Glaring umpiring decisions- India in Australia 2014/15

Ashwin certainly looked not out in real time. Ch9 commentators saying it crashed into leg stump :giggle:
So, I gather that the status is as follows: if one of our batsmen in given out, and DRS says not-out we believe DRS. If DRS says its out, then we blame the DRS. Good stragegy :giggle:
So' date=' I gather that the status is as follows: if one of our batsmen in given out, and DRS says not-out we believe DRS. If DRS says its out, then we blame the DRS. Good stragegy :giggle:[/quote'] I am not making any comment on DRS Bhai. According to Hawk Eye it was clipping leg stump, fair call by the umpire even though it was marginal. But Ch 9 wants viewers to believe that it CRASHED into leg stump and was plumb. I am taking a dig at Ch 9 and not DRS.
I am not making any comment on DRS Bhai. According to Hawk Eye it was clipping leg stump' date=' fair call by the umpire even though it was marginal. But Ch 9 wants viewers to believe that it CRASHED into leg stump and was plumb. I am taking a dig at Ch 9 and not DRS.[/quote'] Ok. I felt it was marginal too, but at least it wasn't a howler yaar... like Simon Fry :giggle: As for Ch9, we all know how "unbiased" they are.

Couple of poor ones on day 5, but only 1 howler. I'm happy with the last not out decision, I was amazed that Hawkeye had it clipped and that is why I hate Hawkeye. If that was hitting the stumps I'm the Pope!

Couple of poor ones on day 5' date=' but only 1 howler. I'm happy with the last not out decision, I was amazed that Hawkeye had it clipped and that is why I hate Hawkeye. If that was hitting the stumps I'm the Pope![/quote'] It's funny, if Hawkeye shows an Indian batsman not out its spot on, but it's doubtfull when it shows an Indian batsman out, it's getting confusing. FTR I thought Hawkeye showed exactly where the ball hit, it was definately clipping leg, I do think it was a bad decision though, for me more than half the ball needs to be hitting to make it a good call, but it didn't look great live from the batsman. As for the lob sided "wrong decision" ladder, Australia generated a hell of a lot more opportunities than India did overall, the wrong decisions can be explained by sheer weight of numbers. And less we forget, it's not like Australia (or any other team for matter) haven't been on the receiving end of crap umpiring in India, I remember one series when all's India had to do was apeal to get an Australian wkt, what can I say, love is blind.
Both sides would have similar 'decisions' going their way at home' date=' just the way it is. DRS isn't perfect but it has to be in place world wide.[/quote'] Yup, but even without it simple logic says the better team will get the rub of the green with the umpires, if you generate 30 close calls to the oppositions 15 of course you're going end up on top regarding marginal calls.
Yup' date=' but even without it simple logic says the better team will get the rub of the green with the umpires, if you generate 30 close calls to the oppositions 15 of course you're going end up on top regarding marginal calls.[/quote'] Look ideally you get every decision correct but umpires are human and they can make an error. Is DRS perfect, no. That said is some system Better than none, yes.
Look ideally you get every decision correct but umpires are human and they can make an error. Is DRS perfect' date=' no. That said is some system Better than none, yes.[/quote'] Agreed. The only thing I have against DRS is the limited times you can go to it, I realise it can't be open slather but I reckon 2 goes isn't enough, I'd give each team 5 unsuccessful goes, after all it makes for great viewing, just need to speed the process up a bit.
Agreed. The only thing I have against DRS is the limited times you can go to it, I realise it can't be open slather but I reckon 2 goes isn't enough, I'd give each team 5 unsuccessful goes, after all it makes for great viewing, just need to speed the process up a bit.
Would have to increase the hours of play as Itnis they struggle to bowl 90 overs let alone with 10 reviews an innings! Would Be happy with 3 reviews personally

Saha's is also missing leg stump...it was low..hence it was given..we can see his leg stump and the line of the ball after spin would have certainly missed leg stump. Same was the case with Ashwin. It would have missed leg stump..

Sasha's was hitting middle! He was struck on off stump. Was crashing into middle!
Agreed. The only thing I have against DRS is the limited times you can go to it, I realise it can't be open slather but I reckon 2 goes isn't enough, I'd give each team 5 unsuccessful goes, after all it makes for great viewing, just need to speed the process up a bit.
DRS is supposed to be used to correct howlers. If you referred a decision and it still ends up going against you, then you haven't referred a howler and don't deserve to use the system anymore. But you still get one more chance to use it properly. Mess up again, you absolutely don't deserve to use it again. Two unsuccessful tries is fair IMO. If you only refer howlers, you get unlimited use of the DRS. It's not as if it is limited to two calls even if you are successful.
But teams don't just refer howlers, they never have and they never will, only takes a minute to review, give them 5 each, adds to the drama, make the lazy sods start 20 minutes earlier lol, they're paid enough.
But teams don't just refer howlers' date=' they never have and they never will, only takes a minute to review, give them 5 each, adds to the drama, make the [b']lazy sods start 20 minutes earlier lol, they're paid enough.
That they are. Cricket is quite a lazy game, all things considered.