Dissecting Ganguly - The Batsman

What Bull ! Those who are calling for Ganguly to be dropped , obviously dont know much about how cricket works.
Marirs, If you mean the "sheet anchor" role in cricket, *please* take singles and rotate strike atleast. Dot ball after dot ball after dot ball is blasphemy in Modern day ODI cricket.
GIB, honest question - why do you hate Ganguly ? Did he turn down your request for an autograph or something ?
Preds...I hated Ganguly..when he was a walking wicket since 2003...scoring once in a blue moon... and i was Glad that chappel took the initiative..and really insulted him openly... at least chapple did two things right in his entire tenure...kicking Zaheer and Ganguly out of the team.. both came back with a vengeance... and In Tests...Ganguly has been able to Justify his place with his consistent scoring.. but his ODI batting is still below par...and because of which we are alway under pressure..during middle overs... it seems as if he isn playing for his Average...just to show that he scored runs... but i am sure Fans are not fools...who can not see...that his runs hurt indian more than do any good..? i mean...he was the slowest even against Bermuda... i hereby declare that i will never post any hateful post for Ganguly if he is able to score against australia at a SR of 85....with an average of 60 in the ODI series...in all the seven matches.

BheemBhai..even you think...its one of those impossible dreams..? :cantstop: 1. Kya Ganguly Sandeep ko apne Fan Bana payega? 2. Kya Ganguly apna Nagpur wala performance repeat kar payega..?:D 3 Kya Ganguly apna Rib Cage bacha payega..? 4. Kya Ganguly apne upar Laga hua Daag Dho Payega..? 5. Kya Ganguly Anu _D ko dinner pe Le jayega...:eyedance: yeh jaane ke liye Padhte Rahiye...Indian Cricket fans...Daily 24*7..

What Bull ! Those who are calling for Ganguly to be dropped , obviously dont know much about how cricket works.
yeah yeah.. prolly u dont know what it takes to win the game...:giggle: ganguly is clearlymaking a fool outa everyone.. very smartly scoring 40 odd runs at a pathetic SR and makes everyone believe tht hes a consistent player in form...:finger:
He has done this before yaar; http://usa.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/2003-04/OD_TOURNEYS/VBS/SCORECARDS/AUS_IND_VBS_ODI1_09JAN2004.html SR of 98. Good enough ? Love the pink font, BTW.
Preds..i am talking about the whole series stats... ek do matches me to tukka lag sakta hai....Lets see how he performs against Australia.. i wish..if we could recall back Sehwag before ODI series starts against Aussies..

Ganguly stats India batting first 98(110), SR - 89, India wins 13( 25) , SR - 52 , India wins 68(82) , SR - 83, India wins 55(129) , SR - 51 ,India loses 89(114) , SR - 78, India wins 13(22) , SR - 60 , India loses 39(54), SR - 72, india wins India batting second 62(79) , SR - 79, Target was 254 , India fell short by 4 runs , after being comfortably placed at 154/3 in 27 overs 46(76) , SR - 66 , Target 230 , India wins 58(74) , SR - 78, Target 260 , India wins 7(23), SR - 30, India loses 73( 99) , SR - 74, India wins 42(75) , SR - 56, India wins 18(24), SR - 75, India wins 2(3), SR - 66, India loses 72( 104) , SR - 70, India loses Ganguly combined strike rate in matches batting first Total runs - 375 Balls faced - 516 SR - 72.66 Ganguly combined strike rate in matches batting second Total runs - 390 Balls faced - 557 SR - 70.00 We have to take into account the match situations to get the real picture of Ganguly's SR Taking a reference 80 as a SR that is acceptable to most of us , lets look at all of Ganguly's innings with SR below that with a condition that he faced a minimum of 25 balls Number of innings Ganguly averaged a SR of below 80 - 11 Result of those matches - 9 wins , 2 losses So obviously , a majority of Ganguly's innings have been well paced ones , played according to the team's requirements. Even when he has been slow , his innings has ensured India's victory more often than not Please dont get carried away by stats in isolation. Looks at the larger picture.

