whatz the reall difference you see among these too groups? i don't find any.. they seem to be be same.. saw lot of baniyaz in India.. and here in usa.. saw lot of gujuz.. they seem to be very very similar.. don't you all agree?? their habbit seemz to be same to me..

baniyas use to be little shop keepers back in days.. dont think just limited to gujjus.. but majorities are gujjus.. Shahs and Desais... little story of Shahs that I heard.... there was a huge draught in 1856 in gujarat.. and too many ppl died cuz of that.. at that time baniyas gave food away for free or less price to all needys.. and at that time govt gave 'shah' awards to many baniyas.. (just like 'sir' or 'lord' knighthood in UK).. and thats how many baniyas became Shahs..

baniyas are a specific caste in hinduism just like brahmins etc...they are restricted to the northern part of india and gujarat..southern india hindus do not have baniyas amonst them...mahatma gandhi was a gujju baniya for e,g

Isn't baniya like a "tease" ? It's been a while I heard that word but isn't baniya potrayed like someone who is very miser I remember that Pakistani who riled me up in Switzerland, he called me a "baniya", I hated it and he said sindhis in pakistan are called "baniyas:..now what was news to me I never heard that word after that

baniya is used for ppl who have last name like - aggarwal, gupta etc In Delhi, and most parts of India, Baniyaz are considered Kanjoos.. so are Gujuratiz, they are considered kanjooz too hence i created this thread now hope ppl don't call me rascist

:haha: Tics opened a thread, literally coaxed the posters to respond, just to somehow include in the middle that Baniyas are Kanjoos. Might as well said that in a sentence in the OP, IMO... :haha:

:hysterical:
baniya is used for ppl who have last name like - aggarwal, gupta etc In Delhi, and most parts of India, Baniyaz are considered Kanjoos.. so are Gujuratiz, they are considered kanjooz too hence i created this thread now hope ppl don't call me rascist
Are you saying Gandhi was kanjoos hence did not spend money on clothes? :giggle: Baniyaas have a reputation of being maha kanjoos! Reality kya hai yeah hum ko nahi pata. I have had friends who were Banyez and maha kanzoos but I also have had friends who were non-Baniyes and still maha kanjoos :hysterical: Go figure. Talking of kanjoos people....I had a friend at school who used to come very dirty with torn clothes and stuff. I used to offer him my stuff as he came across as very poor. We were middle class but hardly floating in $$$$s. Anyway I ended up in his house and boy was I surprised!!!!!! They were virtually swimming in ££££££££ssssss. My jaw dropped to the floor when I saw how massive and kitted out their house was :hysterical: Sala was just putting an act at school because his mamma and pappa did not want "buri nazar" on their family :hysterical::pray: