CG Posted June 24, 2012 Posted June 24, 2012 History of muslim invaders doesnt start from Akbar. There were plenty others before Akbar because Akbar didnt invade. He just got the empite of Humayun established by Babar' date=' his father and grandfather. Other than that history goes back to over 800 years from now. From Gauri to Gajnavi, Taimoor, tuglak, Khilji, Aibak, etc.[/quote'] I know But during the period of akbar and shah jahan it was tolerable and cultural intermingling took place.
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2012 Posted June 24, 2012 I know But during the period of akbar and shah jahan it was tolerable and cultural intermingling took place. They were two of the better Muslim emperors.
Stuge Posted June 24, 2012 Posted June 24, 2012 Does it have to be either OR? Can't we imbibe the western culture AND be Indian? I'm sure there are good things in the west too. :dontknow: its globalization :D do whatever you like .. I hate this thing when people say this is not Indian as if India is a planet :hysterical:
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2012 Posted June 24, 2012 its globalization :D do whatever you like .. I hate this thing when people say this is not Indian as if India is a planet :hysterical: :giggle:
Crookbond Posted June 24, 2012 Posted June 24, 2012 its globalization :D do whatever you like .. I hate this thing when people say this is not Indian as if India is a planet :hysterical: Couldn't agree more.
Mariyam Posted June 24, 2012 Posted June 24, 2012 Yes we can, but we don't. Lets not confuse the two. A quick example. It is fairly common in the West to see people use mass transit, bus/train etc. And in summers you will often find people biking to work. In India how often do you see a rich guy step into a bus, much less ride a bike? And if he does step on the bus chances are somebody else will say - Sir aap bus par? Sab khairiyat to hai . Lurks, this is a very sweeping generalization. In metros, the mode of transport is decided by distances and time not as much by affluence. There are 100s of big time diamond traders who stay in far flung suburbs like Kandivli, Borivali, Malad and Bhayandar and travel to Opera house daily to carry out their diamond trade. And they take the local train. All the while carrying diamonds worth crores of rupees on person. Biking to work is not much of an option in Mumbai. Its either too hot or its raining. Long distances on a bike are just impossible. I think this is completely independent of us aping the West and its malpractices. That happens too, but people choosing one mode of transport over another has nothing to do with that.
Prakat Posted June 25, 2012 Posted June 25, 2012 its globalization :D do whatever you like .. I hate this thing when people say this is not Indian as if India is a planet :hysterical: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: spot on!