Marathi films are just better than Bollywood' date=' no reason why a few theatres cannot show them at primetime and see how that goes.[/quote'] Marathi film industry is on the upswing. Many movies have been released in the last 5 years compared to the previous 5 years. How do I know this? I know that because many cases have come up wrt payment disputes in contracts which I've come across. :D That said. I don't buy your logic. So what if Marathi films are better (whether or not they are actually better or not is a debate I won't go into for now)? By this ruling even movies like Lai Bhaari, would be forced upon a multiplex in prime time. Thats as masala as the come. Paithani sarees are better than most of the cotton dresses the infinite boutiques in Bandra West sell. Does that mean that the govt should force the boutique owners to also sell Paithanis and dress a mannequin in one? Giving the local film industry tax cuts, or helping their production with state funds is all ok. This is a very retrograde move by the Maharashtra govt.
Marathi film industry is on the upswing. Many movies have been released in the last 5 years compared to the previous 5 years. How do I know this? I know that because many cases have come up wrt payment disputes in contracts which I've come across. :D That said. I don't buy your logic. So what if Marathi films are better (whether or not they are actually better or not is a debate I won't go into for now)? By this ruling even movies like Lai Bhaari, would be forced upon a multiplex in prime time. Thats as masala as the come. Paithani sarees are better than most of the cotton dresses the infinite boutiques in Bandra West sell. Does that mean that the govt should force the boutique owners to also sell Paithanis and dress a mannequin in one? Giving the local film industry tax cuts, or helping their production with state funds is all ok. This is a very retrograde move by the Maharashtra govt.
Completely agree. It should be market driven. Giving tax free status for good Marathi films should be an incentive the MH government should consider, not making it mandatory to exhibit these movies. If implemented, this would be another dumb move.

Ache din aane wale hain

Completely agree. It should be market driven. Giving tax free status for good Marathi films should be an incentive the MH government should consider, not making it mandatory to exhibit these movies. If implemented, this would be another dumb move.
It is market driven.Marathi films are made on very low budgets and hence cost lesser to distribute and thus require fewer slots and weeks for theater owners to recover money.Its just that they require prime time slots rather than some matinee time showings. Theres an ever growing market for Marathi films .The link I posted above proves it.In fact, I feel Bollywood films are largely losing money. And if a film wins accolades all around the world but does not get the respect it deserves at home, how will talent flourish?In my opinion, this is the kick start that Marathi film industry needs .If the product is good, people will buy it.

who will pay for the losses if any? Is the govt going to give them money? what next, to make better marathi movies, the govt will get into production of some movies? Dont they have other things to do, like building shelters for cows?

Marathi films are already better :)
It is market driven.Marathi films are made on very low budgets and hence cost lesser to distribute and thus require fewer slots and weeks for theater owners to recover money.Its just that they require prime time slots rather than some matinee time showings. Theres an ever growing market for Marathi films .The link I posted above proves it.In fact, I feel Bollywood films are largely losing money. And if a film wins accolades all around the world but does not get the respect it deserves at home, how will talent flourish?In my opinion, this is the kick start that Marathi film industry needs .If the product is good, people will buy it.
See, I don't think any government should enforce movie theaters to telecast local language movies. That is not the job of the government. You should let market forces decide that. I will give you an example - in Pune, Marathi movies are shown in many more theaters than in Mumbai. That is because there is a significant audience for those movies. While in Mumbai even though there is an audience, it is relatively much smaller and even many native Marathi speaking folks prefer watching Hindi movies.
See' date=' I don't think any government should enforce movie theaters to telecast local language movies. That is not the job of the government. You should let market forces decide that. I will give you an example - in Pune, Marathi movies are shown in many more theaters than in Mumbai. That is because there is a significant audience for those movies. While in Mumbai even though there is an audience, it is relatively much smaller and even many native Marathi speaking folks prefer watching Hindi movies.[/quote'] Whats common between France, UK,Brazil, Italy and South Korea? They enforce a local quota to protect domestic interests...
Whats common between France, UK,Brazil, Italy and South Korea? They enforce a local quota to protect domestic interests...
That is totally different. Every country has some projectionist policies to some extent. But, this is about forcing movie theater owners to show only specific movies for which there might not be sufficient market.

