sachin34357 Posted September 3, 2014 Posted September 3, 2014 Sir Ian Botham has called for the Indian Premier League to be scrapped because it is "too powerful for the long-term good of the game". The former England captain says the IPL provides the "perfect opportunity for betting and therefore fixing" and believes "players are slaves to it". "I'm worried about the IPL - in fact, I feel it shouldn't be there at all," the 58-year-old said. "It is changing the priorities of world cricket." Botham's comments came as he delivered the 2014 MCC Spirit of Cricket Cowdrey Lecture at Lord's on Wednesday. The IPL, the world's richest cricket tournament, was first staged in 2008 and is renowned for paying large salaries to competing players. The annual tournament has been dogged by allegations of spot-fixing and illegal betting, and in April of this year India's Supreme Court asked the country's cricket board to investigate the claims. Botham added: "How on earth did the IPL own the best players in the world for two months a year and not pay a penny to the boards who brought these players into the game? "Corruption is enough of a problem in itself, but the IPL compounds that problem given it provides the perfect opportunity for betting and therefore fixing." Addressing the International Cricket Council's efforts to rid the game of corruption, Botham added: "We have seen a few players exposed, but does throwing the odd second XI player into jail solve it? "To kill the serpent, you must cut off its head. The ICC Anti-Corruption Unit must pursue the root of the problem and if necessary expose the big names." http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/cricket/29056439?SThisEM
sachin34357 Posted September 3, 2014 Author Posted September 3, 2014 He should stick to tweeting pictures of his d1cK
kubrickian Posted September 3, 2014 Posted September 3, 2014 What about fixing in county cricket ? Should we ban county cricket too ?
vvvslaxman Posted September 3, 2014 Posted September 3, 2014 Seenu mama will give a commie post and shut him up. He will soon buy the whole England.
zep1706 Posted September 3, 2014 Posted September 3, 2014 I don't follow IPL but this is plain stupid. He is not qualified to tell people what to do. He is an ignorant hillbilly who just happened to be a good cricketer.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted September 3, 2014 Posted September 3, 2014 Not his thing to comment on.Uske Baap ka nahi hai IPL.
undisputed chap Posted September 3, 2014 Posted September 3, 2014 Good that he brings up corruption but the manner he brings it up annhilates his own points & makes a fool of himself.
SLICKR392 Posted September 3, 2014 Posted September 3, 2014 I don't get why IPL should pay the board who owns the player? England basically own players playing for the Test team from various different countries. Chewtiya of A grade! Go back to your penis selfies.
Cricket_Hacker Posted September 4, 2014 Posted September 4, 2014 He wants Ashes twice an year i guess
Deleted_User_1 Posted September 4, 2014 Posted September 4, 2014 I for one wholeheartedly agree with Beefy. IPL should cease to exist. While it has provided a source of income for many Indian cricketers, too many with questionable talent have become millionaires. How is that advancing the quality of Indian cricket, especially where it matters - TESTS!! No one will leave a legacy of a great tonty-tonty career at club level. :giggle: And because of IPL, these Indian cricketers have no desire or commitment to the longer version of the game. Why would you toil hard if you can pocket millions in 2 months cowlashing?
Midfielder Posted September 4, 2014 Posted September 4, 2014 I for one wholeheartedly agree with Beefy. IPL should cease to exist. While it has provided a source of income for many Indian cricketers, too many with questionable talent have become millionaires. How is that advancing the quality of Indian cricket, especially where it matters - TESTS!! No one will leave a legacy of a great tonty-tonty career at club level. :giggle: And because of IPL, these Indian cricketers have no desire or commitment to the longer version of the game. Why would you toil hard if you can pocket millions in 2 months cowlashing? So what is wrong with Indian cricketeres making money. That effortless six by rahane was a fruit of 20/20. You can watch test and leave 20/20 alone.
Scarves Posted September 4, 2014 Posted September 4, 2014 Botham's grapes are sour' date=' it appears.[/quote'] Fixed
Deleted_User_1 Posted September 4, 2014 Posted September 4, 2014 So what is wrong with Indian cricketeres making money. That effortless six by rahane was a fruit of 20/20. You can watch test and leave 20/20 alone. I am not against cricketer making millions if they are worth it. But too many mediocre talents are getting big cash these days. Just like I despise Kim Kardashian being a celebrity with zero talent, while I have no problem with accomplished actors and musicians making loads of money. BTW, Viv Richards hit effortless sixes before ODI came along. Watch some cricket before spewing shyt.
Midfielder Posted September 4, 2014 Posted September 4, 2014 I am not against cricketer making millions if they are worth it. But too many mediocre talents are getting big cash these days. Just like I despise Kim Kardashian being a celebrity with zero talent, while I have no problem with accomplished actors and musicians making loads of money. BTW, Viv Richards hit effortless sixes before ODI came along. Watch some cricket before spewing shyt. That was Viv and I have seen him hit sixes at feroze shah kotla. Now Indians are hitting those sixes and I am happy. As far as Kim is concerned quit watching that ****. Let the free market decides which cricketers make money. Dont be so jealous but feel happy from them There was a time when Bedi mentioned Indian cricket players had no money for breakfast in away tour and all they would eat is the cookies served in the morning. Wadekar wore torn shoes for cricket and Sobers wanted to give it to him for free. I am happy for them. Botham can take a hike.