Swing_n_Speed Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 Anyone here keeping track of the Snowden saga? Edward Snowden seeks asylum in 20 nations, but gets no immediate takers. We much expected Western countries to gang together. But what's the deal with India? Cannot we offer him temporary reprieve? More-so after Shivshankar Menon raised the alarm on the NSA? http://www.timesnow.tv/NSA-Shivshankar-Menon-raises-alarm/videoshow/4431104.cms. So what's the deal with our government? Can't we act tough for once? India aside the relative spinelessness of most other countries makes it more than obvious that USA runs the world. The brazen high-handedness in the diversion of the Bolivian presidents plane was shocking. http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jul/03/edward-snowden-asylum-live http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/us/venezuela-looking-like-whistleblower-s-last-hope-1.1450301 http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-202_162-57591909/edward-snowden-seeks-asylum-in-20-nations-but-gets-no-immediate-takers/ With every passing second USA is loosing more and more credibility!
Crookbond Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 Please read : Text of a July 2, 2013, letter to Edward Snowden from his father and father’s attorney http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/text-of-a-july-2-2013-letter-to-edward-snowden-from-his-father-and-fathers-attorney/2013/07/02/e62ff87e-e350-11e2-bffd-37a36ddab820_story.html
Sachin=GOD Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 its foolish to even expect this Govt. to do anything like that.
CG Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 KGB Will milk snowden and flip him .Hope he gets asylum as he did a brave thing .
beetle Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 All parties are together trying to keep political parties out of RTI purview. We have enough here to fight for. Far more important stuff to do than this.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 We gave asylum to Dalai Lama and now we cant give asylum to Snowden.Anyways this govt. is so spineless that they would hand over our own citizens if someone asks.
CG Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 We gave asylum to Dalai Lama and now we cant give asylum to Snowden.Anyways this govt. is so spineless that they would hand over our own citizens if someone asks. They escorted the union carbide officials outside country.
Crookbond Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 You expected the Indian government to do something? They don't even have problem with US intel snooping in. US was snooping on Indian embassy, Khurshid says no big deal http://www.firstpost.com/world/us-was-snooping-on-indian-embassy-khurshid-says-no-big-deal-920693.html “I don’t think we should be raising it to such a high level.. that it becomes a matter of serious question,” Khurshid was reported as saying by CNN-IBN. He said that there were issues that they had discussed in passing during US Secretary of State John Kerry’s recent visit to India. “But it wasn’t something that would stall everything else that we were discussing. It’s an issue, another issue that will be treated on merits,” Khurshid said.
CG Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 You expected the Indian government to do something? They don't even have problem with US intel snooping in. US was snooping on Indian embassy, Khurshid says no big deal http://www.firstpost.com/world/us-was-snooping-on-indian-embassy-khurshid-says-no-big-deal-920693.html Khursid is a moron.He thinks china is our ally and now this .
Malcolm Merlyn Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 They escorted the union carbide officials outside country. Kangress ki mahima hai yeh sab.
Crookbond Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 We gave asylum to Dalai Lama and now we cant give asylum to Snowden.Anyways this govt. is so spineless that they would hand over our own citizens if someone asks. You can't be kidding me by equating those two personalities. Non-central fallacy, really.
Clarke Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 This fight isn't worth it. Lets first start poking in the eyes of our neighbors that mess with us on a regular basis before we play these games with big daddy.
Swing_n_Speed Posted July 3, 2013 Author Posted July 3, 2013 You expected the Indian government to do something? They don't even have problem with US intel snooping in. US was snooping on Indian embassy, Khurshid says no big deal http://www.firstpost.com/world/us-was-snooping-on-indian-embassy-khurshid-says-no-big-deal-920693.html Exactly. This is precisely why we need to take a stand. And this time round we have 38 other countries. If only these 38 countries could just gang together and tell US to 'F-off'. The US has not so much as even apologized! Offcourse considering all the dirt US intel has on our politicos I doubt we will ever take a stand against them.
Muloghonto Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 Unwarranted nationalistic pride aside, Khurshid is 100% correct. The best outcome for India in foreign relations and diplomacy, for now and for atleast the next 10 years, is to learn from the Japanese on how to become US chamcha #1. Trying to be 'strong & independent India who gives US and everyone else the middle finger' will do wonders to puff up our egos but it will do far more to isolate India and keep us stuck as a 3rd rate power.
Swing_n_Speed Posted July 3, 2013 Author Posted July 3, 2013 Unwarranted nationalistic pride aside' date=' Khurshid is 100% correct. The best outcome for India in foreign relations and diplomacy, for now and for atleast the next 10 years, is to learn from the Japanese on how to become US chamcha #1. Trying to be 'strong & independent India who gives US and everyone else the middle finger' will do wonders to puff up our egos but it will do far more to isolate India and keep us stuck as a 3rd rate power.[/quote'] Ahaa yes after all what is India but an itsy bitsy country of a few million,most uneducated and never traveled outside their own borders. We can't do squat so let's take all the crap Amrika flings at us with open arms. It's for our own good you see!
