will BCCI take action to shelve IPL for a year or two? Use that window for proper coaching?

fineleg

Why the hell should IPL be shelved? Just because of some losses in some tests? It's a totally counter intuitive move. You don't stop entertaining cricket in lieu something that most never bother to watch.

Inherent colonial inferiors complex, we must do well in a format which traditionally our English masters have done well in, never mind we don't have experienced players, the ones we have are skilled in the wrong format, and yet we agree to play 5 test matches in their backyard, taking their abuses and then tried in kangaroo courts where we are humiliated. And yet we want our players to beat those guys. The perennial hunt for the fishing compliments out of the white man so that we can feel better huh? Ipl is our format, a thing which hundreds of millions have immediately taken to, it's become a behemoth, defying all white men prophecies that it would fail in a few years, yet instead have grown and helped bcci to ha e cricket by its balls. And yet what do we see? We deserve what we get. Instead of standing by and rooting for our players, their strengths and their skill sets we waste no time in taking them to the cleaners, somehow get happiness from wrist slitting and berating them instead of looking dispassionately and objectively at the issue in hand. We are making sprinters play in the marathon, a marathon which can't survive without money generated from sprints. Seriously guys, chill.

Inherent colonial inferiors complex' date= we must do well in a format which traditionally our English masters have done well in, never mind we don't have experienced players, the ones we have are skilled in the wrong format, and yet we agree to play 5 test matches in their backyard, taking their abuses and then tried in kangaroo courts where we are humiliated. And yet we want our players to beat those guys. The perennial hunt for the fishing compliments out of the white man so that we can feel better huh? Ipl is our format, a thing which hundreds of millions have immediately taken to, it's become a behemoth, defying all white men prophecies that it would fail in a few years, yet instead have grown and helped bcci to ha e cricket by its balls. And yet what do we see? We deserve what we get. Instead of standing by and rooting for our players, their strengths and their skill sets we waste no time in taking them to the cleaners, somehow get happiness from wrist slitting and berating them instead of looking dispassionately and objectively at the issue in hand. We are making sprinters play in the marathon, a marathon which can't survive without money generated from sprints. Seriously guys, chill.
Bola hain bhai!!! :two_thumbs_up:

We start threads about Trott and his "problem" and pour sympathies - all for what? not able to face a fast bowler? And yet when one of our players get abused, pushed and shovelled by a English guy, and then the whole establishment rallies behind that englishman - gets tried in a kangaroo court and actually gets punished for complaining that he got bullied, we waste no time in berating that guy. We ungrateful ****ing idiots, We aren't fans, we are fairweather bloodsuckers. Imagine the morale of a young team which has about the experience as a Bangaldeshi side, and playing a format that doesn't suit their preferred format. They are depressed, they don't have anybody backing them, they get abused and when they complain they get roundly chastised for doing that, with advices such as "man up". Lol what? Where was the manning up in case of Trott? Where was the manning up in case of the 5-0 drubbing in Australia? Had this been a 2 test series, our guys would've been cooling their heels back home with a 1-0 win and having beat England's best in their backyard in their own conditions.

+ 1000000000000

Precambrian needs to learn about the game of cricket. Just some tamasha nonsense of an excuse like IPL is not cricket, so stop randomly ranting against Test cricket. Any cricketer worth his skill will tell you what format the game is about. I know BCCI is a greedy organization and they'd rather kill cricket at the expense of ridiculous BS like IPL, but that does not make it the right decision.

fineleg needs to understand that I like most people in this world don't live in the past. And that I can have an opinion and stick to it. Also fineleg would do well to state what percentage of the population really follow test cricket in India these days, and then compare it with IPL. Also would appreciate if a breakup of revenue generated by test kirkut vis-a-vis expenditure on it by the boards these days. I am farily sure fineleg belongs to that set of fine gentlemen/ladies who still prefer the remington typewriter over a computer, and bell bottom pants over denims. Well good for him/her and better if he/she kept it to himself/herself and not impose it on others.

This IPL v Tests debate reminds me of the English premier league v English national football team debate. From the money involved in both leagues to the apparent disinterest of English players and lack of technique when playing for England. Would the English FA shelve the EPl cash cow for two years in order for the England players to prepare properly for the 2016 European championships? Would they 'eck as like!!!

Well, it's safe to World cups have become largely Euro-centric. Even the latin american countries are playing the European style primarily due their stars being active in those leagues. And it's kinda becoming homogenous and rather boring. Club football has nearly decimated national football. and if that can happen in a sport with over a hundred active nations playing it, imagine a sport like cricket where probably 10-12 nations take it with any seriousness, and out of them 1 generates 70% of the revenue. Sooner or later, this one country is going to sit up and really think what's that it is doing donating 60% of its revenue for nothing in return - market economics really.
Seeing how poorly Indianteam is performing in tests' date=' BCCI will have IPL twice a year and play only home matches for tests.[/quote'] In the long run, IPL should be played for 6 months in a year and expanded vertically and horizontally to cover all sets of populations.
Seeing how poorly Indianteam is performing in tests' date=' BCCI will have IPL twice a year and play only home matches for tests.[/quote'] Will love to see that. Indian team don't give a s hit about there performance. Bcci and it's selectors don't care either (almost the same struggling team and XI will play in Australia). Better expand IPL. Allow more foreign players in XI. At least losses in IPL are forgotten by next day. These kind of test performance stays painfully for years. 2011 England surrender is still in memory and Indian decides to pile on it. Same with upcoming Australia tour. Our team basic funda is to force us fans to detach yourself from national team and support IPL in bigger number and support its eventual expansion.

Well obviously OP didn't make any sense but I am more disappointed with other posters here. Not sure if people are serious when they blame BCCI for giving less focus to test cricket. India is the only team in Asia that plays most amount of test cricket and only after Eng & Aust globally. So its obvious BCCI cares and dead serious about test cricket. But in order to maintain its financial stability they need IPL. Absolutely nothing wrong it. People who blames IPL for our poor performance is test are lol worthy. Bottomline is our players are rubbish in these conditions and we just need something to blame to make ourself happy. What better than IPL?

Well obviously OP didn't make any sense but I am more disappointed with other posters here. Not sure if people are serious when they blame BCCI for giving less focus to test cricket. India is the only team in Asia that plays most amount of test cricket and only after Eng & Aust globally. So its obvious BCCI cares and dead serious about test cricket. But in order to maintain its financial stability they need IPL. Absolutely nothing wrong it. People who blames IPL for our poor performance is test are lol worthy, Bottomline is our players are rubbish in these conditions and we just need something to blame to make ourself happy. What better than IPL?
dhoni bachao samiti continues :dance:
Can't do much if Pujara keeps getting bowled and looks dead duck against swing bowling :winky:
both him and kohli did well in SA and NZ. captain cool lost the initiative in both countries due to process-based captaincy :nice: even in england, instead of going for the kill, he allows england to come back when they are at an all-time low.
Now c'mmon you are trying needlessly :cantstop: In this series he has tried everyone and given equal oppurtunity. Except his CSK teammate Pandey everyone got fair chance to make their mark but all failed. Failed failed and keep on failing. No justification for 8-4, 9 wickets in a session and 6 wickets before lunch.
dhoni supporters can't face reality :giggle: in both SA and NZ we should have won the series but captain cool kept backing that old fart zak. everyone knew he was finished in SA but he continued to pick him in NZ. thats just one of his mistakes. lets not get started on his atrocious handling of fast bowlers.