From the Delhi police: Why women deserve to be raped

One of the most depressing aspects of writing about the recent string of rape cases are the responses these kinds of stories inevitably evoke. The Internet trolls come out in swarms to condemn the victim: for being out late at night, for being divorced, talking to strangers, drinking, dressing ÅÑrovocatively? and, the worst, for making it all up. Who are these people, IÃÅ wonder, who genuinely believe that a woman would deliberately provoke sexual assault, and failing that, pretend sheÃÅ been raped and go public with it. Because, really, being a rape victim in India is so much fun. First, youÃÓe humiliated by the cops, then your personal life is put on trial by the media. After a couple of years being ground down by the judicial process, you get your moment in court where youÃÓe expected to recount every detail and I mean, every detail in open court. All this only to find that in the great majority of cases, itÃÔ all been for naught because the original investigation was shoddy and flawed. Your assailants go scot-free while you are tarnished for life as Ã…Ã…amaged goods in our enlightened society. Can any sane, right-thinking person really, really believe that most women deliberately incite rape or invent rape charges? As it turns out, the online creeps are in good company of the Delhi-NCR police. A Tehelka sting aimed at 23 police stations across the NCR reveals a level of misogyny that is not unexpected, but is shocking nevertheless. [Do check out the testimonies of these police officers in detail here. The Tehelka expose is unpleasant but required reading] Now, I could skewer these attitudes as absurd, regressive, and just plain wrong. But having waded through the testimonies of these men who are Station House Officers, not the average havaldar I was left shaking with rage and fear. I realised that according to stringent criteria of the Delhi Police, almost all women deserve to be raped. And hereÃÔ why: Who are these people, I'd wonder, who genuinely believe that a woman would deliberately provoke sexual assault. Reuters One, she is not in a salwar kameez or sari, at all times Most urban professional women wear a lot of skirts, jeans, blouses, and dresses. And they usually carefully calibrate what they wear according to where they will be: out on the street or at an upmarket bar/restaurant. But all this effort is pointless because as Satbir Singh, Additional SHO of Sector 31 Police Station, Faridabad, puts it: Ã…*adkiya jo hai unko yahan tak yahan tak (he gestures to mean that women should cover their entire body, then carries on speaking) Skirt pehenti hai. Blouse dalti hai; poora nahi dalti hai. Dupatta nahi dalti. Apne aapko dikhawa karti hai. Baccha uske taraf akarshit hota hai. (Girls should be covered from here to here They wear skirts, blouses, that donÃÕ cover them fully. DonÃÕ wear a dupatta. They display themselves. A kid will naturally be attracted to her.) Sub-Inspector Arjun Singh, SHO of Surajpur Police Station, Greater Noida, clarifies the position further: Å´he is dressed in a manner that people get attracted to her. In fact, she wants them to do something to her. In other words, unless a woman is fully covered from head to toe at all times she wants men to rape her. Two, if a woman is in a sexual relationship with one man, then she deserves to be raped by him and all his friends. Dharamveer Singh, Additional SHO at Indirapuram Police Station in Ghaziabad, tells Tehelka: ŪtÃÔ very rare that a girl is forcefully picked up by 10 boys. A girl who gets into a car with boys is never innocent. If she does, she definitely has a relationship with at least one of them. Three, she keeps the company of drunk men. Is it bad judgement to drink with strangers in India? Yes. And many of us are far too cautious to slam back the vodka unless we are amongst good friends. But who cares since our men in uniform seem to think that alcohol and opportunity is sufficient and just cause for rape: Roop Lal of Sector 40, Gurgaon, sought to find a rationale to the occurrence of gang-rape: Å«aise hum log baithe hai, zyaada daaru pee li. Chalte peeli. Behnchodh, phekh saala, phir to aise hi hoga. Raat bhar rakh li. Uska jawab kya degi wo apne gharwalon ko, ki jo ek ghante ke liye keh kar gayi hai, aur poori night main kahan gayi thi. To maa-baap to poochenge, bhai bhi poochega. Jinka samaaj hai woh to poochte hai (Say we are sitting and had one drink too many while on the move itÃÔ obvious that itÃÃl happen. Keep her for the entire night. What will she tell her parents? She was supposed to be away for an hour and has ended up being out the entire night. Parents will question, so will her brother. Society will ask questions.? So when a man drinks, he turns into a sex-crazed animal ready to rape the nearest woman. When a woman drinks, she is a **** looking to be raped. Ergo, women should not drink, nor should she place herself anywhere in the vicinity of men who do. (A rule that includes being in a bar late at night) And even if one of the men happens to be your boyfriend, it is no cause to let your guard down because: See reason #2. Four, a girl deserves to be raped because her mother is a ÅÔlut. When all else fails, blame the mom. That seems to be the reasoning of the investigating officer in the Noida gang rape case which involved a Class X student. HereÃÔ Ram MalikÃÔ justification for the rape of a minor: ŵhe girlÃÔ mother is divorced. SheÃÔ living with another man from the Yadav community. SheÃÔ 48 whereas the man is 28. ItÃÔ inevitable the two daughters will be wayward, isnÃÕ it? Five, a woman deserves to be raped because she belongs to the upper class or the lower class. Upper class women donÃÕ know how to behave or dress modestly, which invites trouble. They are also either high class hookers, or alcohol and drug-addicted floozies. Their lower class peers, however, are just looking to make a quick buck. In fact, according to 17 of the 30 policemen interviewed by Tehelka that ÅÓeal rape cases are rare: ŵhere are cases but 70 percent involve consensual sex. Only if someone sees, or the money is denied, it gets turned into rape Sub-Inspector Manoj Rawat of NoidaÃÔ Sector 24 Police Station is far more skeptical: Ŧverything in NCR happens with mutual understanding. My personal view is that there are one or two percent rape cases in NCR. And six, a woman deserves to be raped because she reported the rape. The most astounding revelation in the Tehelka expose is this: most rape complaints are false, motivated by either vindictiveness or monetary gain. ItÃÔ an excellent example of circular logic: Tehelka asked Yogender Singh Tomar, Additional SHO, Sector 39, Noida, if it was easy for a rape victim to approach the police. His answer left us shocked: Å¢asaan nahi hota uske liye. Bezzati se sabhi darti hai. Akhbaar baazi se bhi darti hai. Asliyat main wahin aati hai jo dhande main lipt hoti hai (ItÃÔ never easy for the victim. Everyone is scared of humiliation. EveryoneÃÔ wary of media and society. In reality, the ones who complain are only those who have turned rape into a business). In other words, if youÃÓe ÅÓeally raped, you would never complain. If you complain, you were not ÅÓeally raped. So hereÃÔ the bottomline, ladies and gentleman. If we were to apply the this insane litmus test to all the women we know friends, family members, distant relatives, colleagues, maids, or acquaintances none of us would make the grade. According to the Delhi police, we all deserve to be raped. [The smattering of quotes in this story don't do full justice to the original Tehelka story which deserves to be read in its entirety. I highly recommend you do so, if only to read these testimonies in Hindi to get the flavour of the language used by the cops.] http://www.firstpost.com/living/from-the-delhi-police-six-reasons-why-women-deserve-to-be-raped-269957.html#.UFDn9XrxZUg.facebook

>>>Why does the article assume that policemen will have an idealist view on rape and other gender based crimes? Why not? Is is acceptable for the police to be complacent of robberies in a rich man's house because he was asking for it by having a big good looking house. Why should we not expect idealist view from the law keepers?If we don't expect it...we will never get it. Should we be looking to better the situation by asking questions and asking for improvement or should we just be satisfied by finding justification for their pathetic views and behavior?

Astoundingly bad piece of writing. It starts by creating the flakiest of strawman that scores of internet trolls blame the victim. It's simply not true. Comments following such incidents are overwhelmingly indignant in tone blaming everyone from culture to the menfolk to the corrupt police. What Satbir Singh said is spot on. As a policeman he'll be guilty of abdication from duty if he were not to follow the law in case of a rape complaint. This does not mean he cannot have his own take on what causes a majority of such rapes. A lot of Indian men are sexually frustrated and they'll every now and then go after women who dress to reveal. Why does the article assume that policemen will have an idealist view on rape and other gender based crimes? It does not even appear that the writer interviewed the upper ranks of the police - what did they expect?
Not true. What really happens is, we immediately have one or two educated people commenting about clothes and safe places for women and the whole debate gets sidelined till the actual perperators are forgotten. You can pull up any threads on ICF , there might be only 1 or 2 people with those views but they are succeful in derailing the discussion evertime. the inital 5 posts would be condenming the incidecent but after that, the rest 1000 posts will be all about keeping women at home, their dress, why they should be out late, etc. which was never the main issue It happens similarly in real life, these policement, policemen are always succesful in misleading the public and changing topics You have to agree that violence against women in urban India is escalating by the day. The old police methods and mentality are certainly not working
Isn't it a FACT that robbers and thieves target a wealthy man's house? They don't succeed because of the extra security installed. Nevertheless, we all find it atleast UNDERSTANDABLE why a robber would want to go after a rich man's house. A policeman would find it understandable too but that doesn't make him complacent. These are two different things. To your other contention, we cannot ask policemen to be idealist about gender issues when we ourselves aren't. Policemen aren't implanted from elsewhere with a moral compass different from us. Infact the lower rung in the police hierarchy comes from the rather uneducated class. You can expect all you want. You just won't ever get it.
But we can expect them to act as per the law irrespective of their personal views on the matter. After all they are employed to act according to the laws.If we give up and stop expecting better from them then what is the way ahead.At least the writer is trying to raise questions.Agree the article could have been better but the questions raised are valid .
Like I said' date=' the writer would have had a point if the policemen were not to do what's required in the case of a rape complaint. That's often the case but in this article the author takes their personal views and then conflates it with their duty. It's plain and simple yellow journalism.[/quote'] But in most cases ...specially the Noida ones...the police acted exactly based on their views. In the case of that school girl who was raped...the police blamed her divorced mother for being a bad influence on the girls.Instead of following the law...the behaved as per their views and what was even worse ...they publicly gave their personal views in the media.

Much of the police force in Delhi NCR come from haryana, West UP .The area of Khap panchayats.How could anyone expect them to have some liberal views on rape

If a guy walks with cash hanging out of his pockets, in a poor neighborhood, does he deserve to get robbed? It doesn't mean he doesn't have a right to complain and seek justice, but there is clear lack of common sense there.

:facepalm:
:confused:
Didn't get the analogy towards rape? Women wearing flashy clothes and attracting rapists is akin to a man attracting attention by showing cash out of his pockets? That's the very attitude that the OP is criticising. Rapists don't need an excuse to do their job. Thieves on the other hand do it for livelihood.