Confessions Of... A Flight Attendant

fineleg

Career options for Indian students

Wow ! How much i can relate with that.. This was REAL conversation between me and my Dad a couple of weeks ago. .. Dad : But Son , no one would marry a guy who did just B.A. Everyone is asking for a B.E , M.S Me : This is ridiculous , am i studying for myself or for my wife ? ( Slams the phone hard)
Not very hard to imagine that sort of conversation. Probably many Indian kids have had the parents playing the hand in telling them what degree to study and even which college to go to. (not with bad intentions, its all "good intentions"...but there are side effects) Actually, parents even try that to ABCD kids, but just that ABCD many times will show the finger if pushed too hard By the way, did you actually do the "( Slams the phone hard)" :haha: I have done that as well :D (not for the same situation though) PS: Nitpicking, what is the difference between "Engineering" and "IT"...all anyway techie :dance:

Not very hard to imagine that sort of conversation. Probably many Indian kids have had the parents playing the hand in telling them what degree to study and even which college to go to. (not with bad intentions, its all "good intentions"...but there are side effects) Actually, parents even try that to ABCD kids, but just that ABCD many times will show the finger if pushed too hard.
That is so true. My friend had BOTH his undergrad and grad school and degree shortlisted and selected by his family. But to be fair to my parents , they have no clue what i did in my UG or PG. I guess they were just very glad their son was spending his youth "studying" rather than running uselessly behind girls. :D
By the way, did you actually do the "( Slams the phone hard)" :haha: I have done that as well :D (not for the same situation though)
Come to think of it , none of can actually slam a phone at all , coz all of us use cell phones. That was just to build up the atmosphere of the conversation.
PS: Nitpicking, what is the difference between "Engineering" and "IT"...all anyway techie :dance:
Good question , but i think IT is a good merge between Engineering and management. A good way to start.

That is so true. My friend had BOTH his undergrad and grad school and degree shortlisted and selected by his family. But to be fair to my parents , they have no clue what i did in my UG or PG. I guess they were just very glad their son was spending his youth "studying" rather than running uselessly behind girls. :D
LOL :haha:
Good question , but i think IT is a good merge between Engineering and management. A good way to start.
By Engineering and IT, did you mean computer engineering and IT, or did you mean like mechanical or aero engg and IT (there you go... "like" your fav phrase) Coz with the latter there is a big difference in engg and IT, with the former(computers) not much - sure IT is more soft and mushier than engg :D (if u can call it mushy)

Dad : But Son , no one would marry a guy who did just B.A. Everyone is asking for a B.E , M.S :hysterical::hysterical:...that is so cuteeeeee! Don't worry sriram...for all the hardwork you put in...you will be rewarded with the girl of your dreams..(first selected and approved by mummy and papaji:P)

Dad : But Son ' date= no one would marry a guy who did just B.A. Everyone is asking for a B.E , M.S :hysterical::hysterical:...that is so cuteeeeee! Don't worry sriram...for all the hardwork you put in...you will be rewarded with the girl of your dreams..(first selected and approved by mummy and papaji:P)
:haha:

Girl of dreams mil jayegi fir sapane mein kya karega ghas chhilega.. Nobody sud get their girl of dreams, soncho yaar ur dreams will lose its meaning

I can understand that Masters will be good icing on the cake for the marriage cow trading market....but what is the difference between B.E and B.A as far as marriage market is concerned? I mean both are university degrees so as far as I am concerned they are exactly same. B.E takes 3-4 years to do just like B.A in UK and both are university degrees. Indian people get married for so many wrong reasons! I had 5% respect for arranged marriage but as I get older it has fallen to <1% :hysterical: I personally know so many high flying Indians who are all divorced or in really shitty marriages. Their parents thought that big degree would = big chance of happy married life :omg_smile: I think I am going to start a thread on arranged marriage so you can all attack me:finger:

I can understand that Masters will be good icing on the cake for the marriage cow trading market....but what is the difference between B.E and B.A as far as marriage market is concerned? I mean both are university degrees so as far as I am concerned they are exactly same. B.E takes 3-4 years to do just like B.A in UK and both are university degrees.
In India (which is where mm's dad is living in and hence his opinion is limited to India I presume), a BA degree will be good enough barely as a wipe. A BE degree will probably get you a job in some good company via campus interviews, etc.