Ganguly has a lower than expected strike rate simply because of the way his career has panned out. You will find that when players run into bad form/arnt at their peak, either their strike rate or their averages take a big hit. Ganguly has found some good form off late but it has coincided with indifferent form from Tendulkar/Dravid/Yuvraj and the other batsmen, thus forcing him to play for runs over strike rate. I hope you guys realize that when the side is 120/5 after 25 overs, strike rate goes out of the window, it is all about run accumulation. Ganguly has often been in that scenario of late, since our batting is not consistent off late (it either clicks big or implodes, it lacks the work-ethic to consistently put up 240-250+ scores in ODIs) but he has played the anchor role pretty well. Plus one has to remember that Ganguly was never a great rotator of strike, even in his heydeys- he relies a lot more on 'boundary shots' than any other batsman, meaning as long as Ganguly gets out to low scores, his strike rate will suck. He is the sort of player who scores, 20 in 30, 50 in 70, 100 in 110 balls sort of player, not a basher from the start. Another thing one has to remember is that Ganguly has typically played the anchor role in his heydeys to Tendulkar's blasting away. It was often Ganguly playing the anchoring 75-80 strike rate at his heydeys while tendy& #3 were going at 95-100 strike rate. Overall i'd say Ganguly is not a great player but dropping him would be pretty retarded. Our batting isnt exactly in the form of its life that we can afford to drop Ganguly.

This is a comprehensive look at Ganguly's performance since his comeback West Indies jan 2007 Match 1 - India 338/3 batting first Ganguly - 98(110) - SR - 89 Match 2 - India 189 all out batting first Ganguly - 13( 25) , SR - 52 Match 3 - India 341/5 batting first Ganguly - 68(82) , SR - 83 Sri Lanka in India, Feb 2007 Match 1 - India 252 , batting second, fell short of target by 4 runs , after being comfortably placed at 154/3 in 27 overs Ganguly - 62(79) , SR - 79 Match 2 - India chase down target of 230 in 46 overs Ganguly - 46(76) , SR - 66 Match 3 - India chase down target of 260 Ganguly - 58(74) , SR - 78 World cup - 2007 Match -1 , Bangladesh - India scored 191 , BD chases it down with 9 balls to spare Ganguly - 55( 129) , SR - 51 Match - 2 , Bermuda , India scores 413 , Win by 257 runs Ganguly - 89(114) , SR - 78 Match -3 , Sri Lanka , India chases 255 , all out for 185 Ganguly - 7(23), SR - 30 India in Ireland Match - 1 , Ireland scores 170 , India chases it down with 15 overs to spare Ganguly - 73( 99) , SR - 74 India Vs South Africa Match 1 - India scores 241 , SA Chases it down with 3 balls to spare Ganguly - 13(22) , SR - 60 Match 2 - SA scores 226 , India chases it down with 5 balls to spare Ganguly - 42(75) , SR - 56 Match 3 - 31 over match , SA bats first , scores 151. India chase it down Ganguly - 18(24), SR - 75 ODIs Vs England Match 1 , England scores 288 , India A.O for 184 Ganguly - 2(3), SR - 66 Match 2 , India 329 , Win by 10 runs Ganguly - 39(54), SR - 72 Match 2 , England scores 280 , India fall short by 42 runs Ganguly - 72( 104) , SR - 70 Ganguly stats India batting first 98(110), SR - 89, India wins 13( 25) , SR - 52 , India wins 68(82) , SR - 83, India wins 55(129) , SR - 51 ,India loses 89(114) , SR - 78, India wins 13(22) , SR - 60 , India loses 39(54), SR - 72, india wins India batting second 62(79) , SR - 79, Target was 254 , India fell short by 4 runs , after being comfortably placed at 154/3 in 27 overs 46(76) , SR - 66 , Target 230 , India wins 58(74) , SR - 78, Target 260 , India wins 7(23), SR - 30, India loses 73( 99) , SR - 74, India wins 42(75) , SR - 56, India wins 18(24), SR - 75, India wins 2(3), SR - 66, India loses 72( 104) , SR - 70, India loses Ganguly combined strike rate in matches batting first Total runs - 375 Balls faced - 516 SR - 72.66 Ganguly combined strike rate in matches batting second Total runs - 390 Balls faced - 557 SR - 70.00 We have to take into account the match situations to get the real picture of Ganguly's SR Taking a reference 80 as a SR that is acceptable to most of us , lets look at all of Ganguly's innings with SR below that with a condition that he faced a minimum of 25 balls Number of innings Ganguly averaged a SR of below 80 - 11 Result of those matches - 9 wins , 2 losses So obviously , a majority of Ganguly's innings have been well paced ones , played according to the team's requirements. Even when he has been slow , his innings has ensured India's victory more often than not Please dont get carried away by stats in isolation. Looks at the larger picture.
Excellent Work Maris. But I beg to differ with your assessment. I checked every ODI game he played from 2006/2007 series in Cricinfo. We need to take his S/R relative to other top 6 batsmen in the team. If you check and see , Ganguly has never topped the S/R even once ! In fact , what I noticed was his S/R was usually in the bottom of the top 6 list of batsmen's S/R. He has had the second best S/R only couple of times and has always been 4 or 5 or 6 among the batsmen in terms of S/R. Surely this should explode the myth that he accelerates better than other top and middle order batsmen in the team or is a better stroke player than others in the team.

