Stuge Posted June 4, 2014 Posted June 4, 2014 Read the comments https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152238986278580&set=a.115302893579.99140.111445058579&type=1&theater https://www.facebook.com/sarthakagarwalisgod
Desi Cartman Posted June 4, 2014 Posted June 4, 2014 Someone posted this in the comments section :haha:
CSK Fan Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Wish India implements the grade system soon. too much celebration of one topper where academically there will be much difference between all the guys who score more than 85% anyways. Particularly when looking at marks of secondary and higher secondary. Also, I have never heard of any toppers till class XII who have went on and achieved amazing things in life. Then why do we celebrate them so much?
Detonator Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Cbse exams are a joke. So many 99,98, percents. In my time I got 94% and I was south India 4 th. They seriously need to revisit the examination model. I got 194.75 cutoff in the state board and still didn't got a MBBS seat in merit. The last seat was for 195.75. My frnd badly wanted to be vetenarian, scored 197.5 and missed the seat by 0.25 marks. dude got frustrated and stayed in the farmhouse and went inside the forest with a tent for 4 days. he got MBBS anyhow :giggle: OTOH, a 22 yr old pothead, who was still in 12th (!), scored 146 cutoff, got a seat in the SC quota. He is a son of an infamous Group-2 Treasury officer in coimbatore who demanded and got half of the relief money from a widow of a drainage worker who died of methane poisoning. As expected he is still in 1st yr MBBS for the last 3 yrs. i.e. you can't go to 2nd yr even if you don't pass a single paper, just like schools. A similar aged person might ve completed a PG course. he is laying a strong foundation and gonna serve people within next 15 yrs :hatsoff:
Detonator Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Wish India implements the grade system soon. too much celebration of one topper where academically there will be much difference between all the guys who score more than 85% anyways. Particularly when looking at marks of secondary and higher secondary. Also' date=' I have never heard of any toppers till class XII who have went on and achieved amazing things in life. Then why do we celebrate them so much?[/quote'] I agree with you that all toppers are not successful and some lesser mark holders achieved higher success than the topper. But dood, don't generalize. The freakishly successful guys like a zukerberg or bill gates or a steve jobs aren't toppers but I can say most of the toppers went several ladders up in the society barring few exceptions. The district topper from my brother's batch is a son of a poor grocey seller, who used to sell with a tricycle. He owns a toyota fortuner now. I know many such people. Having said that, from what I have seen the last 3 or 4 yrs I feel that what you said might come true somesday. Many are muggig up like audio cassettes. Only few have real knowledge on what they study. I don't blame the students, I belive every one is intelligent, except some cases. The biggest reason is we lack good teaching and the quality of coaching has gone to dogs. No talented person wants to choose teaching, they want to earn big bucks abroad.
CSK Fan Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 I agree with you that all toppers are not successful and some lesser mark holders achieved higher success than the topper. But dood, don't generalize. The freakishly successful guys like a zukerberg or bill gates or a steve jobs aren't toppers but I can say most of the toppers went several ladders up in the society barring few exceptions. The district topper from my brother's batch is a son of a poor grocey seller, who used to sell with a tricycle. He owns a toyota fortuner now. I know many such people. Having said that, from what I have seen the last 3 or 4 yrs I feel that what you said might come true somesday. Many are muggig up like audio cassettes. Only few have real knowledge on what they study. I don't blame the students, I belive every one is intelligent, except some cases. The biggest reason is we lack good teaching and the quality of coaching has gone to dogs. No talented person wants to choose teaching, they want to earn big bucks abroad. To clarify what I meant further 1) How much difference will be there between this guy and the second or third guy. Or someone who scored 95% only? Aren't they equally likely to do well in life? So why celebrate this one guy who just inched above others and put extra pressure on him later in life? 2) Once you come into the office environment, you need a lot of other skills to survive. I have found that these toppers sometimes lack social skills because some of them cut of all social interactions for studying and mugging. In our company, we hire people from IIT and IIM. So many of the toppers don't do well after joining while people from their same institutes who were behind them do better. Some lack social skills. Some wear their academic qualifications as a badge. Their CVs proudly proclaim them being toppers. 3) Imagine the plight of those who came 2nd or 3rd or 10th. Their achievements are equally wonderful, but I bet some of them are feeling sad for not topping. 4) I think it's about time we stop this mad dash after decimal points and stop plastering these kids photos in newspapers. It distorts the importance of marks in real life and also creates a very unhealthy atmosphere of competition for a few decimal points instead of knowledge
Sachin=GOD Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Read this on twitter: Itni toh mere mobile ki battery bhi charge nahi hoti :rofl:
