We always thought that a common man who wants to join politics for the sake of serving people, could never make it and lose his way because politics is for bad people. We always thought without money, muscle power or without caste or nepotism, one cannot win an general elections. We always thought Aam admi ( common people) of India are fools, they trade vote for money, liquor etc ..We always thought politics is like a gambling, people vote for winning horse , so no new and clean parties can make their presence felt in our political system. We always thought people of India are stuck with feudal mindset, so they vote for big and rich personalities..We have been told that people vote for the candidates of their own community /caste etc, so persons whose caste is majority can win the election, so parties has no other option than fielding a majority caste candidate , however bad he is , to win the election. We always thought a party needs of thousands of corers to pay the party workers during election time, so parties without money power couldn't barely scratch the surface. Today all these long held beliefs have been shattered thanks to AAP's exceptional performance in Delhi elections. As well know AAP's candidates are normal people like you and me, they didn't have money , muscle or caste power..AAP didn't have crores of unaccounted money for a high pitched campaign..AAP didn't resort to caste politics or vote bank politics to garner votes. AAP didn't give big assurances to woo voters. They didn't bribe media people for paid news..They had to face disinformation campaign and cheap tactics from opposition parties..Yet they have garnered 21% vote share in Delhi today..They have won huge number of seats..They have beaten big names of opposition parties.. .even after pouring in thousands of crores and letting liquor flow all over Delhi, parties find themselves in a dock, quite not the return they might have expected for the kind of investment they had made over last couple of months. This has certainly shown the power of a man on the street. This shows Indian democracy is truly alive and vibrant..This is a tight slap for all those who doubted democracy and need an alternative system for the change. I dont know what AAP could achieve in the future, hopefully they will retain the faith of the voters. But this is a historic time in polity because it shatters the traditional soch , it brings a new hope to all those who wants to see the change in the political system..It shows change is within us, we are still part of the system and we can change the system. This needs to be replicated all over India..People of Delhi have gives us the belief, so rest of us should take it further and bring about the change. This victory of AAP needs to be celebrated, I dont see much of the celebration in the media..Its just that they seem to have surprised., but it is being treated as another victory. We are failing to recognize the impact it can make in our polity , if the last man of the country believes that he can change the system rather than being helpless.

Its easier for AAP for to do this type of politics in Delhi,.The real question is whether they will succeed outside India, particularly among farmers, rural caste base voters?

Its easier for AAP for to do this type of politics in Delhi' date='.The real question is whether they will succeed outside India, particularly among farmers, rural caste base voters?[/quote'] In UP more than 50% of candidates will die accidental death if AAP tries to fight in next assembly election from here. I think first of all they should target all the metropolitan and big cities before going to UP and Bihar.
In UP more than 50% of candidates will die accidental death if AAP tries to fight in next assembly election from here. I think first of all they should target all the metropolitan and big cities before going to UP and Bihar.
Deaths will bring more sympathy votes. they have a very strong presence in media.Tv channels are now reaching to rural people as well
Yes, its true but you need to have real gutsy martyrs to take on the likes of Raja Bhaiya, Pandit Singh, Yogi Adityanath, Mukhtar Ansari, Naresh Agarwal, Mukhtar Ansari, Hari Shanker Tiwari etc.
Yes' date=' its true but you need to have real gutsy martyrs to take on the likes of Raja Bhaiya, Pandit Singh, Yogi Adityanath, Mukhtar Ansari, Naresh Agarwal, Mukhtar Ansari, Hari Shanker Tiwari etc.[/quote'] People thought so about Delhi as well that you need muscle power, money power to win elections. AAP has broken that myth and that's why their victory is hugely significant. Romance may not last very long in this case but at least with AAP's success at least people can have mushy dreams of romance.
IMHO AAP is too much hot air and very less substance. They won't last long.
They are a better option than other political parties though. The thing is we don't appreciate when people take a stand and we complain when things stay as it is.
here's the thing - they haven't taken many stands. They've just been shouting and pointing fingers without giving any concrete plans as to how they would change the system and work for development if given a chance. Other may be impressed but I certainly am highly skeptic of AAP and I don't think it will last long.
At least you have been consistent in your attack against Kejriwal although you are made to eat humble pie many times :giggle:

Wat's AAP's ideology? Seems like they don't have anything clear for now. They are saying that they will borrow any ideology if it's good for people. I have serious doubt that they are not even clear on wat's good for people.

Well, I would like them to form the govt, They should think revolution and not evolution
Aam aadmi doesnt need an ideology, he needs basic amenities like power, roads, water , education etc..He doesnt care if the CM belongs to left or right, whether he supports capitalism or communist.. So when common man is involved in policy making we dont have to give names to these ideologies...It will evolve on its own.

Talking blah blah blah is easy but ruling a state is different thing. New parties only helps to create fractured mandate just like delhi, there shld never be more regional parties which will help make more corruption oriented leaders (karunanidhi,jayalalitha,laloo prasad to name some) in their region and a authoritarian rule will be the norm.

At least you have been consistent in your attack against Kejriwal although you are made to eat humble pie many times :giggle:
the only time I have been wrong about AAP is about the number of seats they would win in Delhi - and nearly everyone was saying the same as me that they wouldn't win more than 10. I still say they won't last long and I will be proved right in a few years.
Aam aadmi doesnt need an ideology, he needs basic amenities like power, roads, water , education etc..He doesnt care if the CM belongs to left or right, whether he supports capitalism or communist.. So when common man is involved in policy making we dont have to give names to these ideologies...It will evolve on its own.
Arvind Kejriwal isn't a common man anymore. He is now an opposition leader. How do anyone know that he is an incorruptable pureness personified politician?? I agree, he did raised his voice against corruption than anyone else, but does that make him incorruptable? He promised that he will do the basic needs to the people, but can he be able to do that without a single shrad of corruption ala someone like Mr. E. Sreedharan? I expect the Party's ideology to be "We will run a constituency without any corruption" or something like that.