Ganguly Must Go !

RajaRaja

raja look at this 2006-2007 SAF v IND 3 6 1 2 0 66 214 42.80 3 0 2006-2007 BAN v IND 2 3 0 0 1 100 128 42.67 2 0 2007 ENG v IND 3 6 1 2 0 79 249 49.80 0 0 2005-2006 IND v ENG 3 6 1 1 0 *76 95 19.00 0 0 2005-2006 WIN v IND 4 7 0 1 1 180 357 51.00 2 0 2006-2007 SAF v IND 3 6 0 0 0 40 89 14.83 6 0 top 1 is dada's series, since he came back.. bottom one is sehwag's last 3.. dada= more consistent...sehwag= well u see..:P +sehwag's odi form was trash..basically given his wicket away... he needed a break...dada has given more consistency :)

You can quote his wonderful stats in the last 2 series for ever. But I tend to look at a whole career. Since making 2 hundreds in his first 2 tests he has only scored 11 further test centuries in 11 years (3 of which are against Bangladesh and Zimbabwe). When you compare that to the other regular test match batsman who bat at number 5 for their countries it's a very moderate return. Long term Sehwag is a better player for India's future. Yes in ODI's yes he has been inconsistent. But India does not need Ganguly in ODI's there are many other options. The same applies in test matches , Viru is a proven World Class player with a great test record against Pakistan and Australia. Viru needs a route back in as he is only 29 years old and has not played for a year. In Gwalior he looked very solid and adapted his style in order to bat for a long time. India needs his aggression and quality. If not him look at Robin or Yuvraj. Both are outstanding fielders too. Ganguly must make way for them. Australia and Pakistan would fear Sehwag, Yuvraj or Uthappa they won't be at all concerned about Ganguly. Outside India people don't rate Sourav Ganguly. They see him a manipulative character who has played far too much cricket than his ability deserves. Even when he was captain his performances were so poor and was only in the side to captain. And that too because of his big sponsor in the BCCI Jagmohan Dalmiya.

If there is not other way to get sehwag a lokk in one day then I concede.. but I guess there is certain player called Gambhir who is passenger and sehwag very well can replace himm in test cricket Ganguly deserves his place ahead of many other forget sehwag he is an opener sud never have bene dropped in first place..

A world class player who doesn't guarentee more than 20 runs in a match is worth nothing. At the end of day result is team lost miserably. We need a guy who can take us longer than that... 40+ is the demand. Kyaaa din aa gayee hai... Ganguly compared with Sehwag :hysterical::hysterical:. Always remember budha sher jawan ..#$#$# se kahi achha..

Ganguly's old ghosts outside the off-stump are coming back to haunt him. Of course, he will have to play less flamboyant shots outside off-stump and that increases his probability of survival, but he is one potential weakness that the Australians will target.

Sehwag and the Afridi (the slogger guy from Pak) are not similar. One guy has scored test double and triple hundreds and is still capable of it. The other guy is not an authentic batsman. Did you see the humiliating way Ganguly played at Lords in the final ODI ? Technique was no where against short pitched bowling. Expect a lot more of that in Australia and from Akhtar and Gul in the coming series. The limited number of bouncers rule will not save Ganguly in the test arena. Also the vulnerabilities of waving his bat outside off-stump are still there. This thread is not about Ganguly Vs Sehwag but Ganguly's career which is going nowhere against a whole crop of young talented batters who deserve a chance now. As I keep saying no more than 3 or 4 senior players : Sachin , Dravid and Kumble for test matches. VVS Laxman should be given a final chance as he has been forced to bat at 6 to accomodate a lesser player Ganguly at 5.

your crazy look at the amount of runs he's scored since he has come back into the team he is the 3rd highest run scorer in ODIs this year after hayden and sachin sehwag has had one decent innings lately and that was the other day yeh he hasnt played much before then, but theres a reason for that, he's rubbish

haha brainwashed the stats say it all its people like you who are brainwashed, your mind is set to not liking ganguly. even if he performs well you still want to put him down yeh he scores 40's and 50's and doesnt go on, sometimes that isnt the worst thing in the world soon your gonna be saying drop tendulkar because he hasnt score a 100 in a long time

Out-of-form Sourav Ganguly to sit out MUMBAI, November 16: As soon as India wrapped up the ODI series in Gwalior, the selectors revealed their intention to rest the senior players in the team and give a chance to the reserves on the bench. The team management, has however, put its foot down and ensured that Sachin Tendulkar plays in the fifth and final ODI in Jaipur too. According to sources, it is now learnt that only Sourav Ganguly, Zaheer Khan, RP Singh and Harbhajan Singh will make way on Sunday. More interestingly, there are clear indications that Ganguly, who has been struggling to strike form, is living on borrowed time. Sreesanth, who needs to bowl before the first Test match against Pakistan in New Delhi (from November 22) is certain to play along with Murali Kartik and Rohit Sharma. Uttar Pradesh all-rounder Praveen Kumar is also expected to make his debut. Incidentally, during the seventh and final ODI against Australia in Mumbai too, the selectors were keen to rest Ganguly along with Rahul Dravid. But he managed to play that game as the team management insisted on playing him. Tendulkar too would have missed the Jaipur game but the team pointed out that as there was only one batsman in the reserves (Rohit), it would affect the composition of the squad. "We have been considering all options but as things stand we have only four players on the bench and they shall all get the chance," said a highly-placed team source. "There was a debate about Tendulkar too but it holds no water. Ganguly is out of touch and the obvious choice to make place for a batsman. All the other three are bowlers. More importantly it is not about effecting changes just to accommodate the reserves. The idea is to get Sreesanth ready for the Test match series and to give Zaheer, RP and Harbhajan the much-needed rest ahead of the bigger challenge," the source explained. Moreover about asking Tendulkar to 'rest', TOI learnt that the skipper himself expressed the desire to a selector of wanting to play him. In flowing form, Tendulkar, was once 'rested' during the India-Sri Lanka ODI series last year when Greg Chappell was the coach and the little champion took quite some time to find his glorious touch. The player and the team does not want to be in a similar situation this time round. http://cricket.indiatimes.com/Out-of-form_Sourav_Ganguly_to_sit_out/articleshow/2547066.cms

Isnt the article itself a bunch of self-contradictions and logic-less statements ? Contradction no1 - You dont rest an "out-of-form" player for a dead 5th rubber. Contradiction no2 - The report says the team couldnt rest Sachin as it might affect the " composition of the team" when clearly, in this series itself, they have played 5 batsman , 5 bowlers many times , with Sehwag sitting out. Bottom line - Ganguly will PLAY in the 5th ODI

pjilka : Sachin stays until he decides to retire , Indian cricket owes him that much. For Ganguly the chances have been plenty , too many in fact. Yes I want him out for the future of Indian cricket he must quit. For the nth time its not just about his current form. I couldn't care less if he scores 3 centuries in the next series. :hysterical: Which obviously he has no chance of doing. I pray that he really is on borrowed time.

For me given a free choice my test side would : Openers : Sehwag , Uthappa Middle order : Dravid , Tendulkar , Laxman ,Yuvraj , Wicketkeeper : MS Dhoni Bowlers : Sreesanth , Zaheer , RP Singh , Kumble. Reserve : Munaf Patel , Harbhajan Singh. ODIs would be same minus Kumble replaced by Piyush Chawla , VVS Laxman replaced by Irfan. Ofcourse the batting order would be different with Sachin opening. Patel is too good to be another wasted talent. Just one last thought : Go Ganguly Go !!!

Raja, you can't just want Gangs dumped because you don't like him. As long as he is performing a role(which being part of a very very successful opening p'ship) well, he isn't going anywhere. Agreed that in this series he hasn't done well, but he was good against RSA and England and decent against OZ. Who knows he might score a ton in the last game. Regarding test cricket, there will be lots of heart burn for you if you keep this up because as far as I can tell, he will play all the 7 upcoming tests barring injury. Not only has he scored runs against RSA and England, he has been very assured in his play and compact and neat in his technique. His defence has looked as good as ever.