I can understand that Masters will be good icing on the cake for the marriage cow trading market....but what is the difference between B.E and B.A as far as marriage market is concerned? I mean both are university degrees so as far as I am concerned they are exactly same. B.E takes 3-4 years to do just like B.A in UK and both are university degrees. Indian people get married for so many wrong reasons! I had 5% respect for arranged marriage but as I get older it has fallen to <1% I personally know so many high flying Indians who are all divorced or in really shitty marriages. Their parents thought that big degree would = big chance of happy married life I think I am going to start a thread on arranged marriage so you can all attack me
GKD, Have you lived in India? (sorry, i'm "relatively new" to this icf, so dont know if u've posted abt this before?) The reason I ask is, in India B.A. is considered as a useless degree. (I'm not saying it is useless, but many consider it like that). Very prevalent opinion, despite the fact that it may be a misconception. And go ahead, start that thread that you are talking about. Will be interesting :D

Fineleg I was not there long enough thankfully :haha: I know the mentality very well though. It was just bit of a sad reminder that the marriage market has become so specialized that even within university degrees there is so much caste discrimination :hysterical: So a UK university graduate who has BA in architecture is worthless in the lofty eyes of some Indian parents :finger: So a message to such parents---> I don't want your daughters. You can keep them (I probably already had them without marriage) :hysterical:

Fineleg I was not there long enough thankfully :haha: I know the mentality very well though. It was just bit of a sad reminder that the marriage market has become so specialized that even within university degrees there is so much caste discrimination :hysterical: So a UK university graduate who has BA in architecture is worthless in the lofty eyes of some Indian parents So a message to such parents---> I don't want your daughters. You can keep them (I probably already had them without marriage) :hysterical:
It is no different in the West :finger: Simply put a BE guy gets bigger bucks than a BA guy, unless he/she is a lawyer or an economist or something like that. Essentially the A part of BA, that is Arts, is relegated to History, Music, Humanities and so on. And people who specialise in these fields do not make as much money as a Science major does. Of course if they switch the line thats a different story. xx

So a UK university graduate who has BA in architecture is worthless in the lofty eyes of some Indian parents :finger:
The problem is the precedent that's set from school. Almost all smarter folks go into sciences, the average go into commerce, and the duds into arts. B.A. = bachelor of arts is therefore considered a vehla degree (the lowest in the rung), as ppl associate the guys/girls who do it as hedonistic lafangas with nothing better to do in life. Ppl who do commerce, were initially not looked upon very favorably either, but that's changing a bit with the MBA boom, but still you will find that most of the brilliant students from school do an Engineering Degree first and then an MBA. The reason is very weird, as ppl consider: - BE degree > BBA degree at the bachelors level. - MBA degree > ME degree at the masters level. It's all very convoluted, and most brainy ppl just choose to do whatever is the most "reputable" at the time and for the situation that they're in. The "reputability" of the course they do is driven by the money that the degree will provide them. Such "investment-oriented" decisions are obviously heavily influenced by parents rather than the kid himself. Hardly any attention is paid to the kid's interest in the subject that they are studying/planning to study. "If Interest isn't there, it will come if the kid is smart enough" is the attitude.

In India (which is where mm's dad is living in and hence his opinion is limited to India I presume)' date=' a BA degree will be good enough barely as a wipe. A BE degree will probably get you a job in some good company via campus interviews, etc.[/quote'] A B.E degree was considered prestigious 4-5 years ago , but now with so many engineering colleges mushrooming all over India and so many students pursuing engineering , its almost become like a high-school qualification. You have to be supremely confident in your abilities in an alternative field or extremely rebellious to stand up to your parents and say that you are going to pursue an alternative line of speciliasation. At 17 though , i dont know how many can be clear enough to take those decisions. So , ultimately all of us end up taking the beaten path. And the irony with job placements is that , the IT job market is SO hot that the companies are now going to even arts colleges to recruit students. So , an arts student who spent 50,000 rupess for his entire degree is now getting the same job as an Engineering student who might have paid lakhs of rupess for his engineering degree. And even the IT recruitment process is a joke now. All of us had more than one job even before our final year. There was this really funny incident where one of my friend had one company interview scheduled during the initial screening test of another company. So , i wrote the test for him and he ended up getting both the jobs. I now realize that it wasnt such an ethical thing to do but the incident just goes on show how flawed all these recruiting procedures are.

