Maniac, you've completely misunderstood my point. I never claimed that India is the 'greatest' country. We've far too many issues- economic, societal and religious before we can hope to make such a claim. Having said that, I would never stay in any other nation than India. Visit maybe, but never migrate. I'll share with you an excerpt from Iqbal's Saare Jahan se Accha, which best encapsulates my views on the topic:

Gurbat mein ho agar hum, rehta hai dil watan mein samjho wahein humein bhi, dil ho jahan hamara
I only took umbrage to you calling USA the greatest nation, in a thread that had to do with Indian independence. :confused:
There was atleast some payoff there,A tyrant like Saddam got what was coming to him.Let's stick to the basic reasoning for that for now-"Intelligence failure" What is the payoff for us for 26/11 and other attacks that followed.... we have an intelligence beaurau on paper but is there an actual office with any employees in there? What are your basic security rights as a citizen?Do people even get compensated if something happens to them in these blasts?Yeah on paper....good luck going through the red tape on that. People say we are better than Pak,SL etc.....Just because our Living room is messy,we don't comfort ourselves saying that it is better than the toilet
Removing a tyrant? Really? Saddam wasn't your tyrant. He was an Iraqi tyrant. What gives the US the right to depose him? This excuse is all the more amusing given that it was the US which propped him up for nearly a decade before it deposed him. And this talk seems really loose, given that the US has propped up tyrannical military dictatorships/monarchies in Bahrain and Egypt, Iran (the erstwhile Shah) and many other places. I'm sure there are many more such examples, maybe Ravish or someone who is more aware of these examples than I can tell you about. Which tyrant was being napalmed in the paddy fields of Vietnam? The tyrannical swarm of locusts terrorizing the rice paddy plantations?
Maniac, you've completely misunderstood my point. I never claimed that India is the 'greatest' country. We've far too many issues- economic, societal and religious before we can hope to make such a claim. Having said that, I would never stay in any other nation than India. Visit maybe, but never migrate. I'll share with you an excerpt from Iqbal's Saare Jahan se Accha, which best encapsulates my views on the topic: I only took umbrage to you calling USA the greatest nation, in a thread that had to do with Indian independence. :confused: Removing a tyrant? Really? Saddam wasn't your tyrant. He was an Iraqi tyrant. What gives the US the right to depose him? This excuse is all the more amusing given that it was the US which propped him up for nearly a decade before it deposed him. And this talk seems really loose, given that the US has propped up tyrannical military dictatorships/monarchies in Bahrain and Egypt, Iran (the erstwhile Shah) and many other places. I'm sure there are many more such examples, maybe Ravish or someone who is more aware of these examples than I can tell you about. Which tyrant was being napalmed in the paddy fields of Vietnam? The tyrannical swarm of locusts terrorizing the rice paddy plantations?
Mariyam....The stuff I said about Bush,etc was just a troll post. As far as me bringing up U.S and any other western country in a post related to independence was solely because I personally feel that the rights of the individuals residing in these countries(citizens or not) are better protected than in India.SO I personally feel that there is nothing to be proud about our independence. If Independence is just looked as a Bank-Holiday,A day people can spend time with their families,etc that's cool,But celebrating this as a day we were liberated was just questioned by me. Now I don't even want this to make a debate about foregin policy of any country.Hope that clears up. PS-I am an Indian Citizen...Do I want India to be the greatest country in the world-Yes I do. But is it the greatest country in the world currently-Debatable as per my previous points. Hope that clears up any misunderstanding to my posts.