Do you know to read & write your own language?  

• Yes
    • No
    • Sort of
    • Chalta hai...its sort of cool to not to know your language.

Maybe you wanted to say that you don't have have the typical Bengali accent because you don't visit your Bengali friends and relatives. It would be odd for them to refuse to meet you because you don't have a Bengali accent. :confused:
She just wanted us to know that she does not have a typical Bengali accent.
ChinaŽÃŽÔ first Tamil author looks to build bridges Zhao JiangŽÃŽÔ first Tamil book makes debut at on-going Chennai Book Fair 17TH_TAMIL_IN_CHIN_1333433f.jpg For Zhao Jiang, who prefers to go by her Tamil name Kalaimakal, writing a book in Tamil would have seemed unthinkable when she first began learning what appeared to be an undecipherable script in a Chinese university classroom some 15 years ago. Today, as a fluent Tamil-speaker and the director of the government-run China Radio InternationalŽÃŽÔ (CRI) Tamil station, which commands an impressive audience of more than 25,000 dedicated listeners in Tamil Nadu alone, Ms. Zhao has taken it upon herself to foster closer ties between China and southern India, a usually overlooked destination for Chinese travellers. This week, Ms. ZhaoŽÃŽÔ first book in Tamil which, as far as she knows, might even be the first ever Tamil book authored by a Chinese will debut at the ongoing Chennai Book Fair, which runs until January 23 at the YMCA College Ground in Nandanam. The book will be available at the stall of publishers Gowtham Pathippagam. Titled ChinaŽÃŽÔ Travel Attractions, the book provides an introduction of the history and culture of Beijing, Shanghai and Tibet. ŽÅ޵he idea I had was to introduce the special features of China for a Tamil audience, Ms. Zhao told The Hindu in an interview. Her inspiration, she said, came from the listeners of CRI, who sent in thousands of letters wanting to know more about travelling in China. CRIŽÃŽÔ Tamil station receives as many as five lakh letters every year more than any other of the stationŽÃŽÔ 60 international channels from listeners in India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Singapore and Europe. The book, Ms. Zhao says, introduces the changes the Chinese capital has seen in its recent history, from its thriving new 798 art district to its modern subway system. It also provides an introduction to ChinaŽÃŽÔ most famous historical sites. The book includes sections on ShanghaiŽÃŽÔ architecture and a guide to travelling in Tibet, written with an Indian audience in mind. Ms. Zhao has been a broadcaster with CRI for 13 years, joining the channel after completing her undergraduate degree in Tamil at the Communications University of China. The university is the only school in Beijing that teaches Tamil; it caters largely to the hiring needs of CRI and the official Xinhua news agency. Ms. Zhao, who has travelled extensively in Tamil Nadu in 2003 and 2004 on trips aimed at engaging with CRIŽÃŽÔ more than 500 listeners clubs, now plans to spend a year studying in Tamil Nadu. She is also considering writing a book, based on her upcoming travels in India, to introduce south India to Chinese travellers, who usually only head to New Delhi or Buddhist pilgrimage sites in the north. ŽÅŽ¢fter the success of the film ŽÃ*ife of Pi in China [parts of which were shot in Puducherry], there is an increasing interest in south India among Chinese, Ms. Zhao said.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/international/chinas-first-tamil-author-looks-to-build-bridges/article4316604.ece
Actually, I did face a lot of difficulty when I went to Delhi from Odisha. I fast realized that if I did not improve my English and my dressing sense, I was not going anywhere with my career. You won't understand the problem unless you have experienced it. At that time, I could not manage to speak even a single complete sentence in English. Thankfully, I had learned my grammar well in school. So for me, it was not about learning the language, but about practicing it in speech and in writing. Took me about six months of real hard work. I used to stand in front of a mirror and speak to myself on random topics, read news papers and novels aloud and learn from their sentence construction. I started watching English channels more and concentrated on pronunciations of different words. And I started talking to people in English. I was made fun of when I made stupid mistakes, but it helped me learn the language faster. Since I was knew my grammar well, I mostly knew when I made mistakes. So it was about reducing mistakes while speaking in English, without fumbling, without slowing down, not stopping searching for the right words and without showing in anyway that I was putting efforts into it. I also practiced writing a lot and it was key to improving my language. I would write a sentence and then try to write the same sentence in many different ways and figure out which is the best for the tone of the topic. Thanks to God, I got over my language problems and managed to build myself a decent career in advertising, where communication in English plays an instrumental role - not just in communicating with clients, but in telling them how they should communicate with their TG.
Top notch stuff right there. :two_thumbs_up: What is a TG?