Delhi Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport has been named the world’s second best airport

the airport is actually very good. May not be 2nd best in the world but its certainly among the top 5.
haan painting aur denting bahut acha kiya hai..aur flight se utar ke bus me bhi nai jaana padta hai..waise to har airport me ek din ke baarish se paani bhar jaata hoga.. beshtesht airport hai apna dilli ka :giggle:
the international terminal is still best' date= most domestic terminals are rubbish everywhere.
It was the first day of monsoon and one of the worst affected was the IGI airport. Four hours of heavy rain resulted in massive waterlogging both inside and outside the domestic terminal at T3 and inside the IGI airport Metro station, leading not just to passenger inconvenience but also in some delayed flights on Sunday.
Delhi airport is very accessible; easily reachable and excellent transportation + parking services so driving to it or taking cab (preferred) no problem of course like any other big city it all depends on traffic
I think it is connected by metro unlike hyd and bangalore.
The airport metro service was deemed unsafe was shut down for about 6 months from July 2012 - January 2013 after cracks were observed on the corridor. Once opened up the trains were running at a reduced speed of 50 kmph than the original 105 kmph.

Some of the people can't hide their glee on the news of waterlogging on IGI airport. However, one such incident doesn't prove anything conclusively. It is minor incident and such incidents happen after first monsoon rains which reached very much ahead of schedule. I am sure this problem will be fixed soon and it can't take anything away from the fact that Delhi airport is one of the best in world.

Some of the people can't hide their glee on the news of waterlogging on IGI airport. However' date=' one such incident doesn't prove anything conclusively. It is minor incident and such incidents happen after first monsoon rains which reached very much ahead of schedule. I am sure this problem will be fixed soon and it can't take anything away from the fact that Delhi airport is one of the best in world.[/quote'] 2.6 billion odd dollars for a new terminal and the place turns into a swimming pool at the outset of monsoon rains. gallery3.jpg Words fail me.
Some of the people can't hide their glee on the news of waterlogging on IGI airport. However' date=' one such incident doesn't prove anything conclusively. It is minor incident and such incidents happen after first monsoon rains which reached very much ahead of schedule. I am sure this problem will be fixed soon and it can't take anything away from the fact that Delhi airport is one of the best in world.[/quote'] this is an embarrassing moment for IGI and whoever planned the airport deserves some raspberry award .. you dont find your airport flooded unless some tsunami arrives :--D

Phew, Desi Cartman was right! There are some things to understand about these rankings. There are many categories in the Airport Council International prizes and one of the categories is "by size". In this category there are further sub categories and one of the sub-category of 25-40 M passengers New Delhi is the 2nd and Mumbai is the 3rd. So, to summarize the New Delhi is 2nd and Mumbai is 3rd in the size category and 25-40M sub-category. The Hyderabad airport is 2nd in the 2-5M and 5-15 M size category. New Delhi is the 4th best in the Asia-Pacific region of the "Best Airport". http://www.aci.aero/Airport-Service-Quality/ASQ-Awards/2012-Winners/Best-Airport-By-Size/25-40m In another rankings, Heathrow - Changi - Beijing are rated as Top 1-2-3 by customers across the globe. In these rankings, no Indian airpot features in the Top 10 best by region (Asia-Pacific) or size. http://www.worldairportawards.com/Awards_2012/terminal.htm I think in terms of Asia-Pacific one can safely consider Seoul, Changi and Beijing/Hong Kong as the best airports. I don't think any airport in India is worth Top 3 in Asia itself forget the world.

^ DM your zeal to discredit Delhi of something which has been accorded by international community is outstanding. Keep it Up. Please don't take it personally, but you have have really gone distance to find chinks in Delhi's claim.:hatsoff:

^ DM your zeal to discredit Delhi of something which has been accorded by international community is outstanding. Keep it Up. Please don't take it personally' date=' but you have have really gone distance to find chinks in Delhi's claim.:hatsoff:[/quote'] Hats off to him. Question everything I say! Absolutely no reason to blindly believe everything the government spouts.