Canada also has local content guidelines for movies, music etc. So when is Canada getting the fascist tag? Chewtiya gungadeens don't deserve responses but I was getting a itchy finger.

That is totally different. Every country has some projectionist policies to some extent. But' date=' this is about forcing movie theater owners to show only specific movies for which there might not be sufficient market.[/quote'] No , not different at all.It is very much the same. And don't keep bringing up the "No Market " argument time and again.It is a weak one.I will explain why : 1) in 2010, there was an agreement that Multiplexes in MH have to screen at least one Marathi film .As a result of that, Marathi films began their ascent and more people started watching them in spite of not having prime slots.So there is a positive correlation between films doing well when multiplexes were forced to show it and it leads me to believe that having a primetime screening will further buck that trend. 2) the same protectionism saw positive trends in the Korean film industry which, as we know produces some of the best films in world cinema. 3) Marathi drama has been alive and kicking for decades and a lot of people watch it in a daily basis all throughout MH including Mumbai. This is not because people prefer Hindi to Marathi.It's because locals want to watch them. I think Marathi films can more than hold their own against Bollywood if given the chance. Maharashtrians and people looking for good cinema will watch them. Finally , it's about local pride as well.The kaamwaali bai and the pandu hawaldar is so passe.:) BTW, this protectionism exists in the South as well.
No , not different at all.It is very much the same. And don't keep bringing up the "No Market " argument time and again.It is a weak one.I will explain why : 1) in 2010, there was an agreement that Multiplexes in MH have to screen at least one Marathi film .As a result of that, Marathi films began their ascent and more people started watching them in spite of not having prime slots.So there is a positive correlation between films doing well when multiplexes were forced to show it and it less me to believe that having a primetime screening will further buck that trend. 2) the same protectionism saw positive trends in the Korean film industry which, as we know produces some of the best films in world cinema. 3) Marathi drama has been alive and kicking for decades and a lot of people watch it in a daily basis all throughout MH including Mumbai. This is not because people prefer Hindi to Marathi.It's because locals want to watch them. I think Marathi films can more than hold their own against Bollywood if given the chance. Maharashtrians and people looking for good cinema will watch them. BTW, this protectionism exists in the South as well.
Don't go down that road, you will be branded an evil aryan northie.
RSS strikes again: 'Foreigners' Isaac Newton, Pythagoras to be chucked out of Rajasthan text books
http://www.firstpost.com/politics/rss-strikes-again-foreigners-isaac-newton-pythagoras-to-be-chucked-out-of-rajasthan-text-books-2187949.html
The RSS campaign to purge the Indian education system of all 'foreign' influences is due to get a huge boost in Rajasthan, where moves are underway to effectively rewrite 6.5 crore textbooks in the state. Ever since the formation of the Narendra Modi government, RSS has been consistently engaging with it over shaping its education policy, a move criticised by the Opposition as an attempt to saffronise the education system. And this latest incident is unlikely to go down well either. AFPAFP According to a report in the Indian Express, primary and secondary education minister, RSS member Vasudev Devnani is set to oust names like Akbar the great, Pythagoras and Isaac Newton from state textbooks in favour of 'local' heroes like Veer Savarkar, Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, Bhagat Singh, Maharaja Suraj Mal and Maharana Pratap. “Why should our children only learn about Akbar, the Great? Why not Maharana Pratap, the Great? Our children are constantly learning about foreign rulers, mathematicians, scientists et al,†he told the Express. “Soon after I took charge, I wanted to rework the textbooks but I was told printing had started and making changes would cause a huge financial loss. This year, we will bring significant changes,†he added. Devnani had earlier made headlines for making the surya namaskar compulsory in government schools in the state, following a similar initiative that was carried out in Madhya Pradesh. Bizarre as Devnani's plans are however, they are hardly unique. The Gujarat government implemented a similar scheme in 2014, when it decided to introduce seven books by Dinanath Batra, a