Crookbond Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 ^not literally' date='but its good to know what other people are working on in I.T field[/quote'] As for your earlier comment on final year projects - even if you are outside of the IIT system you can build your own projects (sometimes even better than the IIT folks). Stay hungry, stay foolish.
GautiMaan Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 As for your earlier comment on final year projects - even if you are outside of the IIT system you can build your own projects (sometimes even better than the IIT folks). Stay hungry' date=' stay foolish.[/quote'] Will try man
akshayxyz Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 As for your earlier comment on final year projects - even if you are outside of the IIT system you can build your own projects (sometimes even better than the IIT folks). Stay hungry' date= stay foolish. Why use words that (potentially) reek of inferiority complex / sour grapes?
Crookbond Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 Why use words that (potentially) reek of inferiority complex / sour grapes? Context mate - context [1]. You don't need to have an "IIT" label to prove authoritativeness. Obviously, there are some pretty great people in the IITs but if you're good enough, you're good enough with or without the IIT label. This comes from a person who has been involved with two of the IITs in different capacities - so definitely not sour grapes. On the contrary, I was encouraging him to "take things in his own hand" and he seem to take it in his stride too. If you notice his earlier post, he explicitly mentions - "Since I am out of the IIT system" and hence, I alluded to the same. [1] http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=2035381&postcount=10
Desi Cartman Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 im working on using Social media to ruin image of Hampton hotel. Bastard at the counter didnt even apologize for room not having Jacuzzi (as promised) and for the bugs in the room lol.. I dont have much to do so Im using my time to attack them on Social Media :hatsoff:
Crookbond Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 ^ No trolling brah, What do you work on - professionally?
Desi Cartman Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 ^ No trolling brah' date=' What do you work on - professionally?[/quote'] Switching jobs .. starting at a new company in 2 weeks :aha:
Crookbond Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 Switching jobs .. starting at a new company in 2 weeks :aha: :banghead: And you specialize in?
Desi Cartman Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 :banghead: And you specialize in? Trolling :dontknow: Business Intelligence :hatsoff:
akshayxyz Posted July 8, 2012 Posted July 8, 2012 Context mate - context [1]. You don't need to have an "IIT" label to prove authoritativeness. Obviously' date= there are some pretty great people in the IITs but if you're good enough, you're good enough with or without the IIT label. This comes from a person who has been involved with two of the IITs in different capacities - so definitely not sour grapes. On the contrary, I was encouraging him to "take things in his own hand" and he seem to take it in his stride too. If you notice his earlier post, he explicitly mentions - "Since I am out of the IIT system" and hence, I alluded to the same. [1] http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=2035381&postcount=10 My bad on missing the context and using some harsh words. I am allergic to, when someone resorts to using un-necessary comparisons - to feel good. It sends negative message - to me at least. There are healthier ways to take pride in your work - iit, mit or whatever. Getting formal recognition from some supposedly better/more-prestigious institution is different from, self-attestation of 'being-better'. First way is proper and positive thing to be proud of, second one sends negative message. Edit: Don't worry, you do not have to defend yourself. I have seen your full biodata :). My comment was not directed to an individual (you), but to anyone, who uses such 'self attestation' words.
akshayxyz Posted July 8, 2012 Posted July 8, 2012 Trolling :dontknow: Business Intelligence :hatsoff: So, you are saying -> BI = trolling?
Crookbond Posted July 8, 2012 Posted July 8, 2012 My bad on missing the context and using some harsh words. I am allergic to, when someone resorts to using un-necessary comparisons - to feel good. It sends negative message - to me at least. There are healthier ways to take pride in your work - iit, mit or whatever. Getting formal recognition from some supposedly better/more-prestigious institution is different from, self-attestation of 'being-better'. First way is proper and positive thing to be proud of, second one sends negative message. Edit: Don't worry, you do not have to defend yourself. I have seen your full biodata :). My comment was not directed to an individual (you), but to anyone, who uses such 'self attestation' words. :hmmmm:
maniac Posted July 9, 2012 Posted July 9, 2012 Currently working on how to kill the next 7 hours at work :)
Brainfade Posted July 9, 2012 Posted July 9, 2012 (1) Teaching: Completely revamping Cell Biology Course so all content ("lectures") are online and class time is reserved for reviewing material, discussion, paper-reviews and studying medical applications of Cell Biology. (2) Research: Identifying a drought-responsive gene in plants; purification of retroviral inhibitors from organic extracts of plants.
veer Posted July 9, 2012 Posted July 9, 2012 im working on using Social media to ruin image of Hampton hotel. Bastard at the counter didnt even apologize for room not having Jacuzzi (as promised) and for the bugs in the room lol.. I dont have much to do so Im using my time to attack them on Social Media :hatsoff: damn.. i travelled to dallas last month and suckers didnt reserve room at hamptons inn even though i called them couple of days earlier.. i reached at hotel at 10:30 - 11 at night so i accepted smoking room.. got a headache next morning. BTW.. BI and BO seems like hot potato these days.. do you recommend getting training on either of those two?? I been thinking abt it but need some opinion on that..
Desi Cartman Posted July 9, 2012 Posted July 9, 2012 damn.. i travelled to dallas last month and suckers didnt reserve room at hamptons inn even though i called them couple of days earlier.. i reached at hotel at 10:30 - 11 at night so i accepted smoking room.. got a headache next morning. BTW.. BI and BO seems like hot potato these days.. do you recommend getting training on either of those two?? I been thinking abt it but need some opinion on that.. they are bastards of the highest order. Unapologetic and rude. I have read other reviews where people had similar experience where the rooms were not as described and they were also told to book and call as opposed to using the internet. :cantstop:
Lurker Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 damn.. i travelled to dallas last month and suckers didnt reserve room at hamptons inn even though i called them couple of days earlier.. i reached at hotel at 10:30 - 11 at night so i accepted smoking room.. got a headache next morning. BTW.. BI and BO seems like hot potato these days.. do you recommend getting training on either of those two?? I been thinking abt it but need some opinion on that.. BO is rather easy to pick up. I suppose BO se you mean Business Objects. agar database background hai to it is rather easy. Thora modelling experience ho to even better. Yes the market is decent for now. Let me know if you need some info. :winky:
veer Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 BO is rather easy to pick up. I suppose BO se you mean Business Objects. agar database background hai to it is rather easy. Thora modelling experience ho to even better. Yes the market is decent for now. Let me know if you need some info. :winky: Lurker mahodai... aap bhi issi field main fasse ho? well i have DB background.. not DBA but i've worked as Data Analyst and then been working as QA/Validation Analyst.. but any tips on how to go about getting trained on these two? thru SAP? or any other better way?
Lurker Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 Lurker mahodai... aap bhi issi field main fasse ho? well i have DB background.. not DBA but i've worked as Data Analyst and then been working as QA/Validation Analyst.. but any tips on how to go about getting trained on these two? thru SAP? or any other better way? Arre hum to bas yahi kiye hain lol. When I started my career I had the option to be either on programming side (Visual Basic, C++) or RDBMS-BI route. Hum BI mein ghus liye. If you want to get trained on Business objects, you can either go through SAP or download their trial software on your machine, there is a 45 day free trial. I would recommend the latter. BI is quite a vast area so you may have to figure out whats your sweet spot? Data Analyst on BI side with some reporting and database exposure? Or heavy hitter on report writing, ETLing, data modelling. Feel free to drop me a PM if you want to keep certain info private and/or more details.:two_thumbs_up: