Ultimate_Game Posted August 23, 2012 Posted August 23, 2012 How come the forum doesn't have a section or sub-forum dedicated to cricketing video games? There are lot of folks who are into gaming and play/discuss cricket games (e.g., planetcricket dot net) but I haven't seen any of it here. Is there any particular reason for it? Over the years I have played following cricket games in the order of my favorite to the least liked ones... 1. Brian Lara cricket by Codemasters on Sega MegaDrive (the 16 bit system which used game cartridge) - One of the best games ever and with which I had a lot of fun. Though it was pretty basic it's my all time favorite and the game actually exceeded my expectation at the time. For sentimental reasons my all time favorite cricket game. 2. Ashes Cricket 2009 byCodemasters on PS3 - A path breaking game by Codemasters. It wasn't that good in single player mode due to imbalance in favor of batting but the online play, especially on PS3 makes it one of the best games ever. The 360 degree shot selection while batting makes it closest to the batting simulator. Now if only Codemasters could improve the bowling & AI batting it would be ideal. 3. Brian Lara Cricket 2005 by Codemasters on PS2 - A great game with loads of swing and spin. Bowling was fun and while batting you could get out cheaply. The main drawbacks were excessive usage of slower balls by AI, incorrect speeds and p**s poor AI while batting. Otherwise a great game and one of the best multi-player games if you want to have fun with friends playing cricket. 4. EA's Cricket 2007 on PS2 - Batting was fun with analog stick for batting. The main points were that the ball can only travel in 8 direction and if you put fielders there you can only hit a 6. Plus bowling wasn't that fun and the game wasn't fun to play in multi-player mode with friends. But still the best EA game and one of the best single player mode cricket game. The game also introduced the 1st person view while batting where you could bat as if you were the batsman. This innovation was carried over by Codemaster in International Cricket 2010. 5. Brian Lara Cricket by Codemasters on PS1 - One of the best cricket games which seemed ahead of its time. Pity Codemasters couldn't build on it. 6. EA's Cricket 2004 on PS2 - A decent game and the 2nd best of EA's cricket titles after EA 2007. The shot animations were spot on, especially straight drives, cover drives and cut shots but you could only hit the ball in 8 directions and playing hook/pull shots was extremely difficult. 7. Allen Border/Graham Gooch cricket on PC - The first cricket game I ever played and as a kid had fun with friends huddled around the PC. 8. International Cricket 2010 by Codemasters on PS3 - Should have been the best cricket titles but was a huge let down. Hitting boundaries was way too easy due to over-powered loft shot (circle button on PS3) and the online component was broken with most of the online matches ending in disconnects. It was a buggy game unaccrptable for this day and age. The only plus was that they used the 1st person batting view first introduced in EA's Cricket 2007 but that's about it. This game was a big step back from Ashes Cricket 2009 and is possibly the last of Codemaster's cricket titles. 9. EA's Cricket 2005 on PS2 - Upgrade on Cricket 2004 in terms of graphics but gameplay, especially batting took a step back. You had to be absolutely spot on to time the ball and even score a single and you could only manage to score on the leg side. You couldn't even fathom multi-player on this game. 10. Brian Lara Cricket 2007 by Codemasters on PS2 - One of the worst games ever and instead of building on the success of Brian Lara 2005 it took huge steps backwards. The game didn't add any new features and didn't anything new compared to BLIC 2005. In fact BLIC had better gameplay than the 2007 version. 11. EA's Cricket 97 on PC - Wasn't that great a game and didn't even knew it existed until one of my friends loaned it to me. Only played it for a week and wasn't that impressed by it. Which cricket video games have you guys played and which ones did you like the best?
Cricketics Posted August 23, 2012 Posted August 23, 2012 It all get discussed here in chit chat. Long time ago, I wanted an Electronics section. It didn't happen because there weren't many people wanting to have that section.
Desi Cartman Posted August 23, 2012 Posted August 23, 2012 You can use Other sports if you consider Video Games as "sports" :P
Rajiv Posted August 23, 2012 Posted August 23, 2012 There are so many topics which can have their "respective" sections, for eg, look at politics, yet people choose to post in chit chat Look at Nerd Section: Posts are 0,1, 10, 0, 2, 0, 0, 0 An electronics section wouldn't have done any good, you can search about games and resurrect old threads. PS There are hardly any cricket games, they don't release anything new
Ultimate_Game Posted August 24, 2012 Author Posted August 24, 2012 Ashes Cricket 2009 was the last decent game - International Cricket 2010 was a step back IMO - and since then nothing whatsoever. Plus Codemasters are out of cricketing games business and focusing exclusively on racing games and EA shut its door on cricket a long time back and haven't released a cricket game since 2007.
Stuge Posted August 24, 2012 Posted August 24, 2012 why not have a thread on videos games ,and post under it .Instead of dedicating whole sub forums on it .
Crookbond Posted August 24, 2012 Posted August 24, 2012 UG bhai, aaj kal bahut koschan as rela hai aapko ... chalo issi bahaane Chit Chat mein darshan hue aapke , sahi hai bidu
Sidhoni Posted August 24, 2012 Posted August 24, 2012 I used to play Howzat a lot. There is a separate thread for that game as well. Stick Cricket is also great fun!
CG Posted August 24, 2012 Posted August 24, 2012 Currently ashes cricket 2009 with mods is the best game on pc.
Sir john Posted August 24, 2012 Posted August 24, 2012 Ea cricket 2005 is my best. Ashes 2009 is too much hard.
maniac Posted August 24, 2012 Posted August 24, 2012 International Cricket 2010---Very addictive bought it on Ebay for $30 :(( but outgrew it very fast after playing it obsessively for months
panther Posted August 24, 2012 Posted August 24, 2012 let's play stickcricket multiplayer. icf tournament
maniac Posted August 24, 2012 Posted August 24, 2012 Anyone up for online International Cricket 2010 on PS3
Ultimate_Game Posted August 25, 2012 Author Posted August 25, 2012 Anyone up for online International Cricket 2010 on PS3 It's a cr@ppy game with online piece broken. Online Ashes Cricket 2009 is amazing and that's why it's considered one of the best cricket games.
Ultimate_Game Posted August 25, 2012 Author Posted August 25, 2012 Modified OP to add the cricket games I have played along with their rankings.
India-KXIP fan Posted August 25, 2012 Posted August 25, 2012 International Cricket Captain 2011 is the best yet. Try it out has a 2 day free trial :nice: Infact 2012 is out here is 2 day trial: http://www.childishthings.com/download.php Played this game so much, very addictive sort of like Football Manager in football games.
Ultimate_Game Posted August 25, 2012 Author Posted August 25, 2012 International Cricket Captain 2011 is the best yet. Try it out has a 2 day free trial :nice: Infact 2012 is out here is 2 day trial: http://www.childishthings.com/download.php Played this game so much, very addictive sort of like Football Manager in football games. I am not into management games, either footy or cricket. I like the gameplay ones and unfortunately looks like we don't have any companies who are focusing on cricket anymore. With advent of IPL I had high hopes of a publisher focusing on cricket based games, specifically around IPL or T20 leagues with so much popularity T20 cricket generates but have been sorely disappointed