Crookbond Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 If it were a 'pure' sport' date=' then player loyalty would have some sort of an emotional connect with the home fans. But IPL is beyond, just sport. It is sports+ entertainment+a lot of intentionally generated controversy. [b']Its understandable that loyalty doesn't count for much here. Think of it like a movie. Just because YRF decide not to cast SRK in their upcoming venture or RGV doesn't cast Urmila Matondkar or Ekta Kapoor doesn't cast Tushar in her latest, wouldn't make a person stay away from the said movies. Not true - loyalty IS and always has been a great deciding factor in viewership for sports with regional innuendos be it EPL or Premieré League. You just need to look outside IPL to understand that. For your movie example, if YRF or KJo cast SRK in their next film it will make more people attracted towards the movie than otherwise.
Mariyam Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 how about we use the % of households which subscribe to Sony channel showing the IPL? Or at the very least they expand the number of cities they measure and maybe include the top 50 metropolitan areas in India. Because I visit Nashik on a regular basis on my way to Dhule. There people watch the IPL a lot more than major cities. They watch TV more than the usual tier 1 and tier 2 cities. If i were to make an estimate i would say 25% of Indian households watch the IPL based on a TV ownership rate of 47% in the 2011 census. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_states_ranking_by_television_ownership Thing is, most urban households who have a TV will have Sony. That is because these days cable/CAS has phenomenal reach. Everyone has all the channels. From Sony to Al Jazeera News to CCTV (Chinese news/propaganda channel) to ETV Manipur. Finding out exact viewership maybe a lot more difficult. As it will be difficult to say what people actually watch, or how long they watch what they watch. Also household stats do not take into consideration those without TVs who watch their cricket outside of electronic stores and malls, who also must be numbering into thousands. Also those who are on the move, in office, or prefer to follow the IPL on streams on the phone are not accounted for. This segment is only going to grow in the near future. Brings us to the main question: Why do we want a number? Is it really a good indicator of the popularity and the success of the IPL? A better indicator, IMO, of the commercial success of the IPL would be the amount the brands are willing to pay per second for an ad slot during the IPL. If the brands think it worth their time and money, it must be. @ Dexter: Pravin K, Saurav and DomainK would probably know a lot more of advertising, media rates and the related media ratings than I. You can confirm with them. As an aside, I am not a big fan of the way market research is carried out in India. The forecasts are always on a household basis, be it for a product or a service. While it may be a great method to foretell the number of colgates and sunsilks that could be sold in 2105, it is not a great method to predict business where the main client is not the consumer but another service or predict entertainment/ box office numbers.
Prudent Posted April 11, 2013 Author Posted April 11, 2013 IPL 2013 opens at 4.5 TVR The mega cricket event’s broadcast on Sony MAX and Sony SIX reaches a record-breaking 100 million viewers in the first five matches Pepsi IPL 2013 has got bigger this year in terms of reach in the first week. According to TAM data sourced from subscribers, 100 million viewers watched the first week’s matches of Pepsi IPL 2013 on Max and Six, compared with last season’s 79 million viewers.The opening match between KKR and Delhi Daredevils on April 3 fetched 4.5 TVR in HSM markets and 4.1 TVR in all-India market. In comparison, the opening game between CSK and Mumbai Indians fetched 6 TVR among all India CS 4+ audiences. http://www.bestmediainfo.com/2013/04/ipl-2013-opens-at-4-5-tvr/
G_B_ Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 Thing is, most urban households who have a TV will have Sony. That is because these days cable/CAS has phenomenal reach. Everyone has all the channels. From Sony to Al Jazeera News to CCTV (Chinese news/propaganda channel) to ETV Manipur. Finding out exact viewership maybe a lot more difficult. As it will be difficult to say what people actually watch, or how long they watch what they watch. Also household stats do not take into consideration those without TVs who watch their cricket outside of electronic stores and malls, who also must be numbering into thousands. Also those who are on the move, in office, or prefer to follow the IPL on streams on the phone are not accounted for. This segment is only going to grow in the near future. Brings us to the main question: Why do we want a number? Is it really a good indicator of the popularity and the success of the IPL? A better indicator, IMO, of the commercial success of the IPL would be the amount the brands are willing to pay per second for an ad slot during the IPL. If the brands think it worth their time and money, it must be. @ Dexter: Pravin K, Saurav and DomainK would probably know a lot more of advertising, media rates and the related media ratings than I. You can confirm with them. As an aside, I am not a big fan of the way market research is carried out in India. The forecasts are always on a household basis, be it for a product or a service. While it may be a great method to foretell the number of colgates and sunsilks that could be sold in 2105, it is not a great method to predict business where the main client is not the consumer but another service or predict entertainment/ box office numbers. fully agree mariyam
Crookbond Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 @ Dexter: Pravin K, Saurav and DomainK would probably know a lot more of advertising, media rates and the related media ratings than I. You can confirm with them. As an aside, I am not a big fan of the way market research is carried out in India. The forecasts are always on a household basis, be it for a product or a service. While it may be a great method to foretell the number of colgates and sunsilks that could be sold in 2105, it is not a great method to predict business where the main client is not the consumer but another service or predict entertainment/ box office numbers. Isn't it Nielsen who carries out TAM? I would assume Nielsen has enough pedigree to understand the complexities to carry out market research. Unfortunately, I don't know yet about TAM so as of now by method of pedigree I would go with Nielsen's assessment.