Detonator Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 To clarify what I meant further 1) How much difference will be there between this guy and the second or third guy. Or someone who scored 95% only? Aren't they equally likely to do well in life? So why celebrate this one guy who just inched above others and put extra pressure on him later in life? Completely agree. My frnd in Madras Medical College used to say his class is filled with state rank holders in 2010 and they didn't even talked to each other for 6 months in the race of getting medals and stuff but half of them barely passed. One of a much lesser ranked girl in 12th ended up as the topper and got gold medal. The first yr medalists have a huge chance of getting 100% scholarships for upto PG courses. I have already reaseached this trend and only 1 XII topper got gold medel in the last 10 yrs. 2) Once you come into the office environment, you need a lot of other skills to survive. I have found that these toppers sometimes lack social skills because some of them cut of all social interactions for studying and mugging. In our company, we hire people from IIT and IIM. So many of the toppers don't do well after joining while people from their same institutes who were behind them do better. Some lack social skills. Some wear their academic qualifications as a badge. Their CVs proudly proclaim them being toppers. Personality development is literally non existant in most colleges, an are stricltly average in top institutions like IIT or AIIMS or JIPMER. IIM is one place where I still have respect due to the change I saw in my friends once they joined there. In the past, the students learn from experiance with the fellow students but in present students spend more time in just studying alone. 3) Imagine the plight of those who came 2nd or 3rd or 10th. Their achievements are equally wonderful, but I bet some of them are feeling sad for not topping. I personally experianced this. :(( 4) I think it's about time we stop this mad dash after decimal points and stop plastering these kids photos in newspapers. It distorts the importance of marks in real life and also creates a very unhealthy atmosphere of competition for a few decimal points instead of knowledge Yes this should be stopped. Blame the schools and educational institutions for this. They post the student's photo in order to build their school's names, increase the demand and increase the fees and donation etc., That's the very basic reason why the schools concentrated only on marks. Many schools have sports facilities just for the sake of it with a poor coaching and XI and XII class, students are not allowed to play. The schools just want the marks, nothing else. The teachers have become dumb readers in the class.
DomainK Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Read this on twitter: Itni toh mere mobile ki battery bhi charge nahi hoti :rofl: Itna toh dettol, kitanu nai maarta...:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Precambrian Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Very true, What happens is some of them becomes arrogant and believes just the qualifications are enough for them. A sense of entitlement occurs.
BlackMamba Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Completely agree. My frnd in Madras Medical College used to say his class is filled with state rank holders in 2010 and they didn't even talked to each other for 6 months in the race of getting medals and stuff but half of them barely passed. One of a much lesser ranked girl in 12th ended up as the topper and got gold medal. The first yr medalists have a huge chance of getting 100% scholarships for upto PG courses. I have already reaseached this trend and only 1 XII topper got gold medel in the last 10 yrs. Personality development is literally non existant in most colleges, an are stricltly average in top institutions like IIT or AIIMS or JIPMER. IIM is one place where I still have respect due to the change I saw in my friends once they joined there. In the past, the students learn from experiance with the fellow students but in present students spend more time in just studying alone. I personally experianced this. :(( Yes this should be stopped. Blame the schools and educational institutions for this. They post the student's photo in order to build their school's names, increase the demand and increase the fees and donation etc., That's the very basic reason why the schools concentrated only on marks. Many schools have sports facilities just for the sake of it with a poor coaching and XI and XII class, students are not allowed to play. The schools just want the marks, nothing else. The teachers have become dumb readers in the class. Totally Agree !
Crookbond Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 I agree with you that all toppers are not successful and some lesser mark holders achieved higher success than the topper. But dood' date=' don't generalize. The freakishly successful guys like a zukerberg or bill gates or a steve jobs aren't toppers but I can say most of the toppers went several ladders up in the society barring few exceptions. [b']The district topper from my brother's batch is a son of a poor grocey seller, who used to sell with a tricycle. He owns a toyota fortuner now. I know many such people. Having said that, from what I have seen the last 3 or 4 yrs I feel that what you said might come true somesday. Many are muggig up like audio cassettes. Only few have real knowledge on what they study. I don't blame the students, I belive every one is intelligent, except some cases. The biggest reason is we lack good teaching and the quality of coaching has gone to dogs. No talented person wants to choose teaching, they want to earn big bucks abroad. Interesting to see how each society measures success. Nothing wrong in it, btw.
Cricket_Hacker Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Mark ye late hai,daant Baki students ko padti hai
Detonator Posted June 5, 2014 Posted June 5, 2014 Interesting to see how each society measures success. Nothing wrong in it' date=' btw.[/quote'] Well, I just said what's visible for me from outside. :giggle: i think he did MD in full scholarship and got dermatopathology fellowship from some university in US. He became a top doctor in Avinashi before 30 and set up the town's first hospital that has skin surgery by laser treatment. I called my brother via Skype to get this info. :--D
Stuge Posted June 5, 2014 Author Posted June 5, 2014 arre kuch log iss thread of serious lee behte :D