Texan Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 He may hit a 100. Remember WI are in our group.:P WI are not a weak team in limited overs matches. With Rampaul, Roach and Narine, they have a very potent bowling line-up - and with Gayle in their batting line-up, they are very capable of beating us in CT.
Crookbond Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 You are kind of proving my point. Yuvraj picked in Tests based on ODI performances --> flops in Tests, great player in ODIs Kaif picked in Tests based on ODI performances --> Again a flop in Tests, Okay in ODIs Raina picked in Tests based on ODI performances --> Super Duper Flop in Tests, good player in ODIs And then there are the players who do well in Tests, but not ODIs. VVS Laxman --> Great player in Tests, flop in ODIs There are very few batsmen who can make the transition across all formats of the game. I am not against picking players across formats, but Vijay has had his fair share of chances in ODIs and T20s and he hasn't even managed to reach a 50 in either formats. It is a known fact that he struggles to make a transition. If he gets picked for LOIs, he tends to carry that same mindset to Tests and then gets out trying to hit an extravagant shot. I think it would have been best in the Indian team's interest and also Vijay's interest to let him fortify his place in the Test team with some consistent performances before thrusting him into ODIs once again. So, you do agree that Rahane should also have been left out then?
TheWall Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 dont care who got selected or dropped as long as Gambhir is out of the team...
saneindian Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 Dude, how did Yuvraj come to the tests side? Based on ODI performance. How did Kaif get to tests? Based on ODI peformance. Why do people want Dhawan to be in the ODI side? Based on recent performance in test series. Let me repeat, it is not uncommon to pick people for one international format based on performance in the other international format. It is a better yardstick than domestics. Yes Vijay has sucked in ODIs in past. He did very well in recent test series and from I read recent challenger series. We are looking for openers, so it is not as outlandish that he is picked for ODIs. I would have preferred if they had kept Rahane in the ODI side instead of bringing in Vijay now, as Rahane did not get enough chances to prove himself in ODIs. May be Dhoni and the selectors felt Rahane needs to go back to domestics and come back later. Kaif made his test debut before making his ODI debut. People want Dhawan in the team because he hit a rapid 100 on test debut, has an excellent List A record and has batted beautifully in the ongoing IPL. He hasn't had to change his game across formats. Vijay OTOH had to totally change his game to do well in tests. And since then he's struggling big time in IPL. Shows that he has ssues in adapting to different formats which is absolutely fine. But I would hate to see him change his game again to become a better shorter format player but lose his test form. Doesn't hurt for once to admit that Vijay's selection is wrong.
Crookbond Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 Kaif made his test debut before making his ODI debut. People want Dhawan in the team because he hit a rapid 100 on test debut, has an excellent List A record and has batted beautifully in the ongoing IPL. He hasn't had to change his game across formats. Vijay OTOH had to totally change his game to do well in tests. And since then he's struggling big time in IPL. Shows that he has ssues in adapting to different formats which is absolutely fine. But I would hate to see him change his game again to become a better shorter format player but lose his test form. Doesn't hurt for once to admit that Vijay's selection is wrong. So, is IPL performance to be considered or not? What's the consensus! :dontknow:
saneindian Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 So' date=' is IPL performance to be considered or not? What's the consensus! :dontknow:[/quote'] No one should be picked 'exclusively' on IPL performance. Thats why I mentioned IPL performance as the 3rd factor behind Dhawan's selection, first two being his rapid debut 100 and an excellent List A record. Very similar to DK's case. Good domestic season, 5 back to back List A 50s, good IPL form, hence no issues with his selection.
