Tiger80 Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 In the midst of Kejriwal , Modi , Rahul Gandhi Hardly anybody is talking about this man..He made BJP won third time and that too 2/3 majority. I think unlike others he is silent doer .So what do people think about him? What are his achievements that made him so popular among MP voters. If Modi fails he may be the future PM prospect for BJP
Tiger80 Posted January 17, 2014 Author Posted January 17, 2014 He is Manmohan Singh of MP. Sorry no comparision . Manmohan Singh can't even win a single seat on his own. He made BJP win Third time and that too with 2/3rd majority.
Clarke Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Wouldn't mind him or Parrikar as a PM in case the NDA cannot manage 272 alongside post-election allies. Each of the three comes with above avg administrative experience on the resume.
Raghav_12 Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Sorry no comparision . Manmohan Singh can't even win a single seat on his own. He made BJP win Third time and that too with 2/3rd majority. Manmohan Singh also made Congress won General Election once and may achieve that second time. He has been PM of India for longer than what Shivraj has been CM of MP. Well I have stretched things a bit here in that comparison but my point was that shivraj has more been CM third time more by default choice. He hasn't done anything spectacular in MP. Some of his claims of 24 hour electricity in MP are absolute lie. ( I know that form my experience. Last time I visited my home town, half of the time power wasn't there). Main reason behind his success is fragmentation in MP Congress. There are so many faction in MP congress like Digvijay, Scindia, Kamalnath, Ajay Singh, Bhuria etc, than the number of MLA's they would have in assembly. In last election, if they had declared Scindia CM candidate in a month advance or so, things could have been different.
vivek_singh3187 Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 He's a person with good intention, bt isn't strong enough to control other powerful leaders within his party (eg Kailash Vijayvargiya)....one good thing about him is he has focused primarily towards agricultural sector and backward sections of society, which has earned him substantial amount of votes from rural areas.
Crookbond Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Better than most but I am not sure what BJP supporters have to say about his "populist schemes". In the MP election manifesto, he promised a mobile phone for each student from government colleges.
seedhi Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 At least his populist schemes are for everyone and don't discriminate on basis of religion. Unlike the Congress in Karnataka which provides money only to poor Muslim girls when they marry. There have been reports that this has led to some desperately poor non-Muslim women to convert and have fake marriage with Muslim men to collect the money. In UP SP govt is providing bicycles to only poor Muslim girls students. Why should a poor Hindu girl not be supported similarly ?
coffee_rules Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 ^ because the poor in the majority can take care of themselves. It is the minorities that need govt handouts !
Crookbond Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 At least his populist schemes are for everyone and don't discriminate on basis of religion. Unlike the Congress in Karnataka which provides money only to poor Muslim girls when they marry. There have been reports that this has led to some desperately poor non-Muslim women to convert and have fake marriage with Muslim men to collect the money. In UP SP govt is providing bicycles to only poor Muslim girls students. Why should a poor Hindu girl not be supported similarly ? Glad to see you accept that is a "populist scheme" - good start. Please post the official order from the UP SP government which gives bicycles to ONLY poor Muslim girls.
G_B_ Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Glad to see you accept that is a "populist scheme" - good start. Please post the official order from the UP SP government which gives bicycles to ONLY poor Muslim girls. so you accept the Congress scheme in karnataka does discriminate on the basis on religion.
Crookbond Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 so you accept the Congress scheme in karnataka does discriminate on the basis on religion. Yes just like the BJP earlier, the scheme is for BPL minorities. BJP has extended Rs.897Cr to "minorities" between 2008-2013.
seedhi Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Glad to see you accept that is a "populist scheme" - good start. Please post the official order from the UP SP government which gives bicycles to ONLY poor Muslim girls.Firstly, I did not "accept" any populist scheme. I only appreciated the fact that it is non-discriminatory. Furthermore, what is a very important difference is that SS Chauhan's scheme is not a guaranteed right like the Food Security Bill, which means it can be revoked by an executive order if there is a funding problem. Also, about the UP scheme, it was not bicycles, it is Rs 30000 scholarship to poor muslim girls who pass 10th. I think it was changed to include other minorities as well (Sikhism, Christianity, Buddhism, Zoroastrianism and Jainism). But still not available to Hindu girls. It is called "Humari beti uska kal" scheme. Apparently, poor Hindu girls are not humari betis. http://indianexpress.com/article/cities/kolkata/up-to-tweak-minority-girls-aid-scheme-to-add-more-beneficiaries/ Why should I vote for parties who discriminate amongst the poor on the basis of religion ?
seedhi Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Yes just like the BJP earlier' date=' the scheme is for BPL minorities. BJP has extended Rs.897Cr to "minorities" between 2008-2013.[/quote']This scheme was launched by the Congress after it came to power in Karnataka.
seedhi Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Karnataka's 'wedding gift' for Muslim girls provokes opposition protests A scheme to give Rs. 50,000 in cash as a 'wedding gift' to poor Muslims girls has landed Karnataka's Congress government in trouble. The 'Bidai (farewell) scheme', announced months ahead of the national election due by May, is meant to help girls from families who earn Rs. 1.5 lakh a year or less, at a cost of at least 10 crore to the government. The Opposition has accused the government of blatant vote-bank politics and said the scheme must be extended to all poor families, not just one community. Former Karnataka chief minister BS Yeddyurappa is among the opposition protesters who staged a sit-in against the scheme in Bangalore today. Accusing the government of "intentionally causing disharmony in the minority community", Mr Yeddyurappa said, "I am protesting because I want all sections to get justice and welfare." Mr Yeddyurappa quit the BJP in a huff last year to form his own outfit. In May this year, his party failed to make a mark in state polls but was seen to have spoiled the chances of the BJP, whose only government in south India crumbled leading to the resurrection of the Congress after a long hiatus. Protests against the "Bidai scheme" brought the former Chief Minister back to the spotlight as he sat with scores of protesters in Bangalore, shouting slogans. The BJP is also on his side. "The Congress is taking the nation to disastrous consequences. The party wants to divide the country and indulge in vote bank politics. It should immediately stop pursuing this criminal agenda and treat all citizens equally," said BJP leader Captain Abhimanyu. State Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said the money for the scheme, expected to roll out next year, would come from the budget for minority welfare programmes. http://www.ndtv.com/article/south/karnataka-s-wedding-gift-for-muslim-girls-provokes-opposition-protests-439958
G_B_ Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Yes just like the BJP earlier' date=' the scheme is for BPL minorities. BJP has extended Rs.897Cr to "minorities" between 2008-2013.[/quote'] what the BJP do is immaterial in my question. So you agree that this congress scheme in karnataka discriminates on the grounds of religion.
seedhi Posted January 17, 2014 Posted January 17, 2014 Frankly, it should not surprise us that the Congress has such a discriminatory scheme. It sought to bring in the "Communal Violence Bill" in which the victim was assumed to be from the minority community. Thankfully, we have at least one national party which stoutly opposed this disastrous bill because of its discriminatory nature leading to it being amended.