Lord Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 Pathan's bowling was not affected because of his bowling , which he himself has stated many times, it was loss of form due to fitness, he tried too many things and changed his action, run up and did not have enough time to remedy it,only when he got a long enough break from injury and cricket did he work on it and find form, if you are an all rounder you can do well in one dept and that will help the other , Flintoff, kallis always thrived based on their allround skills and it is only the fitness which is the bug bear not the added batting responsibility. Bowlers loosing form is very common and happens to almost every Indian bowler, Zaheer went to the county circuit, Srinath wasted alot many years before he became decent, Indian bowlers are not ready for international rigours physically and mentally also not taken care of that well and guided, also add Sreesanth , rp , vrv, tyagi, gony, pankaj singh,mithun and soo many others to that list, did their batting effect their bowling . chalo even if I take ur point,how was Chappell better than Kirsten?take a look at wat players had to say about both.
Crookbond Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 its common consensus man' date='everything isnt black or white[/quote'] If it is common consensus why blame Chapell only? You should blame the captain - Dravid, vice captain Tendulkar and Pathan himself. Just because you concentrate on your batting you do not lose your bowling.
Lord Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 If it is common consensus why blame Chapell only? You should blame the captain - Dravid' date=' vice captain Tendulkar and Pathan himself. Just because you concentrate on your batting you do not lose your bowling.[/quote'] I meant there was common consensus among people that Greg was behind that move.yeah I do blame Pathan too,but this thread isnt about him
MCcricket Posted October 5, 2012 Author Posted October 5, 2012 chalo even if I take ur point' date='how was Chappell better than Kirsten?take a look at wat players had to say about both.[/quote'] I never ever said that, I rate Wright, Kirsten , Ganguly highly as far as contributing towards a stronger team and having a vision, IDENTIFYING TALENT.Chappel made a rookie mistake and does not have the temperament and where withal to be a good coach, you cannot have a strong divided team, also Dravid was not strong enough to reel him in and created a lot of issues with Ganguly, Sehwag, Tendulkar, Zaheer, Harbhajan.
Crookbond Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 I meant there was common consensus among people that Greg was behind that move.yeah I do blame Pathan too' date=but this thread isnt about him Which people?
Lord Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 Which people? cricket experts,commentators,journalists et al.
Crookbond Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 cricket experts' date='commentators,journalists et al.[/quote'] Quote please.
Lord Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 Quote please. here's Chappell itself saying it http://news.oneindia.in/2006/10/16/chappell-happy-with-show-says-irfan-would-bat-at-no-3-more-often-1161014176.html
Crookbond Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 here's Chappell itself saying it http://news.oneindia.in/2006/10/16/chappell-happy-with-show-says-irfan-would-bat-at-no-3-more-often-1161014176.html Now if you start putting up TOI-let paper, Dainik Bhaskar articles I have nothing to add. Please quote a credible source! I thought that was implied. Also, it does not say only Chapell lead to Irfan batting at No.3 This article only says Chappell is in favor of Irfant batting at No.3 He may not be the ONLY one in favor.
rkt.india Posted October 5, 2012 Posted October 5, 2012 How does batting u the order ruined his bowling, I Just dont understand. He had the ability to bat well and he did that because of that. one does not forget his bowling because one started batting up the order. Kallis and Watson are batting up the order but they still know their bowling. Rather than blaming Irfan for changing his technique, approach, and action, we will blame Chappal. People forgot his crooked thumb seam position. Dont know who advised that to him.
MCcricket Posted December 14, 2013 Author Posted December 14, 2013 I have faith in the batting strength of out team, well results and schedule has shown results which don't reflect our strength in ODI against SA, Virat, Rohit, Dhawan, Dhoni who has improved his batting it seems, Pujara are world class and have the talent and confidence to do better then our past generation great batsmen, with Rahane, Gambhir, Sehwag, Unmukt, and other talented batters making an impression our line up is formidable and not only on paper. Our area of concern is bowling and here it is that selectors, coach, captain have to be pro active and have a plan and vision on how to make a good odi and test bowling pool to select from, for test pace is a requirement one has to look for and for odi it is variation in attack and uniqueness and accuracy with enough pace to rattle the batsmen. Aaron, Umesh, Shami, Suyal, Shukla are fast bowlers who can be groomed and nurtured because they have pace and what they need is grooming and being looked after like ECB does, Pankaj Singh, Pandey , Choudhary are the tall bowlers who can be useful as wicket takers and work horses for test although not fast but f/m and can strengthen our attack, Warrier, Bumrah are the other two young bowlers who can be long term prospects to be groomed for A tours maybe along with someone like Kamran Khan for his uniqueness and pace. Two areas selectors need to focus on is finding a good leggie and looking at all rounders, R Dhawan and Irfan when fit can be looked at, Jadeja and Ashwin to me can do this job but are not certainties for tests abroad as we need seamers. Most important we need to have two captains at least to focus on odi and test and also different group of players and priorities to make an impact at home and away.
jatinder Posted December 16, 2013 Posted December 16, 2013 Indian cricket team new captain for T20 especially for T20 world cup to be held in Bangladesh 2014.Mr. Dhoni need to concentrate on ODIS and Test criclket. Give new bowler in T20 first . Then ODI and Test . Fast bowler like Rahul shukla , Pankaj Singh, Ishwar Pandey,Pawan Suyal need to be groomed by giving exposure in India A Tours , Challenger series and against visiting team and T20 matches.
jatinder Posted December 16, 2013 Posted December 16, 2013 In T20 player like ambati rayudu , manish pandey , parvez rasool and other talent player give them chance to replace player like raina , yuvraj
MCcricket Posted December 16, 2013 Author Posted December 16, 2013 Any team needs a bit of luck in terms of conditions and toss especially when touring abroad to SA , and AUS, ALSO MOST IMPORTANTLY THESE TOURS SHOULD BE PLANNED FOR IN ADVANCE AND STRATERGIES BE FORMED AND PLAYERS SELECTED ACCORDINGLY AND ALSO A SERIOUS THOUGHT TO HAVE A TOUR WHICH PLAYERS CAN ACCLIMATIZE AND PERFORM TO THEIR BEST, SO IT IS NOT THE PLAYERS BUT THE bcci AND SELECTORS WHO HAVE FAILED HERE, LETS SEE WHAT HAPPENS IN TEST, YES ALL THESE PLAYERS ABOVE ESPECIALLY, pANKAJ, sUYAL, Shukla HAVE TO BE INTRODUCED INTO OUR SIDE AT SOME STAGE ESPECIALLY pANKAJ.