Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 I've seen enough of Vijay and know that he will fail overseas. I've seen enough from Rohit and Rahane that they will be successful at home and will be better overseas than mooli. let him fail first then drop.. your entire argument is based on what you think and not what is happening yeah vijay will def fail over seas and rahane and rohit will definitely succeed over seas .. while truth is vijay has not failed any where in tests yet ever since his come back and rahane and rohit have either not even debuted or failed in one or two chances they got even at home .. not to mention they are not even openers and this discussion is big waste of time!
G_B_ Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 yes i think vijay will fail overseas but to be fair he deserves his shot. If he does fail Rohit is not the answer. Will have to be a specialist opener I think Mukund needs to be retried.
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 yes i think vijay will fail overseas but to be fair he deserves his shot. If he does fail Rohit is not the answer. Will have to be a specialist opener I think Mukund needs to be retried. totally agree he might fail but he deserves his chance and is he is replaced then should be replaced by proper batsmen rohit too deserves chance at number 5 or 6 ..making him open is very unfair and if he fails it might destroy his career
SLICKR392 Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 and same can be done with vijay no ? and best part is he is already scoring runs in tests unlike the other 2 guys lets get facts straight vijay 1. he is an opener 2. he is already performing in tests and has great series against australia and was our best batsman ircc 3. has not failed even once after that and you guys know he will again perform against windies at home and are praying for him to fail now lets see rohit and rahane 1. they are not openers 2. they will play first time as openers in south africa with no experience 3. one of them have not even debuted and other has failed n his first test against same side while vijay bullied on so called pattas 4.in all toehr formats they have shown equal weaknesses against moving balls . in short you want settled player who is performing to drop and replace him by middle order batsmen who themselves have not proved anything ? sounds like lot of hate for one guy for no reason to me.. if there is one proper opener who he is blocking then please replace him right now but there is none and substitutes you are suggesting are temporary choice who are more comfortable at middle order and in long run will play at middle order no matter what they say to get in team. BTW opening in odis is different from tests..best examples..sachin and saurav :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up: Rohit is an opener now. He had a great series against a lame Aussie side and apart from scoring those runs it doesn't mean a lot. He's not failed even once? He was dancing in West Indies, 2011 Test along with Mukund and failed in the 1st Test here. Both Rahane and Rohit could open in Test but Rahane is most likely to be in the middle order. What did Vijay do playing in South Africa? He could barely bat and didn't cross 20 in both innings. Atleast Rohit has scored runs along with Rahane in this A tour and Rohit's got experience in SA playing LOIs. And when did you see Vijay hitting those classy fours against moving balls? Rahane got his chance out of the blue as he usually does on a wayward Kotla wicket whereas Vijay scored those runs in Kotla prior to those 2 100s which made him more comfy.
Laaloo Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Vijay has already failed. I hate going on statsguru but will have to prove my point. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/237095.html?class=1;template=results;type=allround averages 14 in South Africa albeit from one match but the management rightly dropped him. Averages a pathetic 12 from 3 tests in windies. I know for sure Vijay will fail overseas or even against good attacks at home. Hopefully the management knows better. Game.Set.Match
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Vijay has already failed. I hate going on statsguru but will have to prove my point. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/237095.html?class=1;template=results;type=allround averages 14 in South Africa albeit from one match but the management rightly dropped him. Averages a pathetic 12 from 3 tests in windies. I know for sure Vijay will fail overseas or even against good attacks at home. Hopefully the management knows better. Game.Set.Match pujara averaged even less in south africa that too while not opening kohli has similar series in west indies and i said ever since his come back ..
SLICKR392 Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 but they do not prove naything as rohit scored runs there before and still struggled in south africa they were tough conditions but totally different conditions form south africa delhi is tough track but in the end its nature is different from perth .. Wah !! Vijay scores 100s against a lame Aussie side on dust bowls and fails in SA and the recent A tour and its all good?
Laaloo Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 pujara averaged even less in south africa that too while not opening kohli has similar series in west indies and i said ever since his come back .. So you are comparing Pujara and kohli to Vijay now. You were right, this discussion is a waste of time. Pujara actually shows you something. The ability to grind it out against good attacks. Vijay looks like a sitting duck especially ever since he started playing IPL. I haven't been impressed by him since then.
