The Narendra Modi thread  

6 members have voted

Namo crowdsourcing

Narendra Modi million waiting in the wings to shake up Delhi NEW DELHI: On May 16, when it became clear that Narendra Modi would be India's next prime minister, congratulatory messages flooded his Twitter handle from across the world. While world leaders and many others got replies on their timelines, thousands of others got direct messages on their Twitter handles thanking them. Appended to these was a link to a form that has now been filled by nearly a million people. The form, also available on www. narendramodi.in, seeks respondents' particulars and asks for suggestions on building India. "Narendra Modi firmly believes that India has unparalleled talent. The people of India can take this nation to greater heights and make India the leading nation of the world. He also believes that the people, particularly the youth of India, should devote their time, skills and energy towards the nation. Join this grand movement to create a strong, glorious and inclusive India. You are requested to fill this form. Remember, your contribution will be a gigantic step in creating a better India," it says. Skills in the form of field surveys, research and analysis, policy planning or ground execution are solicited. This is being heralded as the next volunteer platform Modi is seeking to build after the highly successful Mission 272+. Through the volunteer network that he created during the campaign, Modi forged ground-level support for the massive logistics that were required. The push roped in nearly 2 million men and women for the campaign. What role could such a force play in governance, which works through the bureaucracy and systems? According to top sources, the NGO Citizens for Accountability and Governance, which handled strategic parts of Modi's campaign, is all set to morph into a consultancy and talent pool to be attached to government bodies and others and provide whatever help is required. "Let's term it a service like the Tata Administrative Service (TAS)," said one person. Ankit Gupta, an IIM-Ahmedabad alumnus, has put his name down. "I filled the form on Narendra Modiji's website and am waiting for some response, I guess it will be forthcoming after the formalities of government formation are done," he said. This soliciting of talent outside the regular channels of think tanks and consultancies, through a direct channel of volunteers, will probably upend many entrenched 'thought' hierarchies in the government and will shake up Delhi like nothing else. Something Modi is getting particularly good at.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/35490962.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst He is preparing to make the entire established order irrelevant, forget Sushma aunty.

Personally I am also not in favor of likes of Rajnath Singh or Gadkari getting top portfolios. Let it be on merit and mostly bureaucrat driven.

Yes' date=' but she has been living in Delhi. The state unit was in total disarray. It only allowed Sheila to do whatever she wanted to do. A leader as tall as Sushma would at least make some efforts to fix it.[/quote'] Every major BJP leader who has been in national politics in the last 15 years in living in Delhi - why target only one of them for Sheila Dixit holding being CM for 15 years.

The Narendra Modi thread I might. Just might agree with SG that she deserves something for her service and her qualities as leader. You have to reward the soldiers who fought when chips were down. But the lady asks for top 4, give her a GPL. Remember a line from Krantiveer " baccha samajh ke kandhey pe baithaya toh kaan pe mooth tha hai"

Personally I am also not in favor of likes of Rajnath Singh or Gadkari getting top portfolios. Let it be on merit and mostly bureaucrat driven.
This. Shourie,jaitley etc should be in the running for top posts
He is actually a good administrator. Did a pretty good job in Maharashtra Govt.
I might. Just might agree with SG that she deserves something for her service and her qualities as leader. You have to reward the soldiers who fought when chips were down. But the lady asks for top 4, give her a GPL. Remember a line from Krantiveer " baccha samajh ke kandhey pe baithaya toh kaan pe mooth tha hai"
You think she will be happy with crumbs after being the face of the party in the last few years.....either give her what she wants or avoid her....don't want unwanted drama within the cabinet....outside I things can be handled
I might. Just might agree with SG that she deserves something for her service and her qualities as leader. You have to reward the soldiers who fought when chips were down. But the lady asks for top 4' date= give her a GPL. Remember a line from Krantiveer " baccha samajh ke kandhey pe baithaya toh kaan pe mooth tha hai"
Here's the problem - BJP doesn't have too many leaders who can be given such important ministries. That is one of the reasons why someone like Rajnath Singh is certain to get Home or Defense. In such a scenario I would hate to see someone like Sushma Swaraj being given a lesser portfolio when the parties is looking for good leaders to give the top 4 ministries.
Can't judge advani based on the last few years when he was way past it.....bjp is a force today due to him and not even vajpayee and for that he is always the man. Vajpayeeji was great as face of the party but it was advani all the way. But sushma swaraj is neither in the league of jaitley,shourie or neither in the league of modi.
No one denies that. The issue is whether or not his presence or his pupil swaraj's presence as LOP helped Bjp. I don't think it did

And before anyone says that bring in professionals......NO there is very little chance of any professional being given a Cabinet berth for a top 4 ministry. At best they will be MoS.

Here's the problem - BJP doesn't have too many leaders who can be given such important ministries. That is one of the reasons why someone like Rajnath Singh is certain to get Home or Defense. In such a scenario I would hate to see someone like Sushma Swaraj being given a lesser portfolio when the parties is looking for good leaders to give the top 4 ministries.
Rajnath may get Home ministry. Caveat being the internal security aspect will be removed and will be managed directly from PMO. (that is what twitter is saying)
You think she will be happy with crumbs after being the face of the party in the last few years.....either give her what she wants or avoid her....don't want unwanted drama within the cabinet....outside I things can be handled
No. She won't. SG's only concern is for some leaders in BJP not BJP per se. I also have great admiration for the leaders he admires. I was almost in tears when Advani spoke the other day. But these are loose cannons who are unhappy. Modi has to take the call whether to bring them in or no. I would say its huge risk. Call me sexist, but disgruntled woman is more dangerous.
Rajnath may get Home ministry. Caveat being the internal security aspect will be removed and will be managed directly from PMO. (that is what twitter is saying)
Yeah....and that is why now he is more inclined towards Defense. Never mind the fact that he doesn't know the ABC of defense....
No one denies that. The issue is whether or not his presence or his pupil swaraj's presence as LOP helped Bjp. I don't think it did
It did not because she just doesn't have it in her....see I am not a sushma hater by any means,but we are hoping for a total overhaul and she doesn't fit with our hopes. I will be more than happy if she gets a smaller portfolio as someone said she deserves something for being a loyal soldier but the question is will it be enough for her and that's when the nuisance value comes into play based on her ego
And the Anna movement was based on what.....................oh yeah' date=' the Jan Lokpal Bill -something which hadn't been talked about for years. So how the BJP be blamed for that? In fact form what I remember BJP was bitterly opposed to Congress' moves to keep PM out of Jan Lokpal Bill's ambit and for certain other measures that Congress did not want to include in Jan Lokpal Bill.[/quote'] Anna movement was based on eradication of corruption, which is an issue that relates to all Indians. It's my opinion that had there been an opposition leader that not only knew how to work in parliament, but also outside it, this government wouldn't have lasted as long as it did
No. She won't. SG's only concern is for some leaders in BJP not BJP per se. I also have great admiration for the leaders he admires. I was almost in tears when Advani spoke the other day. But these are loose cannons who are unhappy. Modi has to take the call whether to bring them in or no. I would say its huge risk. Call me sexist, but disgruntled woman is more dangerous.
If someone who is capable is brought in then it will only be good for the country and for the Govt. So I don't really see the big issues here. Modi has been showing reconciliatory approach towards the opposition (in Ahmedabad speech) so why not the same for opposition within the party :D
It did not because she just doesn't have it in her....see I am not a sushma hater by any means,but we are hoping for a total overhaul and she doesn't fit with our hopes. I will be more than happy if she gets a smaller portfolio as someone said she deserves something for being a loyal soldier but the question is will it be enough for her and that's when the nuisance value comes into play based on her ego
It won't. Unless she gets a top 4 portfolio, she won't join cabinet.
Yeah....and that is why now he is more inclined towards Defense. Never mind the fact that he doesn't know the ABC of defense....
NAMO could care less. I think you will see one massive PMO, regardless of who gets what. My preferences: Jaitley for Finance. Arun Shourie for Defence. Sushma Swaraj for External Affairs. And Rajnath for Home (minus the good parts).

See here is how I see it. Bjp has a single majority. We beleive in modi as we think he has it in him to bring in change We beleive he is the best man to do the job and will pick the best team. So doesn't it contradict with our beliefs if accompdation politics are played despite all that. That would be the first set back personally for people who beleive modi is going to rule with an iron fist which this country needs. This is not a time for sentimentality,and portfolios are not gifts given.....heading a portfolio should be given to the right man or woman for the job period. Yes in reality things might be different and not as straightforward and I would love to see how modi handles this challenge