What will be Sir Jadeja's status at end of his career?

No matter what he does he always strikes me as a bits and pieces cricketer rather than a proper all rounder. Takes a few wickets. If he doesnt do that might score a 50. And contribute with catches.. So will end up being great in ODIs but not in tests. Where do you think he will stand? Can he be a great spinning all rounder? For me: Bits and pieces cricketers: Razzaq, Klusener, Malik, Symonds etc Proper all rounders: Flintoff, Kallis, Kapil, Hadlee, Sobers etc. Bits and pieces will never be great players. May have great performances but not great overall careers. Im not comparing Jadeja to these players but just asking where will he end up in your opinion. Does he even have the temperamanet to avergae 40 with the bat or sub 30 with the ball... Or is he one of those who will be like avging 35 with the ball and 20's with the bat. How do you think Jadeja will end up?

Amreekan- short answer is bits and pieces player will be his status; I don't see it otherwise. Besides his skill set and talent I think the advent of T20, IPL etc. don't even incentivize such players to make a concerted effort to make a great leap. Even if Jadeja had to become a proper batsman or spinner it will require a really big jump from where he is now and frankly why would he spend so much effort to do that for a few test matches (where he is getting selected anyway) when he can easily compete in T20, IPL and even ODIs. Gone are the days of Ravi Shastri likes who knew that they had to get really good at at least one aspect and keep getting selected as an all rounder. Malinga flatly refused putting his body through rigors of test matches and instead focussed on his strengths. So unless there is a miracle he will end up as bits and pieces but probably the only bits and pieces player with a Sir in his title.

Symonds - bits and pieces cricketer?
Utility bowler to go through the overs. Batsman who wins matches singlehandedly but also flopped regularly Great fielder. I dont remember ever one all round MOM performance from him where lets say he made a 50+ and took 3-4 wickets
Amreekan- short answer is bits and pieces player will be his status; I don't see it otherwise. Besides his skill set and talent I think the advent of T20, IPL etc. don't even incentivize such players to make a concerted effort to make a great leap. Even if Jadeja had to become a proper batsman or spinner it will require a really big jump from where he is now and frankly why would he spend so much effort to do that for a few test matches (where he is getting selected anyway) when he can easily compete in T20, IPL and even ODIs. Gone are the days of Ravi Shastri likes who knew that they had to get really good at at least one aspect and keep getting selected as an all rounder. Malinga flatly refused putting his body through rigors of test matches and instead focussed on his strengths. So unless there is a miracle he will end up as bits and pieces but probably the only bits and pieces player with a Sir in his title.
I refuse to agree that money can be the sole motivation for a player like him. He was making millions from the IPL anyway when he was dropped from the team and butt of all jokes. But he still got stuck in, made triple hundreds in FC and took wickets and hence made a breakthrough in the test team
Utility bowler to go through the overs. Batsman who wins matches singlehandedly but also flopped regularly Great fielder. I dont remember ever one all round MOM performance from him where lets say he made a 50+ and took 3-4 wickets
He was a batsman, not an alrounder as such.
He was a batsman' date=' not an alrounder as such.[/quote'] Would he make into the Aussie side of the time purely as a batsman?? Prolly not. Guys like Hodge, Hussey etc. would have played before him
Would he make into the Aussie side of the time purely as a batsman?? Prolly not. Guys like Hodge, Hussey etc. would have played before him
Yes. He played purely as a batsman. He was a batsman who could bowl a bit like Ganguly. He was a match winner in ODIs and had decent test record too. Symonds debuted in ODIs in 1998 and only gotta play test 6 years later in 2004 only once he did well in ODIs. Hussey made his ODI debut in 2004 and played test a year later.

Really???? I mean really? We are discussing something that will happen many years, probably a decade or more from now....aur kuch nahi bacha hai ab discuss karne ko :facepalm:

Nobody can predict. I think he will be a gun player in ODIs everywhere. He needs to improve and get better in tests. He can be a handy bowler in Indian conditions in both ODIs and tests. Overseas, he needs to add variety and skills to his bowling armory and that will come with experience. I get the impression he will also become a better batsman in tests as he plays more.