Please keep Jadeja away from TEST team!

• Yes
    • No

So, basically what we are saying here is that Jadeja will get to play his career on turning home pitches where he also has some chance to contribute with the bat and the reserve batsman will get to play his career in South Africa, Australia, England, and New Zealand. Sounds like the perfect deal.
That's what I call horses for courses. Can't argue with his performances or results so far.
its unfair but balances team well basically we are playing 5 bowlers..
If Jadeja is bowling well, he should play as second spinner and part of a 4 man bowling attack unless he can bat like a proper batsman. The Australian team was a shambles. You are not going to get away with playing 5 batsmen and Dhoni even on Indian tracks against good attacks like England and South Africa
Not just in India.But also in countries like Pak(UAE) ' date=' WI , Ban and Srl where conditions suit him and Dhoni.[/quote'] If you keep playing your reserve batsman only in tough conditions for Indian batsmen, there is very little chance he will succeed. What's wrong is that your reserve batsman is unlikely to succeed if you play him exclusively in tough conditions for batsmen from India.
That's what I call horses for courses. Can't argue with his performances or results so far.
Oh Bhai, if you are going to shove Rohit or Rahane exclusively at Durban, Headlingly, MCG, Perth which horses for courses are they? Even well established subcontinent batsmen struggle in those conditions, and you expect newbies to start scoring runs there?
If Jadeja is bowling well, he should play as second spinner and part of a 4 man bowling attack unless he can bat like a proper batsman. The Australian team was a shambles. You are not going to get away with playing 5 batsmen and Dhoni even on Indian tracks against good attacks like England and South Africa
totally agree with this.. i even posted this as reply to murugan .. at home i can see it working but away its impossible to play with 5 batsmen and tail starting at 6 with dhoni
If Jadeja is bowling well, he should play as second spinner and part of a 4 man bowling attack unless he can bat like a proper batsman. .
Yes, on these pitches we dont need 2 pacers when we dont even one good pacer to bank on. 1 seamer and 3 spinners.
As for unfair , is it also unfair we play 2 seamers at home and 3 away?
The difference is that you are giving the third pacer away or the second spinner at home conditions more conducive to their game. On the contrary by playing Rohit and Rahane exclusively at Durban, Johannesburg, Leeds, Perth you are given them conditions adverse to the success of their game. If that's the plan might as well play Jadeja there as well because no batsman from the subcontinent can make a career by playing exclusively in such conditions. It's like asking some Australian fast bowler to make a career by playing exclusively on Indian pitches.
If Jadeja is bowling well, he should play as second spinner and part of a 4 man bowling attack unless he can bat like a proper batsman.
Unless we find 2 high quality seamers like (Zaheer , Srinath ) or a great Spinner like Kumble we need 5 man bowling attack to take 20 wkts. No use getting that 50 more runs from the specialist bat if u cant bowl opposition out.
The Australian team was a shambles. You are not going to get away with playing 5 batsmen and Dhoni even on Indian tracks against good attacks like England and South Africa
Dhoni is more than good enough to bat at No.6 against any opposition in India.He has 100s against both SA and ENg last time they toured here.And Jadeja is more than good enough to be no7 particularly with Ashwin at 8 and Bhuvi at 9.As i said earlier No one scores 2 triple centuries without talent.He may not become a great batsmen but with time and patience he is more than good enough to bat at 6/7 in flat and spin friendly wkts.

I think jadeja has a long way to go.He is still one dimensional bowler depending heavily on pitches. He has to develop change of pace .I do not see us giving turning tracks against likes of Pak .He has a good start but lets wait.We will most probably not need jadeja in sa.

Lavender Jadeja ne Australians ko apne mohpash me bandh liya aur tum keh rahe ho one-dimensional hai.
Australians struggled against spin in tour games also.This team would not be able to bat against spin no matter how many times they tour.They did not even have proper batsman.:giggle:
Bhajji n Ojha bowled spin too AFAIK
Unless we find 2 high quality seamers like (Zaheer , Srinath ) or a great Spinner like Kumble we need 5 man bowling attack to take 20 wkts. No use getting that 50 more runs from the specialist bat if u cant bowl opposition out.
Point is you can get away with that at home. You might miss out on the odd win because you were not able to take 20 wickets, but you will still draw that match. Where it is going to really hurt is when you have a batsman who plays exclusively in places like Durban, Johannesburg, Leeds, Perth. That is when the fact that you do not have a proper number 6 batsman with international experience and success is going to hurt you really bad.
Even England had struggled in warmups giving fifer to Yuvraj, none else.
Even England had struggled in warmups giving fifer to Yuvraj' date=' none else.[/quote'] Australian batsman are nothing compared to england.I still think jadeja is accurate darter.Unless he develops variations in pace he will be found out on better tracks .
Oh Bhai, if you are going to shove Rohit or Rahane exclusively at Durban, Headlingly, MCG, Perth which horses for courses are they? Even well established subcontinent batsmen struggle in those conditions, and you expect newbies to start scoring runs there?
1. They would do better than 40 year old has-beens in the team. 2. If Rohit & Rahane fail, given a decent run, get the next youngster in line. Everyone goes "horses for courses". England played Monty & Swann in India when they would play only one outside SC. We should be doing the same.
Point is you can get away with that at home. You might miss out on the odd win because you were not able to take 20 wickets, but you will still draw that match. Where it is going to really hurt is when you have a batsman who plays exclusively in places like Durban, Johannesburg, Leeds, Perth. That is when the fact that you do not have a proper number 6 batsman with international experience and success is going to hurt you really bad.
We couldnt against Strong oppositions at home.Lost the series to England and couldnt win the last two series against SA.Havent won in Srl (similar conditions) in 20 years.Fact is we dont have any world class bowler ever since Kumble retired and we have been struggling to take 20 wickets in these wkts which makes having 5 bowlers in these conditions imperative. I am not disagreeing it will be unfair on the reserve batsman to just come in at no.6 in tough conditions but its gamble worth taking imo.Almost in 5 of 9 countries (75% of our tests) playing Jadeja ahead of Rohit or Rayadu will give us much better chance of winning imo. We can always rotate batsmen against weaker opposition and send these reserve batsman for A tours which will help them much better.
1. They would do better than 40 year old has-beens in the team.
How is that relevant?
2. If Rohit & Rahane fail, given a decent run, get the next youngster in line.
You can bring in as many youngsters as you want from the domestic circuit. If you play them exclusively in South Africa, England, Australia, and New Zealand their chances of success are slim to none.
Everyone goes "horses for courses". England played Monty & Swann in India when they would play only one outside SC. We should be doing the same.
Completely different situation: "The difference is that you are giving the third pacer away or the second spinner at home conditions more conducive to their game. On the contrary by playing Rohit and Rahane exclusively at Durban, Johannesburg, Leeds, Perth you are given them conditions adverse to the success of their game. If that's the plan might as well play Jadeja there as well because no batsman from the subcontinent can make a career by playing exclusively in such conditions. It's like asking some Australian fast bowler to make a career by playing exclusively on Indian pitches."