JaiRamesh2 Posted April 2, 2014 Posted April 2, 2014 So why you all want to contest from Varanasi? Kejriwal (AAP): I am ready to challenge Modi with the support of the people. I do not have any money. You will have to donate money to me. Rashid Alvi (Con): For the first time, the idea of secular India is under threat…. I would request you to permit me to contest against Modi from Benares Kailash Chaurasia (SP): I am now fighting not as a state minister but as an ordinary citizen of Varanasi. If he (Modi) expects to win from this holy city in order to realize his ambitions, he must also show the courage to fight as an ordinary citizen Mukthar Ansari (in jail): Both Modi and Kejriwal don't have base in the city. Votes will certainly polarise in favour of Ansari, Modi (BJP): For thousands of years, the ancient city of Varanasi has been a symbol of knowledge, education and culture. Varanasi is the city of Lord Shiva; he who is a linking-bridge between various cultures;he who drank poison himself to save the World from evils& is known as Neelkanth. Today, the eyes of entire nation are set on Varanasi & the reason of it is also the Shiv Swarup of Varanasi that can not only drink poison to save the society but also play Damrooto save the people from those who push the country into the pit of despair. Varanasi shall set in motion the wheels of change that will take India on the path of good governance. It is believed that it is in this Varanasi where Maa Ganga’s beauty and virtuesreach that highest level of piousness that even looking at the Ganges becomes a source of salvation for a person. But, today this revered Maa Ganga is struggling for its own identity. Even after spending thousands of crores of rupees, the condition of the polluted Ganges is the same. River Ganga is a symbol of prestige for Varanasi city & to revive that prestige, the need is of extensive efforts. Varanasi is the biggest centre point of Ganga-Jamuna culture.Varanasi is not only regarded as the most pious city of the Hindu culture, but it also holds vital importance in Jainism and Buddhism.Gautam Buddha had delivered his first sermon here at Sarnath. It was in Varanasi only where the “Shehnaai†of Bharat Ratna Bismillah Khan kept echoing of the Hindu-Muslim “UNITYâ€. These are the reasons why Varanasi, today is the biggest centre of spiritual knowledge in the World. New Delhi is the Political Capital of India and Mumbai is the Financial Capital of the Nation. On this line, I wish that Varanasi city becomes the Intellectual Capital of the country. My party and I will leave no stone unturned to make this a reality. We would want to develop Kashi in a way that will make it the centre of cultural and intellectual activities &where the stream of knowledge would continuously flow. Here, there are world famous educational institutions such as The Banaras Hindu University, The Sampurnanand Sanskrit University and The Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidhyapeeth. These institutions require constant care and up-gradation because they are not only an identity to the Banaras city, but also because they are important to ignite the light of knowledge in the entire Purvanchal, including Bhojpuri region. Banaras city is a huge centre of tourist attraction and is also world-renowned for its handicrafts and arts. Despite that, the local youth are left unemployed. There was a time when Banarasi Paan and Banarasi Saree were the biggest trend of the market. Thousands of people involved in them got employment but today, these both specialities are fighting for their survival. In these many years, we could not create a new brand for Banaras and the old ones are also losing their sheen. The need of the hour is that we restore the rich heritage of Varanasi. The Cottage, Handicrafts & Handloom industries in Varanasi must be revived.Employment has to be generated locally. By doing this, we would not only be providing employment to the thousands of residents of Varanasi near their homes but also bring back the lost prestige of the city. However, all this would not be complete without better civic amenities. Today, Banaras is suffering because of poor roads, violence, traffic-jams, and short supply of electricity and water. A big reason for these problems is the ignore attitude of the central and state governments. The interference of Mafias and Thekedars (License holders) in the government departments is also one of the reasons. I promise that from Centre to Banaras, the domination of Mafias involved in looting the public funds will be entirely eliminated. The crucial moment for the 16th Lok Sabha poll has arrived. You would remember that during the end of the 20th century, the think-tank and philosophers around the world pronounced that the 21st century will belong to India. And in the beginning of this century, under the governance of the BJP led NDA government,this future-statement was appearing to be taking shape. The World was looking at the India with an eye of hope!There was tremendous enthusiasm among the youth & every family had a success story to tell of their children. But a decade of misgovernance of UPA, instead of taking the country ahead, pushed India decades back & left the story of the prospering India incomplete. Friends, the time has come that we bring a change! It is said that the image of country’s politics reflects in Varanasi, so let us begin from here. Varanasi is the only place from where the revered Ganga is Uttar Vahini (flows towards North). It is here from where the powerful stream of the river Ganga turns directions. Thus, the start of the biggest change will also happen from Varanasi. The country will again move towards GOOD GOVERNANCE and this message initiated from the Varanasi will light a NEW HOPE in the entire country.
