The Outsider Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Sorry' date=' come again? [b']Bodyguard and Ready has a fantastic plot but this you term as a ' piece of crap ' ? Your sarcasm and troll detection meter is broken. I haven't even watched either of those movies. :winky: And yeah, Lagaan was a piece of crap. Anyhow, the comparison is not between Lagaan and Bodyguard/Ready but between Lagaan and Monsoon Wedding.
trundlerNO1 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 LOL! If Aamir Khan had not played politics to get that piece of crap in the Oscars' date=' Monsoon Wedding would have already been the first Indian movie to win the Oscar.[/quote'] That your personal opinion, not any fact ok that Monsoon Wedding was better than Lagaan and Lagaan is crap. Majority people have loved this film, so few people disliking like you won't make this film a crap. It came second to the film that won the oscar by a very small margin , so it pretty much deserves this nomination. Many people thought it was better film than No Man's Land( A Bosnian film)
SLICKR392 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 It was no crap, IMO. But ****ing overrated and Aamir is known to push his movies for Oscar, worthy or not. Peepli Live's director had rightly rejected the offer of Aamir to send her movie for Oscar nominations. As Yoda stated on the movies thread, any decent/good movies that has released in the past decade is hyped and overrated by our audience. Lagaan was not crap but overrated but 'in my opinion', 3 Idiots was pure bull crap. Written by a noob author and directed it into a lame movie.
The Outsider Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 That your personal opinion, not any fact ok that Monsoon Wedding was better than Lagaan and Lagaan is crap. Majority people have loved this film, so few people disliking like you won't make this film a crap. It came second to the film that won the oscar by a very small margin , so it pretty much deserves this nomination. Many people thought it was better film than No Man's Land( A Bosnian film) Not being sarcastic, but are the votes and winning margins made public - I don't follow the Oscars or movies in general very closely, so don't know. Better or worse is a personal opinion, but I was in Berkeley at that time and Monsoon Wedding ran for 10+ weeks straight in an American theater in Albany, which is the town right next to Berkeley - I can vouch for it because I used to bike that route everyday. Given that kind of response and all Americans I know who have watched the movie, I am pretty sure it would have won the Oscar.
trundlerNO1 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 3idiot was overrated by our audience?, well it did work in Japan, China and Turkey where they don't know bull about BW.
trundlerNO1 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Not being sarcastic, but are the votes and winning margins made public - I don't follow the Oscars or movies in general very closely, so don't know. Better or worse is a personal opinion, but I was in Berkeley at that time and Monsoon Wedding ran for 10+ weeks straight in an American theater in Albany, which is the town right next to Berkeley - I can vouch for it because I used to bike that route everyday. Given that kind of response and all Americans I know who have watched the movie, I am pretty sure it would have won the Oscar. Yaar it lost Golden globe yaar , so no chance for Oscars
SLICKR392 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 3idiot was overrated by our audience?' date=' well it did work in Japan, Chaina, and Turkey where don't know bull about BW.[/quote'] Since when are Japan, China and Turkey the benchmarks to judge a good movie? Say 'all is well' to a lady while on her labour to get the new born to the world and she will probably smack the ****ing skull of those guys in the real world.
trundlerNO1 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Anyway let leave it I hope Lunchbox win the Oscars, I want Indian cinema to make us proud
The Outsider Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 It was no crap, IMO. But ****ing overrated and Aamir is known to push his movies for Oscar, worthy or not. Peepli Live's director had rightly rejected the offer of Aamir to send her movie for Oscar nominations. As Yoda stated on the movies thread, any decent/good movies that has released in the past decade is hyped and overrated by our audience. Lagaan was not crap but overrated but 'in my opinion', 3 Idiots was pure bull crap. Written by a noob author and directed it into a lame movie. Lagaan suffered from a huge colonial hangover, in trying to show the one upmanship of the desi over the gora and the audiences lapped it up. Not to mention the half dozen or so songs randomly placed, caricatures in place of characters for the Indian team, and the best of it all was the song sung by the "gori" - I was confused about whether to laugh or bang my head when I heard that. Agree on the 3 Idiots part.
The Outsider Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Yaar it lost Golden globe yaar ' date=' so no chance for Oscars[/quote'] So, you are saying that if a film does not win the Golden Globe it cannot win the Oscars? That's a weird logic. You didn't answer my question about the Oscar votes - is there a site to get that information?
trundlerNO1 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Since when are Japan, China and Turkey the benchmarks to judge a good movie? Say 'all is well' to a lady while on her labour to get the new born to the world and she will probably smack the ****ing skull of those guys in the real world. You said our audience overrates the film, not really. IT worked in those place, because it was really good. Otherwise why would it work there, when they don't even know about Aamir
trundlerNO1 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 So, you are saying that if a film does not win the Golden Globe it cannot win the Oscars? That's a weird logic. You didn't answer my question about the Oscar votes - is there a site to get that information? Let cut it, we would never know it Because it didn't make it :--D
The Outsider Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Let cut it, we would never know it Because it didn't make it :--D Sure, those are the bare facts, but I was making a judgment call based on how the movie was received in the US - try making your American friends watch Lagaan and Monsoon Wedding and you will see my point.
SLICKR392 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Anyway let leave it I hope iLunchbox win the Oscars, I want Indian cinema to make us proud There are cinemas in India that has chance in the Oscar but its not gonna happen because those bunch of 'Indian' juries who select the movies that has to be sent for the Oscars are a bunch of pr!cks. Barfi was picked over good Marathi, Bengali and other regional movies and even GOW, which was far better than something like Barfi.
SLICKR392 Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 You said our audience overrates the film, not really. IT worked in those place, because it was really good. Otherwise why would it work there, when they don't even know about Aamir You don't have to know an actor to watch a movie. It did run for a long time in India, din't it? It was my opinion, nevertheless but tell me what was so great about that movie. An engineer's struggle, parents forcing their kids or Ameer Khan and Kareena's presence in the movie with a bit of PJs? If it was such a great movies then so was the recently released '16'. It also had a lot to do the with current Indian society but without any top stars in it. Trust me, I found that much more believable that 3 Idiots.
punjabi_khota Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Khosla ka Ghosla type ki koi movie aaye to mazza aaye. Ya bheja fry.
Yoda-esque Posted September 5, 2013 Posted September 5, 2013 Bollywood is averag and shorn of ideas,regional movies are better