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Rohit is an opener now. He had a great series against a lame Aussie side and apart from scoring those runs it doesn't mean a lot. He's not failed even once? He was dancing in West Indies, 2011 Test along with Mukund and failed in the 1st Test here. Both Rahane and Rohit could open in Test but Rahane is most likely to be in the middle order. What did Vijay do playing in South Africa? He could barely bat and didn't cross 20 in both innings. Atleast Rohit has scored runs along with Rahane in this A tour and Rohit's got experience in SA playing LOIs. And when did you see Vijay hitting those classy fours against moving balls? Rahane got his chance out of the blue as he usually does on a wayward Kotla wicket whereas Vijay scored those runs in Kotla prior to those 2 100s which made him more comfy. dude rohit is opener in odis...there is a huge difference .. and both have not opened for their ranji side for atleast 2 seasons now! now vijay was comfy maybe he s still comfy and maybe now he will score some runs for us this time because he is comfy? stop these ridiculous arguments trying to down play a test 100! and rohit was equally bad even in odis against tsotsobe and did pujara crossed 10 runs in that series in tests? based on 1-2 matches he is not even good enough to be in squad after making great comeback with 2 match winning 100's ? while rohit and rahane who are not even openers are good enough to replace him for no reason ? i don't rate any of these guys in swing conditons to be very honest but vijay deserves his fair chance and rohit and rahane deserve chance in middle order if its vacant and not opening the inning replacing an in form batsman .
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Wah !! Vijay scores 100s against a lame Aussie side on dust bowls and fails in SA and the recent A tour and its all good? wah! rahane could not even score runs against lame aussie side! kya logic hai!
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 So you are comparing Pujara and kohli to Vijay now. You were right, this discussion is a waste of time. Pujara actually shows you something. The ability to grind it out against good attacks. Vijay looks like a sitting duck especially ever since he started playing IPL. I haven't been impressed by him since then. who compared their potential ? compared their performance ..which is very similar and at exactly same time both debuted in same game against austrlaia and scored match winning 50's then both went to south africa and failed then both got 2nd chance at home and scored tons of runs ...sounds very similar to me .. obviously puajra is better batsman but if he deserves 2nd chance in south africa then so does vijay .
G_B_ Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 @laloo i hate vijay. Infact it was brain dead choosing him in the champs trophy but he needs to be given a chance. Yes he failed overseas and will probably cash in v WI before failing in SA but he need to ensure that we give people a chance. Best case scenario is he fails at home v Windies. That will give enough reason to axe him
G_B_ Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 and speaking of Rahane, He started his life as an opener which was the case for about his initial 20 odd ranji games. I am sure he can slot in at an opener. There is no issue of Rahane not slotting in as opener. He was an opener even in Kanga league cricket in mumbai.
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 and speaking of Rahane, He started his life as an opener which was the case for about his initial 20 odd ranji games. I am sure he can slot in at an opener. There is no issue of Rahane not slotting in as opener. He was an opener even in Kanga league cricket in mumbai. but he clearly prefers middle order why not be fair to him and give him chance there ? even last season he batted in middle order when mumbai needed an opener didn;t he ?
G_B_ Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 but he clearly prefers middle order why not be fair to him and give him chance there ? even last season he batted in middle order when mumbai needed an opener didn;t he ? not really. I think he was shunted down the order at mumbai originally because there were injuries in the middle order. so many times Dravid opened for India and did not complain. Rahane is an opener. He has always opened for mumbai in the limited overs as well. He has opened for his franchise. He has opened for a significant % of his ranji games. Now MSD does not see him as an opener is a big mistake. Not many openers in India cricket. Mukund is the only real option i can think of.
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 not really. I think he was shunted down the order at mumbai originally because there were injuries in the middle order. so many times Dravid opened for India and did not complain. Rahane is an opener. He has always opened for mumbai in the limited overs as well. He has opened for his franchise. He has opened for a significant % of his ranji games. Now MSD does not see him as an opener is a big mistake. Not many openers in India cricket. Mukund is the only real option i can think of. i don't really give a damn about opening in limited over cricket as its totally different thing and for some reason people are ignoring this obvious difference . and rahane opened for mumbai at start of his career and later on got middle order position and has been playing in middle order even with sachin and rohit both playing for mumbai and openers injured so its very clear that he is no longer considered as an opener even by his ranji side . now sehag wants middle order positon so he is batting (or was ) for delhi in middle order ..maybe rahane needs to do same wth mumbai ?
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Team to be picked on 31st October now. maybe now pandey will sneak in