UAE, SA, Bangladesh shortlisted as alternative IPL venues http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2014/content/current/story/717471.html The United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh and South Africa, in addition to India, have been shortlisted as venues to host IPL 2014. The IPL governing council is likely to deliberate on the issue on February 13, after the player auction in Bangalore. According to a BCCI official, the schedule and venues have not been announced as the IPL governing council is awaiting the dates of the federal elections in India, which are expected to be made public in the last week of February and are likely to be held in April-May. With the World Twenty20 final slotted for April 6, the IPL is likely to start around April 10 and the organisers have been scouting for alternative venues. "It is not a question of who is the favourite to host. We are open to a few venues: Middle East (UAE), South Africa and Bangladesh. South Africa is open to host but we have to consider the logistics and the timings before we make up our mind," a BCCI official told ESPNcricinfo. "In my personal opinion, South Africa is a good contender. But UAE is also there. There are too many matches. So we will discuss everything at the Governing Council." South Africa has emerged as the friendliest venue among the three overseas countries. As far as the UAE is concerned, there are certain hurdles. According to an IPL insider, the UAE is "not viable", considering the staging will require "too many government clearances". He also said: "The Middle East has not been a spectator-friendly venue of late." When it comes to Bangladesh, there could be two stumbling blocks. With the country staging three major cricket events - the ongoing series against Sri Lanka, followed by the Asia Cup and the World Twenty20 - the pitches will likely be worn down by the time the IPL begins. Besides, staging IPL matches in and around Dhaka could be logistically difficult, due to a limited availability of five-star or seven-star hotels. It is understood that IMG, the event managers of the IPL, had sent some of its staff to Bangladesh and the UAE to do a recce over the last week. The BCCI hopes to host marquee games, especially the play-offs in India. Depending on the election dates, the tournament is likely to be divided into two halves - at home and overseas. "If the elections are held in April, then the first half will be played abroad. But if the elections are in May, we may play the initial games in India," another BCCI official said. If the BCCI decides to shift the IPL to another country, it will be the second time that the tournament will be staged overseas. In 2009, the second edition of IPL was shifted to South Africa after the tournament clashed with federal elections and the Indian government declined to provide security to cricketers.

Ye saal :kxip: ka hai.........to win lakdi ka chamach!!! Now corrected!!!
DD is already ahead with 2 lakdi ki chamach's in that regard :giggle:............. We don't need KP as much as you guys..........without KP you guys will finish 9th this season........

Looking to start afresh in IPL 7, says Pragyan Ojha http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/ipl/news/Looking-to-start-afresh-in-IPL-7-says-Pragyan-Ojha/articleshow/30160959.cms He has not been retained by Mumbai Indians but an unfazed Pragyan Ojha does not hold any grudge against the IPL champions and wants to start his Twenty20 journey afresh with a new franchise when the cash-rich league's players' auction is held this week. "There are things which are not in your hand. I was not disappointed when Mumbai did not retain me. I am still in the auction race. I would have been disappointed had the team left me out for non-performance. I performed for my team. Look, whichever team selects me at the auction, I will do well for them and give my 100 per cent," the left-arm spinner said. "I am a professional. I am not getting emotional over my non-inclusion. It's part of the game and you have to accept that. For me, the team should miss my services, and not me who should be missing the team. Let's see what happens in the auction," he said. Mumbai Indians retained Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh and Ambati Rayudu, but left out Ojha, Mitchell Johnson, Dinesh Karthik and Dwayne Smith for the coming season of the IPL. MI will, of course, have the option to use the "Right to Match" card at the players' auction on February 12 in Bangalore, but with a remaining purse of Rs 21 crore, it would be difficult for the franchise to buy back all of the players. Ojha has been slotted among the 16 top players with the highest base price of Rs 2 crore each. The 27-year-old was with the Deccan Chargers during the first four seasons of the IPL, but was transferred to the Mumbai Indians before IPL 2012. Ojha said he still holds a "soft corner" for the two franchises and has fond memories of being part of these teams. Ojha has been part of an IPL-winning team twice (Mumbai and Deccan) and Champions League T20 (Mumbai). "You develop a liking for a team and its environment when you turn up for them. I was part of Deccan Chargers for four years and played for Mumbai for two years in the previous editions. I have a soft corner for these two sides. I hope to get back to Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians again during the auction," he said. Mumbai has the option of getting Ojha back into their fold using 'Right to Match' card, but the Odisha-born Hyderabad tweaker does not want to think too much. "That option is there but it's totally up to them what they decide during the auction. I would love to play for them again but you don't have control over the auction. Whichever franchise takes you, you have to play for them. It's simple." Last season, playing for Mumbai, Ojha had picked up 16 wickets from as many matches. Overall, he has played 79 matches in the IPL, accounting for 85 wickets and winning the Purple Cap award in season three for picking up the most number of wickets in the tournament. Ojha said he is eyeing domestic tournaments to be in peak form during the IPL 7. "I have a fair amount of time in my hand. I am improving my fitness level and working on my basics. I would be playing in some domestic matches for Bharat Petroleum, Corporate Trophy, Ranji Trophy one-dayers and T20s. I want to be match fit before the IPL," he signed off.

I want to test my skills in IPL: Matt Henry http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/ipl/news/I-want-to-test-my-skills-in-IPL-Matt-Henry/articleshow/30065615.cms Young New Zealand pacer Matt Henry, who claimed four wickets on debut against India, said he would look to test his skills at the highest level and learn the tricks of the trade if he gets an opportunity to play at seventh Indian Premier League (IPL). Henry is one of 22 New Zealand cricketers to make the final list for the IPL auction, which will take place in Bangalore on February 12 and 13th. "I know people think it might be about the money, but it's not for me," Henry was quoted by a website. "I'd love to go so I can work with the best players in the world and learn as much as I can. I'd obviously love to play too and test myself at that level, but at my age I want to learn as much as I can. "At 22, you obviously want to be learning and this could be a way of fast tracking that. Even though I'm young, I know I've worked hard and I'm confident in my skill-set should I get an opportunity," he added. Henry had launched his ODI career in style when he returned with figures of 4-38 against India in the fifth and final match last month. Henry's Canterbury opening bowling partner Hamish Bennett has also received interest and will feature in the auction while all-rounder Corey Anderson is expected to feature highly after he smashed the fastest century in international cricket on New Year's Day. Among others, New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum has been named as one of 16 marquee players for the auction with a reserve price of NZ$388,000, while Kyle Mills, Nathan McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill and Tim Southee are other big names in the IPL auction