surajmal Posted April 2, 2014 Posted April 2, 2014 since you already formed an opinion that anyone who questions Modi is a dumb ass chewtiya' date=' I see no point in any further discussion with you.[/quote'] Try to compare Modi with his peers and not judge him in a vacuum. Or not. Whatever floats your boat. Internet is a platform for highly opinionated people, so I know what we have on ICF is less a discussion and more shouting on rooftops.
surajmal Posted April 2, 2014 Posted April 2, 2014 Just these 2 nuggets from the tavleen singh article: No sooner did Rajiv become a politician than a group of his close friends became the most powerful people in India. In those fully socialist times, they could hand out contracts, appoint bureaucrats to high and low office and make a lot of money for themselves through government contracts. It was in Rajiv’s time that the foundations of the crony socialism that has flourished in the past decade were laid. Anyone who calls it ‘crony capitalism’ has not understood the feudal nature of Indian politics. If we had even a semblance of real capitalism, India’s economic growth rate would not have plummeted the way it has and you would not have had so many billionaire politicians who have never built real businesses. It is true that crony socialism and dynastic succession now flourish from Kashmir to Kanyakumari, but it all began in Lutyens’ Delhi. not just in government circles even in the homes of senior Bharatiya Janata Party leaders who have become just as spoiled by the luxuries of Lutyens’ Delhi. One big reason why the veteran battalion in the BJP, led by Lal Krishan Advani, has been publicly opposed to the rise of Modi is that they would rather be in opposition than have someone like him break down the high walls that conceal the lifestyle of those who live in Lutyens’ Delhi. They fear him perhaps more than anyone else because he might start clearing deadwood in the BJP headquarters, and where would they go then? I've echoed these sentiments before (sometimes with the aide of Tavleen Singh's articles). That entire article is must read BTW (which probably most bypassed here).
FischerTal Posted April 2, 2014 Posted April 2, 2014 BTW' date=' I think it is time to take S-G lightly. Clearly, with the arrival of a new set of leadership in BJP, some family member or a distant relative has come out on the losing side. His consternation are a reflection of not being close to power anymore.[/quote'] bullseye :two_thumbs_up:
Sachin=GOD Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 bullseye :two_thumbs_up: I would suggest that you and Surjmal go to any major India city and talk to a few people. You will find many who do not like Modi at all and the reasons will be same as what I have been giving for the last few months, and not because any of their relatives have lost to Modi within the BJP. But I do not expect you to believe any of them because your blind support for Modi has reached such levels where if I am critical of Modi then the only reason that can come to your mind is that the fault is on my side (i.e. a relative who hasn't found favor with Modi) and not some genuine reasons which I have been giving for such a long time. Similarly if the senior leaders of the party, who literally created the BJP, question Modi then the only thing you can say is that they are "old hogs", "waste of space" or "dumb ass chewtiyas", and not that they may have genuine concerns for the party they created and where they have kept some level of internal democracy working for more than 3 decades.
asterix Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 ^ Yaar, what internal democracy you are talking about. After Vajpayee, the only high command is RSS. So if Modi is not taking control on BJP, it's only with the tacit support of RSS otherwise he wouldn't have been able to do it at the National level. So blame RSS which is allowing Modi to take control and cleanse the Oldies... BTW MM Joshi would've definitely lost the Varanasi seat. He's not done anything for the city during his stint as MP. He even rarely visited his constituency...
randomGuy Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 Guwahati: Every time a button was pressed on this Electronic Voting Machine, the vote went to Bharatiya Janta Party. The incident came to light when all the EVM machines in Jorhat parliamentary constituency were being put through a test by engineers of Electronics Corporation of India Ltd. ECIL is one of the companies that manufacture the electronic voting machines. Everyone was shocked during the mock poll in Jorhat when all the votes automatically went in the favor of Bjp on pressing any button on the machine. According to TOI reports, the returning officer stated 'These EVMs were here for long. Usually, EVMs are kept in the custody of the deputy commissioner and during elections they are taken to strong rooms.' Also, the chief electoral officer Vijayndra said on Wednesday that the malfunctioned EVM was found on Wednesday. He said that its defect was noticed while the voting machines were put to test in front of all political parties. He said that no faulty units will be sent to any polling station. It is notable that Congress had lodged a complaint to Election Commission regarding the inspection of EVMs in the entire state on Wednesday. Such incident also happened in 2011 elections when candidate Asom Gana Parishad had filed a complaint against Congress for tampering the EVMs. Though, Congress had rejected the allegations saying that the results of EVMs cannot be manipulated in any case. Ranjan Bora, the general secretary of state Congress Committee filed the complaint with EC. He said 'The mock poll was done at random and the EVM for Teok assembly constituency took everyone by surprise. When the hand symbol button was pressed for Congress, the vote was found to be recorded in favor of BJP.' Thereafter, suspicion arise in Congress' mind that there was a possibility of tampered EVMs which might vote in the favor of particular party. http://mdaily.bhaskar.com/article/referer/4444/t/240/NAT-TOP-press-any-button-on-this-electronic-voting-machine-the-vote-goes-in-favor-of-bjp-4568879-NOR.html
ravishingravi Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 AAP to win massive 10 seats is my prediction.
scorpio90 Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 CSDS Delhi Tracker Live BJP 3-4 (40%) AAP 2-3 (29%) Cong 0-1 (22%) For the 1st time BJP leads in their delhi tracker. I guess khujli's goose is cooked. CSDS Haryana (Finally they give the upper hand to BJP in Haryana) BJP+HJC 36% Cong 30% INLD 16% AAP 7% CSDS Himachal BJP 45% Cong 45% AAP 7% (AAP damaging BJP more here) CSDS Punjab NDA 42% Cong 29% AAP 14% (AAP damaging Congress here) UP BJP vote share goes up by 1% compared to Jan tracker. Jan tracker for UP BJP was 38% vote, 41-49 seats. Now it is 39% vote. Not sure if seats will go up or not. Net summary, the wave is only getting bigger, no signs of any peaking or tapering even after candidate selection.
ravishingravi Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 Actually headlines today has given a far more comprehensive win for BJP
bulbul Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 Actually headlines today has given a far more comprehensive win for BJP They are paid more by BJP :secret:
Sachin=GOD Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 AAP to win massive 10 seats is my prediction. remove the 1 from 10 and that may turn out to be their real figure.
dial_100 Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 They are paid more by BJP :secret: Serioulsy.. they were showing like crazy leads for BJP in so many unexpected states.. That doesnt sound like a ground reality... May be not a paid survey but I guess influenced?? :cantstop:
FischerTal Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 ^ Yaar, what internal democracy you are talking about. After Vajpayee, the only high command is RSS. So if Modi is not taking control on BJP, it's only with the tacit support of RSS otherwise he wouldn't have been able to do it at the National level. So blame RSS which is allowing Modi to take control and cleanse the Oldies... BTW MM Joshi would've definitely lost the Varanasi seat. He's not done anything for the city during his stint as MP. He even rarely visited his constituency... The oldies lead BJP to losses in 2 general elections but the lust for power makes them come back.now If someone new is given a chance to run party his way, he is supposedly destroying the party, yet sitting in opposition for 10 years was this grand plan of building the party to some new heights that only advani chamchas can decipher.
bulbul Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 On Saturday, BJP veteran LK Advani will fly in a special aircraft to Gandhinagar in Narendra Modi's Gujarat, to file his nomination. Mr Modi, Gujarat chief minister and the BJP's prime ministerial candidate, has planned a grand show of unity. In Gandhinagar, Mr Advani will head for the BJP's new office, where both he and Mr Modi will address party workers. They will then go to the nomination centre; Mr Modi will be one of those who will propose Mr Advani's name for the Lok Sabha seat that he has been winning for the last 16 years straight. In the evening, the two will have tea with local leaders and will inaugurate an election office for Mr Advani, before he flies back to Delhi. Across Gandhinagar, massive hoardings give Mr Advani's star billing; Mr Modi has designated a comparatively smaller place for himself on the posters. He has also appointed two of his closest aides Amit Shah and Anandiben Patel to oversee Mr Advani's campaign and road shows Hope S!=G will be happy now :two_thumbs_up:
Sachin=GOD Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 Hope S!=G will be happy now :two_thumbs_up: On Saturday, BJP veteran LK Advani will fly in a special aircraft to Gandhinagar in Narendra Modi's Gujarat a state does not belong to a particular leader :finger:
asterix Posted April 3, 2014 Posted April 3, 2014 SC clears Gujarat minister in 2005 murder case, praises govt for swift trials in riots cases The Supreme Court on Thursday cleared a senior Gujarat minister of the charge of murder, and then applauded the progress of trials in the 2002 riots cases. A bench led by Justice C K Prasad exonerated Gujarat Water Resources Minister Babulal Bokhiria in a nine-year-old murder case, and quashed summons issued to Bokhiria by a trial court in Porbandar. "It is evident that no evidence has at all come during the trial which shows even a prima facie complicity of the appellant (Bokhiria) in the crime. In that view of the matter, the order passed by the trial court summoning the appellant, as affirmed by the high court, cannot be allowed to stand," the bench said. Bokhiria was booked for the murder of businessman Mulubhai Modhvadiya in Porbandar in November 2005. Later in the day, another bench led by Justice H L Dattu praised the pace of trials in riots cases. After perusing the February 24 SIT report, the court said: "A lot of progress has been achieved. The report says out of nine cases, investigation in six cases is over, resulting in conviction. And the rest of the three cases are in the advanced stages." http://indianexpress.com/article/cities/ahmedabad/sc-exonerates-bjp-leader-bokhiria-in-businessman-murder-case/
scorpio90 Posted April 4, 2014 Posted April 4, 2014 Kolkata's Shahi Imam issues a threat to Modi and by extension all Hindus: "You must understand we ruled Hindustan for 1,000 years. But we never made Hindus slaves here, like the British did. We want to live in harmony now," Barkati added. But he claimed that Narendra Modi presents a real "threat" and has a warning. "If BJP comes to power, implements the RSS agenda, if they impose uniform civil code, if they stop us from praying, the Muslim clergy and scholars will discuss it and can even proclaim jehad." http://www.hindustantimes.com/elections2014/state-of-the-states/kolkata-s-shahi-imam-wary-of-narendra-modi-s-ascendency/article1-1202222.aspx fu(king b@$sturd! what a lie! they raped, plundered and murdered hindus. Read R. Elton's book to understand the type of slave business which was being run in India during the middle centuries. So what does he mean by this statement. he must be sent to jail for even considering to bring in here about the past 1000 years of plunder and rape.