better law enforcement for time being. So I would say misguided thought processes like these which do not understand the importance of acceptance of current scenario, precaution that one needs to take and then change it over a period of time are greater danger to women and society at large. The outrage has to be against the lack of law and order. The Indian mentality will take time to evolve. But I wouldnt accept one additional cycle of rape and outrage as an agent of change. Cause it will not change one single thing.
CSK Fan Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 The question is not about taking the initiative. The question is about firstly accepting that we are in a stone age. Okay now that we have crossed step 1, we can talk about step 2, enforcing the law and order situation and protecting women. First stop the bleeding and then perform the surgery. Now if society kept thinking like you did that let us risk the rape, we can cry cry foul later and go for dharna and cover 2 days of 24 hour news cycle till the next rape happens which would be in next 10 minutes then i would rather be in stone age but better law enforcement for time being. So I would say misguided thought processes like these which do not understand the importance of acceptance of current scenario, precaution that one needs to take and then change it over a period of time are greater danger to women and society at large. The outrage has to be against the lack of law and order. The Indian mentality will take time to evolve. But I wouldnt accept one additional cycle of rape and outrage as an agent of change. Cause it will not change one single thing. I dont believe I put my point across correctly. But for every rape, every violent incidenct against women, I have always seen at least one person like you coming out and blaming the woman and trying to be a realist. Right from my childhood and nothing has changed till date From the way of treating black as second rate citizens to women working outside home, any changes which happened were always two-fold and agressive. Blacks and women themselves came out despite all dangers to them and supported the initiatives. It was considered dangerous for blacks to rise above their station and be rich. Yet they did take that first step for scoiety to change. Similarly same arguments were used for women working outside home, its dangerous, women wont be safe, etc. Yet women did take the chance and started working regular jobs. The second part was that society uniformly condenmned any action to the contrary. When blacks were attacked, no one said, its dangerous for blacks to earn money, instead they condenmned the deed, similarly when employers did not hire women citing safety, they were condenmned till they did. So society too played a huge part in stopping the justification of any form of discrimination My point is, if you keep on believing in a reality, it will become a reality. Keep on talking about how India is unsafe for women and it will remain unsafe. Women do have necissity to be in all sorts of places and they do not invite danger. But unanimously all the media, all the news, all reports should condenm the deed and not the women. If even one voice like yours comes out after every such deed, we will continue to remain in the stone age for ever, nothing is going to change. Change only comes when a country, a society, a multi-national, an individual stops making excuses and blaming external factors and genuinely tries to change things
Needforspeed Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 Our thinking is really retarded..How do you blame the women. Forget about the west, go to asian countries like Honkong, Singapore, Japan, Philipines, Thailand etc and see how the women dress. Definitely a lot less covered than Indian women. First time I went to Tokyo, I took some time to recover.:winky: And the men there-most of them don't even bother to look, and you hardly hear of anyone getting inspired to rape just because of the way women dress. Indian men are the most sexually frustrated and women-hating lot. Rape is not about sex..its about power and hate.
EnterTheVoid Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 Our thinking is really retarded..How do you blame the women. Forget about the west, go to asian countries like Honkong, Singapore, Japan, Philipines, Thailand etc and see how the women dress. Definitely a lot less covered than Indian women. First time I went to Tokyo, I took some time to recover.:winky: And the men there-most of them don't even bother to look, and you hardly hear of anyone getting inspired to rape just because of the way women dress. Indian men are the most sexually frustrated and women-hating lot. Rape is not about sex..its about power and hate. I know EXACTLY what you're talking about. In freezing cold weather, the women wear leather jackets/leather shorts and nobody even bats an eyelid. If you go to the Akihabhara district, the women even dress up as their favorite cartoon characters :winky:
Crookbond Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 Our thinking is really retarded..How do you blame the women. Forget about the west, go to asian countries like Honkong, Singapore, Japan, Philipines, Thailand etc and see how the women dress. Definitely a lot less covered than Indian women. First time I went to Tokyo, I took some time to recover.:winky: And the men there-most of them don't even bother to look, and you hardly hear of anyone getting inspired to rape just because of the way women dress. Indian men are the most sexually frustrated and women-hating lot. Rape is not about sex..its about power and hate. Packs his bags for a trip to Tokyo :secret: