then I can gladly ignore your sarcasm and laughs.. :--D
You can . But some points before i fall again in to laughter at myths. Regarding your first point about leaving india as education is not affordable atleast as far as i have given jee exams and got good rank ,You get admisson for free and then yearly fees of around 50k in btech,barch,mba ,Govt instituions charge even less. If you believe that nris are helping india by fdi or some other cause its mostly to take advantage of rules and facilities offered to nris for their gains not for some change of heart.Provide some data about contribution of nris in prime minister relief fund. Anyways Nris particulalry well of nris are too small a no to contribute anything to india economy.so you are welocme to believe in myths if you want to.
let me make another guess.. you are one of those rich teenager who drives car/bikes and dont think twice about spending money on name brand products?? growing up in 90s and growing up in 2000s means we are talking about two different era.. and funny that only thing that you see NRIs doing is FDIs.. hahha.. BTW.. I said ON AVG meaning on average NRI contribute more to India than local Indians. Hope you are getting the difference.. if not then laugh it out. :two_thumbs_up:

This thread is for wishing well for India so dont want to ruin it any further.. create another thread and we can discuss it there.

let me make another guess.. you are one of those rich teenager who drives car/bikes and dont think twice about spending money on name brand products?? growing up in 90s and growing up in 2000s means we are talking about two different era.. and funny that only thing that you see NRIs doing is FDIs.. hahha.. BTW.. I said ON AVG meaning on average NRI contribute more to India than local Indians. Hope you are getting the difference.. if not then laugh it out. :two_thumbs_up:
By contribution what do you mean -donation,investment .You cannot possibly compare average of 1.3 billion to 30 million where as so many live below poverty line.I have no problem with nris loving india but this myth of nri contributing more to india than indians is just not on.There might me a few who do but most go to gulf or africa for work and barely meet their ends ,they might enjoy the benfits of devlauation of rupee when sending money .Anyways thats it form me.
I left India when I was 17 and been living in US for last 14 years.. I didnt have a choice but to leave India with my parents.. but they left because they couldnt afford lakhs of rupees to put me or my brother through college.. but dont tell me It doesnt make sense to celebrate India's Independence.. NRIs, on avg, has done more for India than Indians living in India... Financially NRIs remitt money to India like no other country.. If there is flood or earthquake, NRIs empty their pockets while some Indians living in India make money out of it. There are atleast 5 big time organizations running that educate children in Indian villages but 90% of that money comes from Indians. Culture wise NRIs are preserving religious/culture/spiritual values while Indians back home aping western culture. Now I dont know how the 2nd or 3rd generation of NRI kids going to react on your statement.. but it certainly doesnt go well with people like me. :)
I kind of blame NRIs for the reason why India's in its state today. The image they created about the West as some sort of wondrous society where everyone is rich and even pigs fly etc etc. There's a reason why Indians are trying to ape the west and some of the blame particularly goes to the NRIs. I remember growing up I had a lot of misconceptions about the US particularly because of my masi who used to visit us regularly talking about America is this, America is that, etc etc. I distinctly remember her telling my mom about oh in America there is no "dirt" or maakhi or any other flies. America is clean and wonderful. The first day I came to the US, I saw both of these on the very first day. :facepalm: And I don't get the point about NRIS preserving culture and other values. Most NRIs I know don't even know anything about it. They don't even know why those festivals are celebrated in the first place. Just because the NRIs celebrate it doesn't necessarily mean they are preserving it.
First, you are free to do what you want to. I have no problem with even Zaid Hamid celebrating Indian Independence Day. I am not questioning that one bit - please feel free to celebrate. I am trying to understand the logic behind the celebration for people who have left India for better opportunities abroad. Second, please don't bring "Hinduism" or any religion into it! Please I beg of you :pray: No religion (no matter what you think about it) is exclusive. So, your answer is - nostalgia, knowledge of history, knowing your roots, family in India. OK - I am still looking for better answers though. Lets see if I can get any.
I don't quite know what kind of "better" answer you are expecting. I'm not the type of person who will go to NYC and join the parade on Independence day. Most of the people who go to this parade only know two people Gandhi and Bhagat Singh. I celebrate Independence day a bit differently. First and foremost, as Indian, it's important for me to realize and know how and why we got our independence. I don't go to these Parades with a shirt with Indian flag on it or with a flag in my hand waving and shouting Bharat mata ki jai or whatever. P.S. Saif Ali Khan and Anil Kumble are coming this Sunday the 19th to NYC and I have no intention whatsoever of going.
Maybe since its hard to erase all of a sudden what has been one's identity since birth. Even in the case of Sunita Williams' date=' there's a high probability she interacted with a lot of Indian Americans since childhood and her looks, mother tongue, diet etc did not completely change since she was born in the US.[/quote'] You can call Sunita an Indian or whatever. The only reason I despise this is because India tries to take credit from USA. It was the US that gave her an opportunity to land her up in space and there needs to be zero credit assigned to India for it. It's a shame and a lesson to India. Shame because we can't find our Sunita Williams and a lesson from the US on communal harmony. No furore on the Indian flag being waved in space. Just imagine if an Indian would've raised a US flag on space during a mission - the entire parliament would have stopped functioning (it barely functions any way).
I don't quite know what kind of "better" answer you are expecting. I'm not the type of person who will go to NYC and join the parade on Independence day. Most of the people who go to this parade only know two people Gandhi and Bhagat Singh. I celebrate Independence day a bit differently. First and foremost, as Indian, it's important for me to realize and know how and why we got our independence. I don't go to these Parades with a shirt with Indian flag on it or with a flag in my hand waving and shouting Bharat mata ki jai or whatever. P.S. Saif Ali Khan and Anil Kumble are coming this Sunday the 19th to NYC and I have no intention whatsoever of going.
Laloo - Don't get me wrong and I am in a search for an answer. Somehow it gives me an impression that people who went abroad abandoned the freedom given to them by their ancestors to embrace something "better" in a different country. So, I am trying to understand what the meaning of "independence" truly is for people who have abandoned such freedom.
You can call Sunita an Indian or whatever. The only reason I despise this is because India tries to take credit from USA. It was the US that gave her an opportunity to land her up in space and there needs to be zero credit assigned to India for it. It's a shame and a lesson to India. Shame because we can't find our Sunita Williams and a lesson from the US on communal harmony. No furore on the Indian flag being waved in space. Just imagine if an Indian would've raised a US flag on space during a mission - the entire parliament would have stopped functioning (it barely functions any way).
I don't believe that. Just don't see that happening. Definitely for a Pakistani flag though.
You can call Sunita an Indian or whatever. The only reason I despise this is because India tries to take credit from USA. It was the US that gave her an opportunity to land her up in space and there needs to be zero credit assigned to India for it. It's a shame and a lesson to India. Shame because we can't find our Sunita Williams and a lesson from the US on communal harmony. No furore on the Indian flag being waved in space. Just imagine if an Indian would've raised a US flag on space during a mission - the entire parliament would have stopped functioning (it barely functions any way).
I don't call her Indian, but for the likes of her to be regarded as American and not Indian-American will take some more generations. That's how its been here, for instance there was the German American **** in the 30s while the current generation have no links to the fatherland. It doesn't seem ideal but as long as there's nothing treasonous about it, it shall carry on.
I am in a search for an answer.
Other than beating around the bush, you won't get any. By definition an NRI is unpatriotic, clearly, otherwise we wouldn't have left india in the first place. We are akin to the dhobi ka kutta. We know deep down the foreign(mainly white) country and culture won't accept us as their own, so we try to feel affinity for our 'motherland'. But its just a big facade and resident indians have every right to take this mask off. Trust me, its not fun to be in an NRI's shoes, at least not me. The constant thought of where your loyalties lie can make you go nuts. My own view is that I've started to hate the indian culture that promotes excessive tolerance of minorities(read muslims) and champions mediocrity like no other, which is why I can never return to india. But I also can't forget my roots to accept citizenship of some random developed country. Unfortunately I was born in india so I'll die an unpatriotic indian too. Maybe we should have a poll for who thinks NRI's are patriotic.
bekar post man you have a sad life:giggle::giggle:- itna hi dukhi hai toh wapis India kyun nahin chala jaata ??