Here is my analysis... Things have to be looked in to perspective. So my view towards this situation...I have stats of lost matches in recent past where SG played. When we needed 281/50 @ SR of 0.94, he scored 72/102 @0.71 where team scored 239 @ SR of 0.83 When we needed 288/50 @ SR of 0.96, he scored 2/6 @0.33 where team scored 184 @ SR of 0.61 When we Scored 242/50 @ SR of 0.81, he scored 13/22 @0.59 where Opp. scored 245 @ SR of 0.83 When we needed 254/50 @ SR of 0.85, he scored 7/23 @0.30 where team scored 185 @ SR of 0.72 When we Scored 191/49 @ SR of 0.65, he scored 66/129 @0.51 where Opp. scored 192 @ SR of 0.67 When we needed 257/50 @ SR of 0.87, he scored 62/79 @0.78 where team scored 252 @ SR of 0.84 Though not accurate, it can be summarized as, When we needed 1517/297 @ SR of 0.85, he scored 222/361 @0.61 where team scored 1293 @ SR of 0.74 Now in the summary our team has scored @ almost 78 but because he has scored at 0.61, aggregate effect has brought down team SR avg to 0.74. If he had scored with the avg SR of our team, we would have won half the matches that we lost (Game# 3, 5, 6). He may not be a direct cause but the indirect cause of losing these games. Its a cumulative effect.

Taking a reference 80 as a SR that is acceptable to most of us , lets look at all of Ganguly's innings with SR below that with a condition that he faced a minimum of 25 balls Number of innings Ganguly averaged a SR of below 80 - 11 Result of those matches - 9 wins , 2 losses So obviously , a majority of Ganguly's innings have been well paced ones , played according to the team's requirements. Even when he has been slow , his innings has ensured India's victory more often than not
How magical.
Unfortunately I dont have ODI stats TGIB (Iam not a big fan of ODI's).... but if your life depends on it .... I will make some time to fish them out from the dark hole .... :D BUt can I edit the title of this thread .. its unfair to accuse Gangs of robbery thats too harsh.
yes yes GIB's life depends on it.. bina ganguly ko kuchh danda dikhaye in janaab ko khana hazam nahin hota:cantstop: