Do house owners take 10 months advance anywhere else in the world except bangalore?
Blame the IT industry. When their salary touched unreasonable figures post 2000 they were willing to pay anything anyone asked. With so much competition to pay whatever they ask the house owners started demanding more.
Right. Higher rent is one thing, but taking 10 months' advance upfront is pure exploitation. I understand many companies do give money for rent advances when u join them, but in many cases the tenant will give from his\her pocket.
True. The difference between say Mumbai and Chennai is for Chennai it all happened in the space of last 10 or 12 years. It was completely different 12 years back.. Now it has become unrecognizable. Chennai's area In 2011 the area of chennai was increased from 176 sq Km to 426 sq Km. Population almost doubled. Lot of changes have taken place in the last 10 years or so. I am not sure about Mumbai. Mumbai was a busy , crowded, expensive city even in the 80s. Chennai on the other hand was a perfectly livable, cheap city until early 2000s. Now things have changed dramatically. How much more these cities can absorb is the question. There is a small matter of environmental impacts. They cut down so many trees to accommodate ever swelling population. Bangalore was another perfect cosmopolitan city to live 10 or 15 years back with great weather. Nowadays it is unable to handle the traffic despite having public transportation system. Apart from Delhi other cities are not well designed cities. INfact we only have a handful of well planned cities in India. When the population was managable these things should have been one. Doing after feeling the impact is always going to leave you doing the catch up job.
Inner City of Chennai is safe and there is no expansion, all the empty space and old building are being destroyed and build for luxury flats. City limit has been extended till Tamabaram, which was a forest 10 years ago and buying a land/flat over there too damn costly now. If you take a drive from Tamabaram to Chengalpet you will find each area have been dramatically developed and you will find almost everything that you get in the city. Top restaurant and food outlets have been found from Tam to Potheri(SRM Univeristy). You will even find a movie mall in Chengalpet now and its all due to Mahindra City(IT) near CGL. Same ^ can be applied to ECR/OMR side, Navalur has turned into IT hub and lots of apartment has come up and independent home..IT on both these highway made huge profits for real estates..Prices are increasing way faster and Chennai city limit is expanding at a good rate.. Hope both Metro and Monorail are up and running in the upcoming 5 years, Phase 1 of Metro Rail supposed to start in early of 2015. Suburban/Metro/Mono rail will be connecting in St.Thomas Mount.
10th month advance was there even before IT industry was well established here.
Biggest draw back of Mumbai is the social divide which is not the same with other cities. 54% of Mumbai population lives in slums. Where as only 18 and 10 percentages of slum people live in chennai and Bangalore respectively.
People living in slums don't equate to "social divide". The draw back is not in Mumbai but lack of opportunities or superior opportunities in Mumbai in comparison to other cities. Bangalore, Pune and Hyderabad have only caught in the last decade. Mumbai is truly a metropolitan city (Bangalore, Pune and Hyderabad are slowly getting there) with people across different social strata unlike Delhi or Chennai.
Let me narrate you another incident when I was in Bangalore. I wasn't living in a flat but a large residence for working people. Now, they set room prices and before signing the contract they asked me to share my work agreement (which includes company details etc.). The ***** that I am, I asked them why and didn't receive a satisfactory answer. I refused and they said it is mandatory - I asked them to tell me WHY it is mandatory. Once again, I didn't receive a satisfactory answer - we require it blah, blah, blah etc. Finally, I told them I wouldn't share and that if they want to refuse they could give it to me in writing. I also told them that I would tell the company about this practice - they had a contract with the company where they would house guests etc. Immediately, the discarded that requirement for me. Now, later I spoke to some colleagues - most of whom like me had just joined a new company and asked them if they indeed shared their work agreements. I couldn't meet a single other person who said NO or even asked why they required it. I asked them to think as to why would a residential rental company asked for your work agreement and they seem stumped. I suggested them not to share but I received typical replies - "Kya hi hota hai?", "Chalet hai yaar!", "Chhod na, itna mat such.." etc. I told them the reason they ask for your work agreements is to check your salary and use it for future price hikes. I told them if they don't believe me to try redacting the salary from the contract and give it to them. Sure enough in 6 months, rent prices were hiked by 500/- a month which later they would recall after much hullaboo. Later, the practice of asking for work agreements was discontinued and set a trend amongst tenants. We are used to be trampled upon with respect to our civil rights to address incompetency by the government. Sometimes simple efforts from our side could lead to an immediate resolution but we don't want to because we don't care. OTOH, the system is designed in such a way such that the people push you till you feel exploited. The exploitation line is imaginary and decided by personal preferences rather than an objective one. It's a pot pourri and none among of massaging ego based on our "glorious past" will change the situation. /rant
I expected that answer from you - Shiv Sena after all.
its pure mathematics the BMC is one of the best run municipal councils in the country. 31,000 crore budget and about 13 million people. Does not work out to much per person. Then you have to keep in mind that the rains and the heavy use of roads etc. I went to BJP run Nagpur and i can say hand on heart the BMC is more efficient despite Mumbai being a much bigger city. Let me tell you a story, a road near our apartment was broken and the BMC decided to get it fixed and decided to work on it over night section by section as it was a heavily used road. Some idiot filed an PIL and its been still fought out in the courts. This is exactly why Fadnavis flagging off Mumbai metro 2 means jack. Sooner or later somebody will file a PIL and delay the project. Between the BMC and the MMDRA i would say that BMC have been rather more efficient. The reason is that the BMC is staffed with people who know the city inside out. MMDRA is staffed with people from Western Maharashtra with dodgy backgrounds. The suburban railways are in the hands of the a central agency and department. Big questions surely have to be answered by them. Progress of track improvements in Navi mumbai are extremity slow. Then there are other issues, such as FSI of Mumbai being only 1.3. As a result the BMC has to deal with the fallout of cars being parked all over the road because builders lack the space.