And the irony with job placements is that , the IT job market is SO hot that the companies are now going to even arts colleges to recruit students. So , an arts student who spent 50,000 rupess for his entire degree is now getting the same job as an Engineering student who might have paid lakhs of rupess for his engineering degree.
True Sriram. But truth be told you dont really need to study Engineering to succeed in IT. It may help on some levels, if you come from Electronics background for example, but otherwise it doesnt matter really. I mean I am an Engineer but the first time I touched a computer was at my job. I bet there are a lot of Arts/Commerce students who would be more computer literate than I was at their age. xxx

It is no different in the West :finger: Simply put a BE guy gets bigger bucks than a BA guy, unless he/she is a lawyer or an economist or something like that. Essentially the A part of BA, that is Arts, is relegated to History, Music, Humanities and so on. And people who specialise in these fields do not make as much money as a Science major does. Of course if they switch the line thats a different story. xx
Yeah but who screws the most and gets the hottest chicks? Yes the lafangas! :finger: Come on Lurky $$$ is not everything. I personally would prefer the company of an arty person to a one tracked boring engineer :tounge_smile: Engineers are some of the most boring people I have ever met so don't even try to argue :D
The problem is the precedent that's set from school. Almost all smarter folks go into sciences, the average go into commerce, and the duds into arts.
Ouuch! So your photographer friend is a dud? :hysterical: Not all smart people want to go into science. Anyway what is smart? I personally think that a guy who lives his life to the max and has fun is smarter than a book worm :D Thanks for the very good explanation though :two_thumbs_up: Makes sense and i will definitely stay away from India :hysterical:

True Sriram. But truth be told you dont really need to study Engineering to succeed in IT. It may help on some levels, if you come from Electronics background for example, but otherwise it doesnt matter really. I mean I am an Engineer but the first time I touched a computer was at my job. I bet there are a lot of Arts/Commerce students who would be more computer literate than I was at their age. xxx
Lurks , i have always personallly felt that the true purpose of education is to train your mind to think , apply knowledge when required. A good arts student will be shine even in an engineering project, even though it might take some time for him to catch up with what is going on. Even the companies look out for students who can easily grasp concepts. I went through a full interview for an IT job without a single computer/computer based question asked of me. Those guys were interested on my views on Indian politics , some high school physics and friendly chatter.

Yeah but who screws the most and gets the hottest chicks? Yes the lafangas! :finger: Come on Lurky $$$ is not everything. I personally would prefer the company of an arty person to a one tracked boring engineer :tounge_smile: Engineers are some of the most boring people I have ever met so don't even try to argue :D
Screwing around has little to do with what stream of college you go to :tounge_smile: If you are confident and outgoing you can get all the a$$ you want GKD :tounge_smile: Plus you are confusing West with India. In India if a guy is good in studies he is not considered a nerd, he gets quite an attention really. I do agree with you that $$ isnt everything. Heck all these false love for Science has essentially made Arts and Humanities redundant. People seem to be happy dealing with numbers than emotions these days and it progressively gets worse. As for complains about Engineers you can kiss my :bootyshake:

Ouuch! So your photographer friend is a dud? :hysterical: Not all smart people want to go into science. Anyway what is smart? I personally think that a guy who lives his life to the max and has fun is smarter than a book worm :D
My photographer friend is actually my cousin, and yeah he never scored high in academics. Him and his bro (with cameos on the bass from me) even tried a band :haha: I didn't mean to be denigrating in my previous post btw, and might have forgotten to put quotes around "smart". What is smart at a school in India ? The kids who score the highest marks. And as I said not all, but almost all of the higher-scoring kids go into sciences in India. You must understand the motivation behind educating a child in a 3rd-world country. Since the parents have so much say in it, they generally want the kid to get into a field that will be a "good investment" financially rather than say shaping the kid's personality.