Crookbond Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 IPL 2013 opens at 4.5 TVR The mega cricket event’s broadcast on Sony MAX and Sony SIX reaches a record-breaking 100 million viewers in the first five matches Pepsi IPL 2013 has got bigger this year in terms of reach in the first week. According to TAM data sourced from subscribers, 100 million viewers watched the first week’s matches of Pepsi IPL 2013 on Max and Six, compared with last season’s 79 million viewers.The opening match between KKR and Delhi Daredevils on April 3 fetched 4.5 TVR in HSM markets and 4.1 TVR in all-India market. In comparison, the opening game between CSK and Mumbai Indians fetched 6 TVR among all India CS 4+ audiences. http://www.bestmediainfo.com/2013/04/ipl-2013-opens-at-4-5-tvr/ Slap on tge face for ipl haters This is like declaring yourself as the No.1 in the world. Such ratings do not make much sense unless carried out by independent auditors.
G_B_ Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 Isn't it Nielsen who carries out TAM? I would assume Nielsen has enough pedigree to understand the complexities to carry out market research. Unfortunately' date=' I don't know yet about TAM so as of now by method of pedigree I would go with Nielsen's assessment.[/quote'] i think the problem is that TAM have a monopoly over the market. Surely we need 2-3 different agencies. Then we can take a look at their data and effectively come to a conclusion. You look at say opinion polls for political elections and there are plenty of them around.
Prudent Posted April 11, 2013 Author Posted April 11, 2013 This is like declaring yourself as the No.1 in the world. Such ratings do not make much sense unless carried out by independent auditors. TAM India is an independent auditor and has the support of all the channels..
Crookbond Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 i think the problem is that TAM have a monopoly over the market. Surely we need 2-3 different agencies. Then we can take a look at their data and effectively come to a conclusion. You look at say opinion polls for political elections and there are plenty of them around. Err, no. There are certain things which you don't really have a threat to validity. 1 is better than none - unless there is conflict of interest. TAM India is an independent auditor and has the support of all the channels.. Sure - can you link us to the TAM data and/or report? Currently, I only see someone making a statement without any source to an audited report.
Prudent Posted April 12, 2013 Author Posted April 12, 2013 Sure - can you link us to the TAM data and/or report? Currently, I only see someone making a statement without any source to an audited report. It's a paid service, only available for the subscribers. Indiantelevision.com usually provides weekly report based on the TRP data. http://www.indiantelevision.com/headlines/y2k13/apr/apr97.php
Crookbond Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 It's a paid service, only available for the subscribers. Indiantelevision.com usually provides weekly report based on the TRP data. http://www.indiantelevision.com/headlines/y2k13/apr/apr97.php Thanks. What is the "CS 4+ TG All India market"?
kubrickian Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 IPL 2013 opens at 4.5 TVR The mega cricket event’s broadcast on Sony MAX and Sony SIX reaches a record-breaking 100 million viewers in the first five matches Pepsi IPL 2013 has got bigger this year in terms of reach in the first week. According to TAM data sourced from subscribers, 100 million viewers watched the first week’s matches of Pepsi IPL 2013 on Max and Six, compared with last season’s 79 million viewers.The opening match between KKR and Delhi Daredevils on April 3 fetched 4.5 TVR in HSM markets and 4.1 TVR in all-India market. In comparison, the opening game between CSK and Mumbai Indians fetched 6 TVR among all India CS 4+ audiences. http://www.bestmediainfo.com/2013/04/ipl-2013-opens-at-4-5-tvr/ Suck on that haters. :finger: But the challenge is to sustain it for a period of 2 months.
philcric Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 IPL is still very, very popular but one mistake they did was they shuffled the big players around too much. Team loyalty is important in franchise cricket as there is no national pride involved. Its important you have a fan base that's attached and roots for certain players in the team over a period of time. Once you remove those players from your team, the fan base is also lost. It will again take a while for the fans to become attached to their teams. If they keep shuffling even more, they may lose interest for good. CSK have done this well by sticking to Dhoni, Raina, Vijay, Ashwin, Badrinath and MI as well with Sachin, Harbhajan, Pollard, Rayudu etc. To be honest, Pune and Kochi were the worst thing to happen to IPL because to accommodate them, most players went in to the auction again. It made business sense because players would get paid more and because each of the franchises paid 300+ million dollars. But its also a compromise because they preferred short term money making over the quality of the product. ++ Totally agree. Adding those 2 teams created problems. Players shuffled away from their original teams. Loss of fan base, identity and loyalty. 10 (or 9) teams makes the tourney too long. 8 teams were perfect. About 40 days of cricket. Could sustain audience interest through the end of the tournament. One more thing to improve fans loyalty is to have more local players in the respective teams. For example RCB fans would love to have Uthappa and Dravid in their team instead of having similar players from another city/state.
