Detonator Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 OZ vs SA also delayed now.... it's not delayed. site is slow though.
Straight Drive Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 Just checked the OZ versus SouthAfrica text commentary and scorecard is live.
moniker Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 Lol how can you curtail the internet? Any random person can post the scores on some blog while watching TV, how many of them can they act against. This is worse than Giles Clarke trying pathetically hard to block live streaming sites.
rajmarie Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 The court should give to STAR a big BABAJI ka THULLU. Scoreboard par copyright. Tomorrow they will go & sue every gully cricketer...saying they cant use their copyright scoreboards. STAR....an advise...aagar itne saare crapy sports channel jo ki ek hi program dikate hai...ka kharcha nahi chalapate ho...to unko band kar ke ek hi channel rako.
Crookbond Posted March 4, 2014 Posted March 4, 2014 This is not just STAR folks. STAR started this and other firms are following suite. Pure madness! Link to the Delhi HC order http://delhihighcourt.nic.in/dhcqrydisp_o.asp?pn=15619&yr=2014
Sidhoni Posted March 4, 2014 Posted March 4, 2014 :WTF: is going on? Does this mean we can't have LIVE scores anymore on the internet?
Straight Drive Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 No legal notice on scorecard of todays match.So it's live. Wondering why the India matches are excluded from delayed commentary and scorecards.
Crookbond Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 No legal notice on scorecard of todays match.So it's live. Wondering why the India matches are excluded from delayed commentary and scorecards. ODI matches are even supposed to be telecasted without delay on DD - no surprise that scores aren't delayed.
Straight Drive Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 ODI matches are even supposed to be telecasted without delay on DD - no surprise that scores aren't delayed. So basically the ruling of delayed reports is not applicable to Indias matches.
Crookbond Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 So basically the ruling of delayed reports is not applicable to Indias matches. No - it is applicable but an earlier order conflicts it.
G_B_ Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 Lol how can you curtail the internet? Any random person can post the scores on some blog while watching TV' date=' how many of them can they act against. This is worse than Giles Clarke trying pathetically hard to block live streaming sites.[/quote'] The issue is about commercial ventures. Ie if i start posting ball by ball updates on ICF then its not an issue. Realistically only those in the office goto cricinfo for ball by ball updates. You can get good streams so easily atleast in the west most people have big broadband speeds that cricinfo is a bit useless for ball by ball updates. Cricinfo for me remains a place to read cricket articles and also check the score (not ball by ball) on my smartphone.
Crookbond Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 is it india home matches or just India matches? All India matches - SC order. The issue is about commercial ventures. Ie if i start posting ball by ball updates on ICF then its not an issue. Realistically only those in the office goto cricinfo for ball by ball updates. You can get good streams so easily atleast in the west most people have big broadband speeds that cricinfo is a bit useless for ball by ball updates. Cricinfo for me remains a place to read cricket articles and also check the score (not ball by ball) on my smartphone. The issue is made to be about commercial venture but it is not. Cricket is an event happening at some part of the world and I am reporting it. No one holds a right on that event happenings. People only hold rights to broadcast the live event not meta details. If we continue in the same vein, governments around the world will start charging news channels for events regarding themselves.
G_B_ Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 All India matches - SC order. The issue is made to be about commercial venture but it is not. Cricket is an event happening at some part of the world and I am reporting it. No one holds a right on that event happenings. People only hold rights to broadcast the live event not meta details. If we continue in the same vein, governments around the world will start charging news channels for events regarding themselves. so DD can show say India v Australia test match from MCG? Its a tricky subject no doubt. However in the case of the government, the media is not present for example during key meetings which are private. They usually get an update outside. Its different with cricket, you are at the event watching the content. The government also does not ask broadcasters to bid for exclusive access or media rights. What you have described is an exemption of the copyright law under "fair use" and "fair dealing" which covers say news channels showing key wickets etc for 2 minutes or so. Not ball by ball in depth updates. What next? i type out all the words of a book and claim its for providing a review of the book?
Crookbond Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 so DD can show say India v Australia test match from MCG? Its a tricky subject no doubt. However in the case of the government, the media is not present for example during key meetings which are private. They usually get an update outside. Its different with cricket, you are at the event watching the content. The government also does not ask broadcasters to bid for exclusive access or media rights. What you have described is an exemption of the copyright law under "fair use" and "fair dealing" which covers say news channels showing key wickets etc for 2 minutes or so. Not ball by ball in depth updates. What next? i type out all the words of a book and claim its for providing a review of the book? Test matches are out of the deal but ODI matches should be shown. Don't do a "Reduction Ad Absurdum". I can show you a counter argument to your "fair use" example on ICF, Twitter and Facebook. All these 3 media serve ads which are tailored according to content, cookies etc. you post. Therefore, it is a commercial venture in the definition of the book and hence it should stop.
G_B_ Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 Test matches are out of the deal but ODI matches should be shown. Don't do a "Reduction Ad Absurdum". I can show you a counter argument to your "fair use" example on ICF, Twitter and Facebook. All these 3 media serve ads which are tailored according to content, cookies etc. you post. Therefore, it is a commercial venture in the definition of the book and hence it should stop. I do believe they make you sign the terms and conditions before you use their eco system. Different matter. You waive your rights. its in the fine print.
Crookbond Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 I do believe they make you sign the terms and conditions before you use their eco system. Different matter. You waive your rights. its in the fine print. T&C can't overtake the legal justifications - it is not cast/stone. All I'm trying to say is that this ball-by-ball updates aren't an issue as made by STAR. It is just scuttling free information of an event happening. Mind you the definition of "fair use" is open to discussion. In addition, "fair use" would apply to broadcast rights which has got nothing to do with event information.
G_B_ Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 T&C can't overtake the legal justifications - it is not cast/stone. All I'm trying to say is that this ball-by-ball updates aren't an issue as made by STAR. It is just scuttling free information of an event happening. Mind you the definition of "fair use" is open to discussion. In addition' date=' "fair use" would apply to broadcast rights which has got nothing to do with event information.[/quote'] the details are there for the court to decide..... I do believe as you say Facebook has been sued for breach of privacy. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-25584286 So most commercial ventures will face an attack like this. Its upto the courts to decide. Maybe there is a compromise and there is a 15minute delay. who knows.
Crookbond Posted March 5, 2014 Posted March 5, 2014 the details are there for the court to decide..... I do believe as you say Facebook has been sued for breach of privacy. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-25584286 So most commercial ventures will face an attack like this. Its upto the courts to decide. Maybe there is a compromise and there is a 15minute delay. who knows. We are thinking like a court here. Freedom of information is paramount and so are business interests. There shouldn't be any delay on ball-by-ball updates. I can understand TV feeds having some delay like IPL but definitely not ball-by-ball updates. A broadcaster buys copyrights for the media and doesn't own the content.