Muloghonto Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 Ahaa yes after all what is India but an itsy bitsy country of a few million' date='most uneducated and never traveled outside their own borders. We can't do squat so let's take all the crap Amrika flings at us with open arms. It's for our own good you see![/quote'] Ever head of how to keep low, side with the 'lesser of the two evil bullys in the streets' till you grow up and can hold your own ? India is in the same boat. We cannot afford to alienate the West in strategic-military concerns because Russia is no longer exclusively motivated by geo-politican gain like in the Soviet era, instead they are the biggest WalMart of the world: show them the money, they will cater to you. Currently the biggest hush-hush political move in the background is the set-up of a Pacific NATO to contain China. China is extremely peeved off about this and its a matter of when, not if, nations like Australia, Japan, S.Korea & Vietnam form a military alliance against China, all with Uncle Sam's backing. India *needs* to join that club when it arises and India is interested in it- but we sure canot do it while pissing in Uncle Sam's cornflakes. Currently we are incapable of dealing with the extremism threat from Pakistan, nevermind one coutnry over in Afghanistan. We are incapable of dealing with the Chinese and the Russians arnt keeners on triggering a weapons race between China and itself. So what are our options ? To hobnob with Uncle Sam. That is what we are doing, that is what we need to do for another half a century before our economy & technology catches up to challenge China's huge production edge over us.
Swing_n_Speed Posted July 3, 2013 Author Posted July 3, 2013 Ever head of how to keep low, side with the 'lesser of the two evil bullys in the streets' till you grow up and can hold your own ? India is in the same boat. We cannot afford to alienate the West in strategic-military concerns because Russia is no longer exclusively motivated by geo-politican gain like in the Soviet era, instead they are the biggest WalMart of the world: show them the money, they will cater to you. Currently the biggest hush-hush political move in the background is the set-up of a Pacific NATO to contain China. China is extremely peeved off about this and its a matter of when, not if, nations like Australia, Japan, S.Korea & Vietnam form a military alliance against China, all with Uncle Sam's backing. India *needs* to join that club when it arises and India is interested in it- but we sure canot do it while pissing in Uncle Sam's cornflakes. Currently we are incapable of dealing with the extremism threat from Pakistan, nevermind one coutnry over in Afghanistan. We are incapable of dealing with the Chinese and the Russians arnt keeners on triggering a weapons race between China and itself. So what are our options ? To hobnob with Uncle Sam. That is what we are doing, that is what we need to do for another half a century before our economy & technology catches up to challenge China's huge production edge over us. Let's keep things in perspective. We're not talking about starting a war.This is about Edward Snowden a whistle-blower. This is about taking a stand. Yes we still are American allies no doubt, but on this issue it is acceptable to put our foot down. We were freaking spied on mate with not so much as an apology from the Americans. Send the message across that there are certain lines which America dare not cross. As far as Snowden is concerned grant him refuge until he gets things in order with his final destination most likely to be Venezuela. In doing so we will have proved to the word that yes we do stand for freedom and we also send a subtle message to America that we are not to be pushed around.
Muloghonto Posted July 3, 2013 Posted July 3, 2013 Let's keep things in perspective. We're not talking about starting a war.This is about Edward Snowden a whistle-blower. This is about taking a stand. Yes we still are American allies no doubt' date= but on this issue it is acceptable to put our foot down. We were freaking spied on mate with not so much as an apology from the Americans. Send the message across that there are certain lines which America dare not cross. As far as Snowden is concerned grant him refuge until he gets things in order with his final destination most likely to be Venezuela. In doing so we will have proved to the word that yes we do stand for freedom and we also send a subtle message to America that we are not to be pushed around. 1. There are no such lines that America wont cross. It is the indisputed military & economic super-power in the world, to a level no nation has ever accomplished before. India trying to send a message that there be boundaries with America is akin to a a goat trying to convince a lion that there be certain boundaries. There are none. 2. If we give assylum to Snowden, America will probably 'offer' to give assylum to half of RAW personnel with 'maintanance packages' that are 5x the current salaries being paid. Will cost America less than 1% of CIA budget, will result in total crippling of the Indian intelligence services. How is that a good possibility? 3. Only country currently that can dictate some sort of boundaries to America is China and that is because China is America's factory. Nobody else is in a position to send any message to the Americans without incurring 10x the penalty in return. There is nothing to do but be the puny little brother who takes order from an abusive older brother because the older brother is still better than the other neighbourhood bullies and the younger brother is still too weak.