member of the executive committee of RSS education wing Vidya Bharti, as recommended reading for its primary and upper-primary students. Batra himself has very strong opinions on the current education system in India, which he also feels gives much too much importance to 'foreigners'. The Times of India quoted from one of his writings as follows: Education in India is neither Indian nor a real education. Education has nothing to do with this country's land. It is result of mischiefs with words by Marx and Macaulay that today's young generation has become aimless, arrogant and stubborn and is in the race of being unemployed. A nationalistic education system has to be developed to address the requirements and through this we have to develop a young generation that is committed to Hindutva and nationalist." Then in another worrying incident of attempts to rewrite history, the RSS came under fire in September for trying to blame the emergence of the Indian caste system on 'foreign invaders'. ALSO SEE Watch: Man catches tiger shark using nothing but a hand reel Watch: Man catches tiger shark using nothing but a hand reel Ape for apps: Young orangutans in US zoo love watching videos and playing with iPads Ape for apps: Young orangutans in US zoo love watching videos and playing with iPads Wait, what? Rs 1,130 cheque issued by Income Tax department bounces Wait, what? Rs 1,130 cheque issued by Income Tax department bounces In its never-before-heard-of take on Dalit history, the RSS released three books on the subject, where the authors held foreign invaders responsible for the emergence of certain castes. The books, authored by BJP spokesperson Vijay Sonkar Shastri, were released by RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat. RSS leaders had written the preface for all three books. According to a report in the Hindustan Times, top RSS leader Bhaiyyaji Joshi states in the preface to one of the books, “To violate Hindu swabhiman (dignity) of Chanwarvanshiya Kshatriyas, foreign invaders from Arab, Muslim rulers and beef-eaters, forced them to do abominable works like killing cows, skinning them and throwing their carcasses in deserted places. Foreign invaders thus created a caste of charma-karma (dealing with skin) by giving such works as punishment to proud Hindu prisoners.†And it hardly stops there either. Newspaper reports from September 2014 claimed that the Sangh was planning to piece together the history of over 670 districts and 600 tribal communities in the country. The Sangh is already undertaking a decade-long project to produce a version of Indian history based on the Puranas. To this end, the Akhil Bharatiya Itihaas Sankalan Yojna (ABISY), a Sangh affiliate, established the Bharatiya Puran Adhyayan Sansthan (Indian Institute of Purana Studies) within the RSS headquarters premises in Delhi, reported the Indian Express. Dubbed 'Puranantargat Itihaas', the project is based on ABISY's argument that it's incorrect to say that there are only 18 Puranas, when there are 106. What is also interesting however, is that the Rajasthan decision comes a little over a month after the RSS adopted a resolution asking the BJP-led Union government and those in states to impart education in the mother tongue of students or constitutionally recognised state languages, saying those educated in a foreign language get "alienated" from their culture and tradition.
bachchon ke achche din?? Without Pythagoras their lives would be much simpler.. No trigonometry. Wow.. where were you Modi Ji when I was young :((

Can we get any proof for trignometry removed from books or is this like usual propaganda by vested interests? :cantstop:

no need to teach Isaac newton . Great Leader has already given us his divine laws "Action Ka Reaction" rajasthan Secondary Education Minister :

Soon after I took charge, I wanted to rework the textbooks but I was told printing had started and making changes would cause a huge financial loss,” This year, we will bring significant changes,” he added.

Shobha De tweeted this after the Marathi movie news came out: Devendra 'Diktatwala' Fadnavis is at it again!!!From beef to movies. This is not the Maharashtra we all love! Nako!Nako! Yeh sab roko! Here's what happened next: @ABP News Shiv Sena moves privilege motion against Shobha De in Vidhan Sabha for her tweet against Marathi films being made compulsory Wow!! Just wow.

Gen. VK Singh called the press 'presstitutes' (like prostitutes). When the likes of Digvijay Singh said something controversial then most ICFers agreed that it was unofficial party line but something which couldn't be said by Cong openly. IMO Gen. VK Singh is also saying the unofficial parry line here but its being called 'his personal opinion' by BJP.