CSK Fan Posted May 2, 2012 Posted May 2, 2012 Anyone can be best T20 batsman by following Gayle approach. Play out the good bowlers and thrash the sub-standard trundlers. . LMAO!! Anyone can beat Bradman's average, just dont get out in tests. Anyone can break Afridi's record, just hit sixes from the word go. Anyone can break Akhtar's fastest ball record, just bowl fast enough Dekhte hai, tera Sehwag playoffs mai kya karta hai. When he gets out cheaply and the team collapses, then we will discuss whose approach is better
vvvslaxman Posted May 2, 2012 Posted May 2, 2012 Overall Gayle has better credentials in T20. But you can't take away the fact VIru has 10 points more than Gayle when it comes to strike rate. Gayle looks monsterous because of his monsterous sixes and mega big overs. Both average around exactly 50 with clearly having better SR.
Zelig Posted May 2, 2012 Posted May 2, 2012 Overall Gayle has better credentials in T20. But you can't take away the fact VIru has 10 points more than Gayle when it comes to strike rate. Gayle looks monsterous because of his monsterous sixes and mega big overs. Both average around exactly 50 with clearly having better SR. If you talking about just this IPL season your argument stands valid but when we consider overall stats (T20Is and Domestic T20s), Gayle is light years ahead of Viru. Sehwag T20Is 16 15 0 340 68 22.66 223 152.46 0 2 37 15 1 0 Twenty20 92 91 5 2571 119 29.89 1611 159.59 1 18 307 102 23 0 Gayle T20Is 20 20 1 617 117 32.47 427 144.49 1 5 57 34 5 0 Twenty20 101 99 12 3644 117 41.88 2354 154.80 7 24 296 251 26 0
Lord Posted May 2, 2012 Posted May 2, 2012 Overall Gayle has better credentials in T20. But you can't take away the fact VIru has 10 points more than Gayle when it comes to strike rate. Gayle looks monsterous because of his monsterous sixes and mega big overs. Both average around exactly 50 with clearly having better SR. Gayle average 42 SR- 154 Sehwag average-30 SR-160 Gayle is more consistent
Sehwag1830 Posted May 2, 2012 Author Posted May 2, 2012 LMAO!! Anyone can beat Bradman's average, just dont get out in tests. Anyone can break Afridi's record, just hit sixes from the word go. Anyone can break Akhtar's fastest ball record, just bowl fast enough Dekhte hai, tera Sehwag playoffs mai kya karta hai. When he gets out cheaply and the team collapses, then we will discuss whose approach is better Trust me he won't be embarassing as Tendulkar. I can't remember when was last time Tendulkar scored a 30 ball 50 in T20. Please don't bring expectations of billion fans excuse here.
SLICKR392 Posted May 2, 2012 Posted May 2, 2012 Put a big target on the board and 9 out of 10 times CG fails. As per for Viru' it doesn't matter what score is in the board, he goes for the kill in the very first ball. That's him!!!! And about Sehwag's luxury...! What sort of luxury did he have in the previous season? That dint change his game a bit. Gayle is way, way too Overated in IPL......
Sehwag1830 Posted May 2, 2012 Author Posted May 2, 2012 If you talking about just this IPL season your argument stands valid but when we consider overall stats (T20Is and Domestic T20s), Gayle is light years ahead of Viru. Sehwag T20Is 16 15 0 340 68 22.66 223 152.46 0 2 37 15 1 0 Twenty20 92 91 5 2571 119 29.89 1611 159.59 1 18 307 102 23 0 Gayle T20Is 20 20 1 617 117 32.47 427 144.49 1 5 57 34 5 0 Twenty20 101 99 12 3644 117 41.88 2354 154.80 7 24 296 251 26 0 Well going by your logic Sehwag is light years ahead as a cricketer of Gayle because of far superior test record. Actually the point of this thread was never to discuss who is superior T20 player. Just their approach.
vvvslaxman Posted May 2, 2012 Posted May 2, 2012 Gayle average 42 SR- 154 Sehwag average-30 SR-160 Gayle is more consistent Talking about this IPL. Viru for bizzarre reasons is a poor ODI and T20 player despite his game suits to a T for that format.
vvvslaxman Posted May 2, 2012 Posted May 2, 2012 Gayle average 42 SR- 154 Sehwag average-30 SR-160 Gayle is more consistent Viru is just as consistent this season. But Gayle for all his big hitting was blamed for slow batting in couple of matches at the start. You could blame Viru for anything. But you could never blame Viru for stalling an innings.
Sehwag1830 Posted May 2, 2012 Author Posted May 2, 2012 The slowest 50 Sehwag has scored this season is of 33 balls. Sehwag has done as much this season for DD as Gayle did last season for RCB . He never took T20 seriously earlier.
Zelig Posted May 2, 2012 Posted May 2, 2012 Trust me he won't be embarassing as Tendulkar. I can't remember when was last time Tendulkar scored a 30 ball 50 in T20. Please don't bring expectations of billion fans excuse here. Well going by your logic Sehwag is light years ahead as a cricketer of Gayle because of far superior test record. Actually the point of this thread was never to discuss who is superior T20 player. Just their approach. lol Contradicting posts :hatsoff:
Sehwag1830 Posted May 2, 2012 Author Posted May 2, 2012 Actually i misunderstood Gayle.The fact that he never features even once in this list while Sehwag features 4 times shows most of Gayle acceleration came after reaching 50s http://www.itsonlycricket.com/entry/3151/ So my mistake. Gayle was never a fast starter as Sehwag to begin with.
Ultimate_Game Posted May 3, 2012 Posted May 3, 2012 Gayle is far more consistent than Sehwag in T20s. Plus Gayle has performed in T20 intls wjereas Sehwag has gone missing. To even be compared to Gayle, Sehwag needs a monster T20 Cup later this year. At the moment Gayle is far ahead.
Sehwag1830 Posted May 3, 2012 Author Posted May 3, 2012 ^^^^ Actually India won the only T20 WC in which Sehwag has played.However India would certainly require Sehwag to fire in 3 of the 6 games to win T20 WC. During T20 2009,T20 2010 we didn't win a single match in super 6
Ultimate_Game Posted May 3, 2012 Posted May 3, 2012 ^^^^ Actually India won the only T20 WC in which Sehwag has played.However India would certainly require Sehwag to fire in 3 of the 6 games to win T20 WC. During T20 2009,T20 2010 we didn't win a single match in super 6 Yes, India did win the tourney but not due to Sehwag. He didn't even play in the final. And for the semis and the must-win game against Eng it was Yuvraj who made the difference. In the final Gambhir and Rohit showed up. And against SA it was Dhoni & Rohit. Sehwag's best performance was against NZ which we lost and against Eng where he laid the platform for Yuvraj. That being said India needs him to fire if India are to even get to T20 Cup semis. One of the reasons for India's poor performances in the last 2 T20 Cups was absence of Sehwag. Sehwag needs to show up and be consistent. Without Yuvraj we need starts from Sehwag as we don't have that much firepower without Yuvi in the middle order. Jaddu can't score more than run a ball at intl cricket and that rate is pedestrian in T20s.
kidnextdoor Posted May 3, 2012 Posted May 3, 2012 Gayle bats himself in because there is no one else in the team that he can rely on ... Sehwag on the other hand can take risks as he can rely on Pietersen, N Ojha, R Taylor or even Mahela or Pathan to have a nice innings once in a while... If Gayle just had someone that would bat with him through the innings knocking around singles than RCB would be hard to beat!
Sehwag1830 Posted May 3, 2012 Author Posted May 3, 2012 So deviliers, Kohli , Tiwary have become crap T20 batsman now.
bulbul Posted May 3, 2012 Posted May 3, 2012 So deviliers' date=' Kohli , Tiwary have become crap T20 batsman now.[/quote'] Kohli and Tiwary are crap batsmen in this IPL
bulbul Posted May 3, 2012 Posted May 3, 2012 Oh god this comparison nonsense now seeped into IPL section also :((
vvvslaxman Posted May 3, 2012 Posted May 3, 2012 Gayle bats himself in because there is no one else in the team that he can rely on ... Sehwag on the other hand can take risks as he can rely on Pietersen, N Ojha, R Taylor or even Mahela or Pathan to have a nice innings once in a while... If Gayle just had someone that would bat with him through the innings knocking around singles than RCB would be hard to beat! Viru won't do that even if he plays for the weakest of the weakest team. That is the point OP trying to make. Approach. he won't slow down for any goddamn reason team is weak, top order is sloppy, middle order chokes.. any reason. Also you cannot possibly say Dilshan,ABDV, Kohli line up is inferior to KP/Mahela/Taylor. ABDV has produced some breathtaking innings in this IPL much like KP.