Crookbond Posted April 13, 2013 Posted April 13, 2013 As far as I know' date= TAM ratings are based only on Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Kolkatta, Bangalore, Pune, Hyderabad and Ahmedabad. The results are extrapolated to represent all Urban India. How they do it, I'm not too sure. The main draw back with the way TAM collates data is that they do it on a household basis. Meaning a household with 5 children or a household with none still counts as one entity. And the % increase in households is much lower than the % increase in population in a given urban area. Another draw back is that the TAM data does nto capture viewership is pubs, sports bars, big screens in malls or in movie halls,which these days constitute a substantial percentage of those watching the game. Well, I have reason to believe that's not true. The ratings are weighted with towns with 1Million+ population having 25% weightage. The rest other towns contribute to 75% weightage. http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2013/content/current/story/629700.html
Prudent Posted April 14, 2013 Author Posted April 14, 2013 Thanks. What is the "CS 4+ TG All India market"? Cable& Satellite, 4+ = All viewers above 4 yrs.
Prudent Posted April 14, 2013 Author Posted April 14, 2013 Sundar Raman, the CEO of IPL, talks about plans to expand the reach of the T20 cricket tournament http://www.livemint.com/Home-Page/faoj8vXR69AVlA1rmv8ThN/Every-league-goes-through-ups-and-downs-IPL-CEO.html
Prudent Posted April 22, 2013 Author Posted April 22, 2013 MEC has released the second IPL TV rating update. After the first 16 matches, the average TVR for IPL is 3.7 (CS 15+ ABC). This is 11 per cent lower than the MEC-Meritus estimate for the same stage (4.2). However, on a like-to-like basis (excluding new TAM markets not covered last year), the average rating is 4.0, which is just 5 per cent lower than the MEC estimate. IPL5 rating at the same stage (first 16 games) was 4.2. For the male audience (CS M 15+ ABC), IPL6 ratings are lower than IPL5 – 4.6 vs 5.0 (-8%). While last year’s ratings were for Max alone, this year’s viewership includes Max and Six. The cumulative, unduplicated reach for the first 16 games is 129 million, slightly up from 124 million last year. http://www.bestmediainfo.com/2013/04/mec-on-ipl6-average-tvr-at-3-7-after-16-matches/
Prudent Posted April 22, 2013 Author Posted April 22, 2013 IPL6 ratings see decline of 10% over IPL5 in 2nd week http://www.bestmediainfo.com/2013/04/ipl6-ratings-see-decline-of-10-over-ipl5-in-2nd-week/
Prudent Posted May 15, 2013 Author Posted May 15, 2013 Mumbai, May 13: As the sixth edition of IPL comes to an end with fairly flat television viewership, MSM (the owner of MAX, the official broadcaster) is expected to rake in ad revenues in excess of Rs 800 crore, according to media buyers and consultants. Close matches sustained viewership interest even during the middle of the tournament, leading more advertisers to come on board with bigger budgets. “This season, IPL was less about ad rates and viewership but more about advertising outlays. With 70-odd advertisers and 12 sponsors, the numbers were higher this season with sponsors willing to shell out Rs 30- 40 crore which was less than what they spent last season. Ad revenues should go from Rs 650 crore last season to touch at least Rs 800 crore, ’’ observes T. Gangadhar, Managing Director, MEC India (Group M media agency). TRPs (television rating points) may have remained stagnant and even dropped by 10 per cent compared with the previous season but this was due to the fact that TAM (television audience measurement) added more markets in terms of towns with less than 1 lakh population in States such as Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh, which did not have many IPL viewers as these States do not have IPL teams. “Television ratings cannot be compared to the previous season as TAM included small towns which were not conducive to IPL viewership. Comparing televisions ratings would be like comparing apples to oranges but the number of viewers has gone up with a second channel like Sony Six being added this season,’’ said Shailesh Kapoor, CEO, Ormax media (a media insights firm). Big spenders like title sponsor Pepsi buying airtime (unlike DLF which limited itself a title sponsor mostly) has boosted ad revenues this season. http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/companies/ipl-6-viewership-flat-ad-sales-peak/article4712193.ece