cricketrulez Posted April 30, 2014 Posted April 30, 2014 I am still seeing CSK & RR playing...where is the ban after their owners being caught betting & fixing their games. You mean Kochi that was a team...which was a team made for out & out money laundering & jiska owner kaun hai....theek se nahi paata. Or Pune....in that case Sahara themselves withdraw their team...& did the whole IPL a favor. Looks like hanging out in lankan cricket forums has been having a detrimental effect on you raj marie
Ram Posted April 30, 2014 Posted April 30, 2014 I had made these comments when the IPL fiasco broke out last year. If such a similar thing had happened in the NBA (or for that matter any professional league in the US), the consequences would have been damaging. The league would have almost certainly vacated the team’s wins in the last x number of years, banned the team from the league for certain number of years and could have even forced a sell-out of the team (like it did, in the clippers case). But here we are, in the IPL – CSK’s core ownership structure still stays the same, CSK as a team still has 2 championship titles and they are playing in this year’s edition like nothing happened.
rajmarie Posted April 30, 2014 Posted April 30, 2014 Looks like hanging out in lankan cricket forums has been having a detrimental effect on you raj marie Ha Ha Ha....not been there for 2-3 years now. :finger: You are a member there??
Jersey #10 Posted May 1, 2014 Author Posted May 1, 2014 They've been busy passing around some envelope with names in it for past 6 months. Probe panel after probe panel hasn't done anything. I say hand the envelope to the media and they'll figure it out within a week.
someone Posted May 1, 2014 Posted May 1, 2014 You don't compare a mature sporting competition like NBA with a novice, IPL. And even then, there are many examples in other sports like Serie A which has its own corruption, cheating and often goes unsolved. You don't close it just because a product has a problem, instead you work to overcome those challenges.
vvvslaxman Posted May 1, 2014 Posted May 1, 2014 I was listening to radio show. Even Americans are surprised that the action was swift.
cricketrulez Posted May 1, 2014 Posted May 1, 2014 They've been busy passing around some envelope with names in it for past 6 months. Probe panel after probe panel hasn't done anything. I say hand the envelope to the media and they'll figure it out within a week. This tells how clueless you are. This guy, sterling, has a had long long long rap sheet. He is a lawyer by profession and so the league did not want a mess in its hands and looked the other way. http://grantland.com/features/sterlings-fold/ So do you actually follow American sports or just wanted sound like you are well informed and take shots at BCCI?
cricketrulez Posted May 1, 2014 Posted May 1, 2014 Ha Ha Ha....not been there for 2-3 years now. :finger: You are a member there?? Still am, but looks like you were not immune ;-) anyway before frothing int he mouth about RR and CSK based on NBA, buy your self a clue about this sterling and read a bit about how long it took them to do any thing even though they had mountain of evidence against this guy. Before I forget :finger: to you too
cricketrulez Posted May 1, 2014 Posted May 1, 2014 I had made these comments when the IPL fiasco broke out last year. If such a similar thing had happened in the NBA (or for that matter any professional league in the US), the consequences would have been damaging. The league would have almost certainly vacated the team’s wins in the last x number of years, banned the team from the league for certain number of years and could have even forced a sell-out of the team (like it did, in the clippers case). But here we are, in the IPL – CSK’s core ownership structure still stays the same, CSK as a team still has 2 championship titles and they are playing in this year’s edition like nothing happened. another clueless desi. american sport scandals are dime a dozen. name one team owner who has had any serious consequence you know off besides this guy. even in this case the action was forced by all playoff teams threatening to boycott. Not any serious moral outrage. Go ahead name one owner team where wins where vacated and team owner forced to sell like you claimed.
Zelig Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 Black Sox scandal Operation Slapshot Tim Donaghy Doping scandals in MLB, as recent as 2013 ...the list is endless. Given sometime, IPL will become more professional and clean. But they should not have allowed the head of BCCI to own a franchise. That's just wrong.
cricketrulez Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 Black Sox scandal Operation Slapshot Tim Donaghy Doping scandals in MLB, as recent as 2013 ...the list is endless. How could that be possible, becos they are so clean and professional they would have disbanded the league by now if all that is true
yoda Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 Black Sox scandal Operation Slapshot Tim Donaghy Doping scandals in MLB, as recent as 2013 ...the list is endless. Given sometime, IPL will become more professional and clean. But they should not have allowed the head of BCCI to own a franchise. That's just wrong. Bud Selig owned the Brewers and was the MLB commissioner for some time. I believe his daughter took over the Brewers when he became the commissioner, but it was still with the family.
cricketrulez Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 Bud Selig owned the Brewers and was the MLB commissioner for some time. I believe his daughter took over the Brewers when he became the commissioner' date=' but it was still with the family.[/quote'] No conflict of interest there. Signed Ryan braun.
bulbul Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 No wonder , why Indian cricket issues will never solve, when people are happy with conflict of interests because it's done somewhere else :haha:
Sachin=GOD Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 No wonder ' date=' why Indian cricket issues will never solve, when [b']people are happy with conflict of interests because it's done somewhere else :haha: Nah....its just Yoda and a few other Srini fans who still think he is completely innocent and is victimized.
Zelig Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 Bud Selig owned the Brewers and was the MLB commissioner for some time. I believe his daughter took over the Brewers when he became the commissioner' date=' but it was still with the family.[/quote'] Wrong :dontknow:
TheWall Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 And Sterling has a history' date=' this is not the first time.[/quote'] what did he say? mc/bc????
Jersey #10 Posted May 2, 2014 Author Posted May 2, 2014 This tells how clueless you are. This guy, sterling, has a had long long long rap sheet. He is a lawyer by profession and so the league did not want a mess in its hands and looked the other way. http://grantland.com/features/sterlings-fold/ So do you actually follow American sports or just wanted sound like you are well informed and take shots at BCCI? I follow American sports a little bit but obviously not as much as you do. You are an inspirational American sports follower. Most of us can only dream of knowing as much as you do about it. Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
rajmarie Posted May 2, 2014 Posted May 2, 2014 Black Sox scandal Given sometime, IPL will become more professional and clean. But they should not have allowed the head of BCCI to own a franchise. That's just wrong. I hope IPL get more professional setup. It is wrong to have BCCI President to by head of IPL also & own a team also. IMO...IPL should be run by people who are not owners of the IPL team or have high BCCI post.