rkt.india Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 Are you freaking serious? :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: The last time we won 2 matches in a bilateral against SA/Eng/Aus/NZ was 5 years back? :omg: :hail: No we win in SA 2010 before WC, lost it 3-2.
Marut Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 Like spinners in the past have won us series after series abroad. Ditto. We have had only isolated performances from spinners abroad. The current trend is not surprising at all.
Magneto Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 Like spinners in the past have won us series after series abroad. Mirchi lagi kya? :giggle: It was not a criticism of trying to find new pacers, it was simply an observation as to why hardly any spinner features in the top 10 list of wicket-takers at the end of a Ranji season. In fact, the whole discussion was skewed towards what all measures are being taken to find pacers in India, in a positive way. Disappearance of spinners are a by-product of the process.
Magneto Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 No we win in SA 2010 before WC' date=' lost it 3-2.[/quote'] Chalo we won 2 matches in an overseas bilateral ODI series 4 years back. Good achievement. :hatsoff:
rkt.india Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 Chalo we won 2 matches in an overseas bilateral ODI series 4 years back. Good achievement. :hatsoff: overseas matches are just practice.:winky:
cowboysfan Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 major problem is Ashwin,we will lose most matches with him in the side.I dont get Dhoni backing these losers.as i have said in the match thread the line and length of our fast bowlers are bowling is extremely wrong on these flat wickets especially with weather being so good and no swing on offer.how many catches have our slip fielders taken?.i think our bowlers are just short of clinical retardation,this is the only explanation of not learning anything for 5 matches.
rkt.india Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 Mirchi lagi kya? :giggle: It was not a criticism of trying to find new pacers, it was simply an observation as to why hardly any spinner features in the top 10 list of wicket-takers at the end of a Ranji season. In fact, the whole discussion was skewed towards what all measures are being taken to find pacers in India, in a positive way. Disappearance of spinners are a by-product of the process. For me, the biggest problem is SG ball. We need to change to Kookabura. SG ball works for medium pacers who release the ball and this works against spinners. We are producing more seam friendly tracks. Most of those tracks do not have great bounce, but exaggerated seam movement which helps those release medium pacers and spinners have just been restricted as defensive bowlers who can stop runs for fast bowlers to come in and use first and second new ball. Spinners are not used as wicket taking options and the result is we are seeing more and more left arm spinners who can dart the ball and restrict the run scoring. Leggies are not encouraged because they can be expensive. One example is Murugan Ashwin from Tamilnadu, a leg spinner who played first match for TN this season though he looked to be promising but he lacked control and went for a few runs and then we never saw him play another game rather we saw left arm spinners Rahil Shah and Aushik Shriniwas. If we want success at international level, we need to prepare bouncy tracks more than seaming tracks. Whenever ball bounces at pace, our batsmen start struggling overseas.
Old guy Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 major problem is Ashwin' date='we will lose most matches with him in the side.I dont get Dhoni backing these losers.as i have said in the match thread the line and length of our fast bowlers are bowling is extremely wrong on these flat wickets especially with weather being so good and no swing on offer.how many catches have our slip fielders taken?.i think our bowlers are just short of clinical retardation,this is the only explanation of not learning anything for 5 matches.[/quote'] better question would be how many catches have our slip fielders dropped ? it has been farce series for us ..i am more hopeful for tests as we have pujara coming in and rahane will feel at home along with vijay normally i do not care about odis but world cup is getting near so its worrying we do not even know who our openers will be its going to be a disaster
cowboysfan Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 For me, the biggest problem is SG ball. We need to change to Kookabura. SG ball works for medium pacers who release the ball and this works against spinners. We are producing more seam friendly tracks. Most of those tracks do not have great bounce, but exaggerated seam movement which helps those release medium pacers and spinners have just been restricted as defensive bowlers who can stop runs for fast bowlers to come in and use first and second new ball. Spinners are not used as wicket taking options and the result is we are seeing more and more left arm spinners who can dart the ball and restrict the run scoring. Leggies are not encouraged because they can be expensive. One example is Murugan Ashwin from Tamilnadu, a leg spinner who played first match for TN this season though he looked to be promising but he lacked control and went for a few runs and then we never saw him play another game rather we saw left arm spinners Rahil Shah and Aushik Shriniwas. If we want success at international level, we need to prepare bouncy tracks more than seaming tracks. Whenever ball bounces at pace, our batsmen start struggling overseas. excellent point about the ball but we use the same white kookaburra everywhere,how do you explain th lack of wickets for bhuvi abroad when compared to india?
Magneto Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 For me, the biggest problem is SG ball. We need to change to Kookabura. SG ball works for medium pacers who release the ball and this works against spinners. We are producing more seam friendly tracks. Most of those tracks do not have great bounce, but exaggerated seam movement which helps those release medium pacers and spinners have just been restricted as defensive bowlers who can stop runs for fast bowlers to come in and use first and second new ball. Spinners are not used as wicket taking options and the result is we are seeing more and more left arm spinners who can dart the ball and restrict the run scoring. Leggies are not encouraged because they can be expensive. One example is Murugan Ashwin from Tamilnadu, a leg spinner who played first match for TN this season though he looked to be promising but he lacked control and went for a few runs and then we never saw him play another game rather we saw left arm spinners Rahil Shah and Aushik Shriniwas. If we want success at international level, we need to prepare bouncy tracks more than seaming tracks. Whenever ball bounces at pace, our batsmen start struggling overseas. Mostly true. Plus spinners are mostly brought in as fillers mostly before lunch and after 40-50 overs after the pitch has lost its freshness. Then again, only after they have bowled 10-15 overs, the second new ball is taken and the pacers again get some 20-30 overs. The end result is a spinner bowling only a few overs and hardly being able to get a long spell to assert his dominance. Also, teams only start with one spinner and one part-timer; so overall the number of spinners are declining in the system.
kubrickian Posted January 31, 2014 Posted January 31, 2014 Yes, the problem is Ashwin and Dhoni's captaincy. The opening bowlers have taken wickets but time again, he has allowed the game to drift and allowed easy runs by bringing spinners on from 10th over, setting defensive fields and allowed partnership to build. I'm so mad at these retarded tactics and I'm sure Ross Taylor and Williamson must be laughing secretly at how lucky they are to get these easy runs. Dhoni is an adamant fool who sticks to his winning formula on tracks which assists spinners by playing the defensive game and looking to restrict opposition to 300 and looking to chase. He doesn't try to attack with seamers and try to get wickets and doesn't seem to learn. He should step down after all these whitewashes overseas.