Modi may not become the PM anytime soon but now it looks likely that he will have a very important role in the BJP 2014 elections (maybe as head of the Central Election Committee for Lok Sabha 2014 or in any other important capacity) which would (unofficially) make him the PM candidate. Its a different matter altogether that if BJP gets enough seats then the allies won't support him as leader of the NDA.

Sitaram Kesari? Kya yaar Khalpay bhaiyya subah subah tum bhi. If it is indeed Sitaram Kesari we are talking of here, then the man was the worst political broker I have ever heard of. Could never win a ghanta seat in his entire life, was a darn casteist and kept occupying high position in Congress. have forgotten his role but he used to be in charge of money and expenses. Could be wrong though. You could have added LN Mishra in there. Elder brother of Jagannath Mishra and one of the rising stars who was "threatening" Indira Gandhi. Was killed in one of the first bomb blast in Indian history.
IIRC he was the Kaangress President and it was only when Pranab Mukherjee managed to find a loophole in the Congress Constitution that he was sacked and Sonia Gandhi elected in his place.

Modi will become Shatrughan Sinha of Indian politics. Shotgun Sinha is one of the earliest star turned politician in India. Has paid his dues right from days of Emergency when he came out strongly against Indira Gandhi, this at a time when his career was starting to shape up in Bombay. His family has typically been sympathetic to Jansangh and Jayprakash Narayan. And of course in his home state he has a strong base and often BJP's star campaigner. And yet the seasoned BJP politicians of the state has always kept him outside of the limelight by doing politicking behind the scenes. People in the state wonder why he is never portrayed as the CM candidate for Bihar. Most likely will never happen either. Modi would go the same route, if he is not already. He would be a star campaigner on national stage but the brains behind the scene know he would break the party in two and hence will politick and not let him reach the top, meanwhile people will wonder why?

Sitaram Kesari? Kya yaar Khalpay bhaiyya subah subah tum bhi. If it is indeed Sitaram Kesari we are talking of here, then the man was the worst political broker I have ever heard of. Could never win a ghanta seat in his entire life, was a darn casteist and kept occupying high position in Congress. have forgotten his role but he used to be in charge of money and expenses. Could be wrong though. You could have added LN Mishra in there. Elder brother of Jagannath Mishra and one of the rising stars who was "threatening" Indira Gandhi. Was killed in one of the first bomb blast in Indian history.
Sir,add Vir Bahadur Singh also. Rumor say he was slowly becoming a threat to Rajeev and hence got killed.
IIRC he was the Kaangress President and it was only when Pranab Mukherjee managed to find a loophole in the Congress Constitution that he was sacked and Sonia Gandhi elected in his place.
I had to look that up actually and yes you are right. I blame it on the era factor. This happened in 1998. The era between 1997-2000 is blank for me. Had just started working and making money in my life. Although it was only 5000 bucks at the time I did have a girlfriend and nothing else mattered. Somehow I dont recollect too many things of the time. Nor would many people. Those 3 years are kind of very slow in Indian memory...I think.
Sir' date='add Vir Bahadur Singh also. Rumor say he was slowly becoming a threat to Rajeev and hence got killed.[/quote'] Vir Bahadur Singh, Scindia and Rajesh Pilot were all losses for India. They would have made good politician who were clean of character and intent. I am not sure of Congress angle though. Our politician are not that smart really, but boy are they lucky!
Modi will become Shatrughan Sinha of Indian politics. Shotgun Sinha is one of the earliest star turned politician in India. Has paid his dues right from days of Emergency when he came out strongly against Indira Gandhi, this at a time when his career was starting to shape up in Bombay. His family has typically been sympathetic to Jansangh and Jayprakash Narayan. And of course in his home state he has a strong base and often BJP's star campaigner. And yet the seasoned BJP politicians of the state has always kept him outside of the limelight by doing politicking behind the scenes. People in the state wonder why he is never portrayed as the CM candidate for Bihar. Most likely will never happen either. Modi would go the same route, if he is not already. He would be a star campaigner on national stage but the brains behind the scene know he would break the party in two and hence will politick and not let him reach the top, meanwhile people will wonder why?
Sushil Modi is the brains behind BJP's spectacular success in Bihar and is the leader of the party there so there's no question of Shotgun Sinha being even considered. Also, he, like many other stars, seems to have the foot in the mouth disease.
Sushil Modi is the brains behind BJP's spectacular success in Bihar and is the leader of the party there so there's no question of Shotgun Sinha being even considered. Also' date=' he, like many other stars, seems to have the foot in the mouth disease.[/quote'] Sushil Kumar Modi is one of the reason why BJP is called baniya party in Bihar. He is a good man, has come through the ranks and done hard work at ground. In that sense his credentials are well ahead of Shatrughan Sinha. However he does not have any charisma or appeal. Fails to garner half decent crowd in his bhaasan sabha. In my opinion he will always be a good number 2, does not have personality to be the number 1.
Here's my question - do you think Rahul Gandhi has what it takes to be a good PM and is intelligent enough to take this country forward and face the multitude of challenges we are facing. p.s. I want a "yes" or "no" answer, not a lecture on Congress/BJP/Voters etc.
No, definitely no
Here is why I fear about Congress, in my state they form UP PSC and ordered them to kill muslims during the reign of Indira and Sanjay. In my state during the rule of Rajeev they opened the lock of babri mosque/Ram temple which lead to the most voilent communal division in the contry. In my state during the rule of PV Narsimha Rao, they allowed the destruction of Babri Mosque and they showed as if they did not had any control. During Sharad Pawar reign in 1992, Mumbai saw a communal voilence were rubber bullet was fired on Shivsainiks but real bullet were fired on Muslims and he is not even considered communal. Why and how Rajesh Pilot, Scindia, Kesari dies accidentally?
All your incidents are from 20 years back at least. Congress has moved on a bit, BJP has not
All your incidents are from 20 years back at least. Congress has moved on a bit' date=' BJP has not[/quote'] Ghanta! One retarded reservation scheme after another, sh!tting on the idea of meritocracy & expecting the private sector to follow suit along with dividing the country on such issues is a time-tested Congressi tradition, besides being communal and anti-national.
No' date=' definitely no[/quote'] Rahul Gandhi has been nominated as the head of the Election Committee for Lok Sabha 2014 - this is a way is a clear sign that he will be Congress' candidate for PM - in such a scenario will you still vote for Congress (keeping in mind that you have just said that you find him to be not in any way good enough to be the leader of this country. ) Moved on to what? More corruption, making the party Gandhi-Nehru Pvt ltd, more and more appeasement of minorities, In what sense has the BJP not moved on from 2002 ?

MTC, your state had a Karnataka Prevention of Cow Slaughter and Cattle Prevention Act, 1964 act passed by Congress govt. More material on the applicable laws in various sates, check how many states enacted the law under a Congress rule. http://www.indianexpress.com/news/some-ban-some-restrict-a-few-don-t/895341 A Congress govt in Uttarakhand has forbidden women to work after 6 pm. Obviously those are things that should be ignored as the Congress has apparently moved on!

Rahul Gandhi has been nominated as the head of the Election Committee for Lok Sabha 2014 - this is a way is a clear sign that he will be Congress' candidate for PM - in such a scenario will you still vote for Congress (keeping in mind that you have just said that you find him to be not in any way good enough to be the leader of this country. )
I don't think he will be the candidate being way too vulnerable from attacks from the opposition. They will go with Singh/ or not name a candidate before the elections and nominate him afterwards.

AK Antony could be a possible PM candidate. Raul is shrewd enough to not take the responsibility this time as there is a strong possibility of anti-incumbency factor.

I don't think he will be the candidate being way too vulnerable from attacks from the opposition. They will go with Singh/ or not name a candidate before the elections and nominate him afterwards.
I also don't think he will be announced as the Candidate. They will simply give him overall responsibility of the elections thereby making him the unofficial leader of the party for Lok Sabha 2014.
AK Antony could be a possible PM candidate. Raul is shrewd enough to not take the responsibility this time as there is a strong possibility of anti-incumbency factor.
He certainly would be one of the biggest contenders but I really don't see any situation where Kaangress will name anyone other than a member of the Gandhi family a PM candidate. In all probability Rahul Baba will be the unofficial leader.
Thats not the only reason they vote for congress. I will give you an example of why I am afraid of BJP. In my state Karnataka, they have hardly been in power for 3 years. But already 1) Cow slaughter and being found in possesion of beef is a imprisonable offence. Police have the right to raid you house without any warrant if they suspect you might have beef. And even if they find nothing, they dont need to apologise or pay damages. Possesion of even 100 gms of beef can put you in jail 2) BJP has been subtly changing school text books to push their hindutva agenda. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahome/indianews/article-2250174/NCERT-probes-saffron-slant-Karnataka-textbooks.html For example there was a story about a tiger who wanted to eat a cow, but impressed by the cow's honesty and truth, lets it go. This versrion has been changed to the tiger saying, "Eating cows is the greatest sin ever, so no one should ever eat cows". There are so many such instances of talibanization of the text books and teaching hate to young minds 3) The police have made it mandatory to all women who stay in office after 6pm to use the company transport in the name of safety. Might sound like a good policy, but its enforced to such an extent that the wife cannot even go out with her husband. Many women have stopped working after 60pm as a result If the BJP comes in power at the center, the talibanization of the country will begin. Even Gujrat riots happened when BJP was in power. I would think this is a much bigger problem for India than any corruption case. And this is what the common man sees when he votes. They vote for congress only because there is no other viable option, not because of any name or dynasty. They want peace and quiet, not riots and hindutva
Congress does the same too, tbf plus BJP won't come into power on it's own.

I do think BJP is better at adminstration and less corrupt than the Congress, however I don't like their and Especially RSS' Hindutva agenda. Last time they came to power, they couldn't do much of it as Vajpayee was a moderate and could hold off RSS. And also due to the fact they were in a allied government. But still they setup a Justice Venkatchalliah commission to look into reworking the constitution knowing he was a staunch Hindu. But when he suggested that Secular constitution was fine and required changes in other areas, they were dissapointed and didn't even implement some of the good changes suggested. I don't want them to come into power with too high a number of seats, if they do due to this reason. Doesn't seem likely anyway. :giggle:

Actually, the first question should be will Congress still win again despite all those corruption scandals? I guess the answer could still be likely after all the Indian public quickly forgets things. ( Same public voted for the gov despite the 26/11 attacks) Modi being a portrayed as a PM candidate can go both ways. It can also solidify groups together. Congress is also vary of that which is why they always make statements to remind the 2002 riots . However, the affected state which was Gujarat has already moved forward from that incidents. Even during Gujarat elections promotions, neither party talked about these riots. So it's stupid of Congress in still trying to sell that and yet certain do buy that. The reasons are well-mentioned through a combination of dirty politics and injustice.