BERGKAMP Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 somebody please go and ram this video up the bccis ass - [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R29I2Wh_XOg]Steve Bucknor Vs India @sydney - YouTube[/ame]
Yoda-esque Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 Our batsmen are scared of LBWs:cantstop: Remember our gully games?LBW law was non existent :phehehe:
Crookbond Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 somebody please go and ram this video up the bccis ass - Steve Bucknor Vs India @sydney - YouTube Funny that you mention that - remember when the 3rd umpire was called and did not give the stumping. What can your beloved DRS do in that situation?
Trichromatic Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 Funny that you mention that - remember when the 3rd umpire was called and did not give the stumping. What can your beloved DRS do in that situation?
BERGKAMP Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 of course you will get the odd fk up here and there even with it, but it is a invaluable tool against suspect umpires. i don't see how any sane person can be against it.
Crookbond Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 I would argue that suspect umpires should not be there in the elite panel itself. Bad umpires are bad - with or without the DRS. The margin of errors would be reduced but errors would still remain. So, the tackling of 'suspect umpires' (which for some reason people are calling out Aleem Dar who is one of the best around) is to have better umpires - not a jugaad solution in DRS.
Nova Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 David Gower said yesterday that BCCI chief Srinivasan was not in support of DRS because he considers the umpire decision as final, something which should not be questioned. This is news to me and if it is correct, then our babus are still living in a bygone era. The mind set needs to change. :hitler:
carnish Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 David Gower said yesterday that BCCI chief Srinivasan was not in support of DRS because he considers the umpire decision as final, something which should not be questioned. This is news to me and if it is correct, then our babus are still living in a bygone era. The mind set needs to change. :hitler: Yes, thats why BCCI is so much dominating. Its not transparent because of these babus and their nature of controlling everything without being questioned.
G_B_ Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 Yes' date=' thats why BCCI is so much dominating. Its not transparent because of these babus and their nature of controlling everything without being questioned.[/quote'] and long may that continue one just has to look at hockey and football organisation in India to realise that the BCCI need to rule with an iron fist.
carnish Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 and long may that continue one just has to look at hockey and football organisation in India to realise that the BCCI need to rule with an iron fist. Yes but not accepting DRS, not trying out Day Night Tests, Not allowing kit sponsors to provide new design kits for superstition purposes are issues that makes me think in some other manner.
Nova Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 and long may that continue one just has to look at hockey and football organisation in India to realise that the BCCI need to rule with an iron fist. Ghanta iron fist. This fist is hurting the sport than doing any good.
King Tendulkar Posted November 24, 2012 Author Posted November 24, 2012 We need drs as umpires cheat. Did we not learn our lesson from bucknow whose hate against india resulted in embarrasing cheating by him. His bias cost us series win in OZ, we should have learnt lesson from this. Now Dar doing the same, cheating. Need drs not to rectify umpires errors but to rectify cheating umpires decsions
jairamesh Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 We need drs as umpires cheat. Did we not learn our lesson from bucknow whose hate against india resulted in embarrasing cheating by him. His bias cost us series win in OZ, we should have learnt lesson from this. Now Dar doing the same, cheating. Need drs not to rectify umpires errors but to rectify cheating umpires decsions We are also missing out on 50/50 decisions.
CG Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 Its not the bcci but the indian batsman who oppose drs and i agree with them on l.b.ws as hawk eye is proven inaccurate.But we can have drs for edges and howlers like bat pad and pitched outside leg or offstump.
Trichromatic Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 Its not the bcci but the indian batsman who oppose drs and i agree with them on l.b.ws as hawk eye is proven inaccurate.But we can have drs for edges and howlers like bat pad and pitched outside leg or offstump. That was already accepted, tested and rejected by BCCI last year.
Ram Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 David Gower said yesterday that BCCI chief Srinivasan was not in support of DRS because he considers the umpire decision as final, something which should not be questioned. This is news to me and if it is correct, then our babus are still living in a bygone era. The mind set needs to change. :hitler: That is obviously the politically correct line that they want to parrot to the media. The real reason is plain and simple - Money. When ICC decided to institute DRS, they awarded the contract to the 'Hawkeye' against BCCI's wishes. I do not know if BCCI babus had another company in mind or were expecting kickbacks from Hawkeye that they never received, but whatever be the reason, the motivation for BCCI's opposition to DRS is financial, not cricketing related.
Ultimate_Game Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 That is obviously the politically correct line that they want to parrot to the media. The real reason is plain and simple - Money. When ICC decided to institute DRS' date=' they awarded the contract to the 'Hawkeye' against BCCI's wishes. I do not know if BCCI babus had another company in mind or were expecting kickbacks from Hawkeye that they never received, but whatever be the reason, the motivation for BCCI's opposition to DRS is financial, not cricketing related.[/quote'] True that! At the end of the day it's all about the money especially when BCCI is involved. I am sure if a stat proves that matches with DRS generate more revenue (maybe due to more folks watching the game on TV) they will be the first in line to implement the system :giggle:
CG Posted November 24, 2012 Posted November 24, 2012 That is obviously the politically correct line that they want to parrot to the media. The real reason is plain and simple - Money. When ICC decided to institute DRS' date=' they awarded the contract to the 'Hawkeye' against BCCI's wishes. I do not know if BCCI babus had another company in mind or were expecting kickbacks from Hawkeye that they never received, but whatever be the reason, the motivation for BCCI's opposition to DRS is financial, not cricketing related.[/quote'] I really do not think its about money,money is never a problem for bcci.Fact is after lanka test series our seniors and captain opposed it and bcci is following their advice.