Sure, Shiv Sena is the bestest sir - no doubt, everything else - meh. So I guess all is fine with the BMC, I can now go back and live a swastha wonderful maintained evergreen rosy Mumbai.
Sure' date=' Shiv Sena is the [b']bestest sir - no doubt, everything else - meh. So I guess all is fine with the BMC, I can now go back and live a swastha wonderful maintained evergreen rosy Mumbai.
again i state you need to look at the respective budget and responsibilities. Per capita what exactly do you want these agencies to do? Its like you give me Rs10 and expect me to throw a big party. Even the most capable people would fall short. You want services, by all means pay for them. Maybe time has come to heavily raise taxes In London for example per capita local spending is about £7000.
G_B_, Can I suggest something? For a moment, just a for a tiny bit moment - remove the SS eyed glasses and put them aside and try to understand the point I'm trying to make. FYI, my paternal aunt is a SS corporate for about 30 years now so I know what the SS is made of, inside out. Your argument here reminds me of my days in the Class XI Physics laboratory where out of sheer frustration when I was unable to get the results - I drew the graph and then tabulated the readings. The budget for what BMC gets to do its task is enough. BMC is allocated more budget than the entire state of Goa or some NE states. In 2013-2014, BMC used ONLY 28% of its budget for its responsibilities. This after taking care of pensions, PFs, recurring expenditures. The fire brigade and estate departments used 2% of the funds allocated to them. FTR, there were 8 major fires and 5 buildings crashed down. They still used ill-equipped, age old equipment. Bridges spent only 21% of their budget and built 5 rather than 15 that they promised. Only 24% of the roads budget was utilized, Estate had 2.5% utilized (yea but bribing didn't stop) and 78% of Health budget was unused. So please spare the cynic in me to question that BMC has no budget etc. that's some high class BS. Even on projects where BMC spends the budget - they don't do a good job. BMC should be actually called Brihanmumbai Municipal Cancer because that is what they are - corrupt, inefficient babudom. Now, even if you don't want to believe me - please let me know next time you're in Mumbai. Both of us will go to the BMC wards across the city and I will show you the ordeal to get a simple Birth Certificate.
Thats a redundant argument. The population of Mumbai is more than Goa. Not to mention the cost of getting things done. Salaries for employees for example are a lot more because the cost of living is higher. I personally recommend you research the budgets and responsibilities of the entities involved.
achilles, Do you realize that narrow-mindedness starts with ourselves first? Look at your posts in ICF (I am not saying this with malice, just look at it objectively). With the amount of name-calling (such as azz-lickrs etc) and hate you show towards south indians (even if its cricket based) - with such parochial attitude, how would India improve man? Unless there is broad minded thinking, will the situations even begin to improve?
Hi Finey, Always nice to hear from you. Objectively, I understand that South has been scorned for decades by the MCA, Pawar and the ilk, but that does not mean it is justified for them to do the same sh*t again as a tit-for-tat exercise. Two wrongs don't make a right. Quite frankly, most of us are sick by the utter shamelessness and brazenness being shown by Srinivasan. What amazes me in particular is how ppl even have it in them to defend a bloody criminal just because he happens to belong to their part of the country. How racist is that! Broad-minded thinking allows one to criticize MCA & TNCA equally, Mumbai & Chennai equally. And in the past 5 yrs that I've been here, you've seen it all. I'm the last person to be selective at congratulating or criticizing.
when did this happen? you do know that Pawar-Bindra-Srini axis overthrew Dalmiya faction right? The differences between Pawar and Srini arose because Srini started to monopolise his position rather than step aside after his time in power was done. Pawar is not even a Mumbaikar. Just happens to have a Mumbai address. I would take Srini over his anyday. But lets not go about throwing statements like MCA marginalized TNCA. Chennai has been hosting some key games for India in all formats of cricket over the last 15 years. The spat between Pawar and Srini started when Srini and Co blacklisted DY Patil stadium apparently for hosting England for some unauthorized practice. Pawar saw it as a power play on his turf.

achilles, I agree with you fully abt the rogues in bcci. We all (nearly all of us, except Velu and maybe one or two) hate NSrinvsn. I am talking specifically abt name calling Ashwin for the NS corruption. But that doesnt mean Ashwin becomes an azz lickr. I dont think Ashwin did any licking to be in the squad. He is there because no other spinner has clearly replaced him as spinner (plus part time batting allrounder). Thats what I meant. NSrin deserves all the brickbats, yes. And goofy selections (which I hate too) has always been part of Selection committees of past decades also (unfortunately).

Thats a redundant argument. The population of Mumbai is more than Goa. Not to mention the cost of getting things done. Salaries for employees for example are a lot more because the cost of living is higher. I personally recommend you research the budgets and responsibilities of the entities involved.
BMC doesn't spend even 1/3 of its budget so there's no question of financial issues.