Crookbond Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 No one should be picked 'exclusively' on IPL performance. Thats why I mentioned IPL performance as the 3rd factor behind Dhawan's selection, first two being his rapid debut 100 and an excellent List A record. Very similar to DK's case. Good domestic season, 5 back to back List A 50s, good IPL form, hence no issues with his selection. OK - So, it should be considered but not be the sole deciding factor according to you? Fair enough, I just want to understand where you come from. I am not aware of Murali Vijay's domestic season and List A record or recent List A knocks. What are they?
zakk Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 CSK Part-3 :(( kya kare ab jo bhi hai support karna padega
kubrickian Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 Not selecting Pujara is a blunder. I dont care if he doesnt play other ODIs but he should at least play Champions Trophy and World Cup. He is one of the technically correct batsmen with a good temperament and good shot making ability. He has a great List A record too. If its just fitness issues that's keeping him out, its too harsh. If its about that A tour to SA, let it be known that facing some domestic SA bowlers and playing Steyn, Morkel, Philander is a different kettle of fish. The A tour experience doesnt necessarily translate to performing well in test series.
Raghav_12 Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 Probably only good decision is selection of BettleLeafSeller's in team. He's rightly been given a place in team. I hope he's given chance in test team as well.
Sooda Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 Pujara is injured, how can it be harsh if its fitness issues keeping him out. We dont want to make the injury worse, and yes India A tour of SA is better for his development than the CT
Sooda Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 OK - So, it should be considered but not be the sole deciding factor according to you? Fair enough, I just want to understand where you come from. I am not aware of Murali Vijay's domestic season and List A record or recent List A knocks. What are they? He has a good List A record- 40+ average and has done well in T20 cricket. however historically not quite cut it in ODIs, and as has been pointed out does not change formats well. Its important that he stays in 'test mode' as far as possible so as to not lose his rediscovered tightness. I would have liked Rahane to go instead, he desvers more oppos
kubrickian Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 Pujara is injured' date=' how can it be harsh if its fitness issues keeping him out. We dont want to make the injury worse, and yes India A tour of SA is better for his development than the CT[/quote'] He is back practicing and he may play for RCB in the remaining games. Its only an injury to his finger. But I think his overall fitness and knee operation may have factored in keeping him out of the ODI squad.
kubrickian Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 No one should be picked 'exclusively' on IPL performance. Thats why I mentioned IPL performance as the 3rd factor behind Dhawan's selection, first two being his rapid debut 100 and an excellent List A record. Very similar to DK's case. Good domestic season, 5 back to back List A 50s, good IPL form, hence no issues with his selection. Nobody should be criticized based on IPL performance either. But I see people saying this also refer to some failures in IPL that a player is not good enough to play ODIs. Hypocrisy at its best.
rajmarie Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 He is back practicing and he may play for RCB in the remaining games. Its only an injury to his finger. But I think his overall fitness and knee operation may have factored in keeping him out of the ODI squad. Injury to finger....as I read it was fractured. So recovery takes time. & I agree...its better for him to recover fully & continue to get fit for India's future Test series in SA. I think the selectors have made some bold decision. Its about time that the selectors start thinking abt Indian team combination for WC 2015. This squad so make sense from that prespective...with also sending the signal that past reputation will count for nothing if a player dont perform consistently.
CG Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 He has a good List A record- 40+ average and has done well in T20 cricket. however historically not quite cut it in ODIs' date=' and as has been pointed out does not change formats well.[b'] Its important that he stays in 'test mode' as far as possible so as to not lose his rediscovered tightness. I would have liked Rahane to go instead, he desvers more oppos :hysterical: He was always tight in india.The moment he steps abroad he becomes loose.
Straight Drive Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 Having seen Murali Vijay's non existence footwork when he was dismissed yesterday, i guess he will struggle in England in bowler friendly conditions with two new balls rule.
King Tendulkar Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 Pujara is injured' date=' how can it be harsh if its fitness issues keeping him out. We dont want to make the injury worse, and yes India A tour of SA is better for his development than the CT[/quote'] Playes today and scores 50 at sr of over 100. Fit and should be picked
maniac Posted May 6, 2013 Posted May 6, 2013 On a Flat deck when Gayle and AB were going ballistic scores a run a ball 50....not the greatest of benchmark but still will say better than VJ....but should never play T20I