maniac Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 Guys travelling to India this weekend,have a 20 hour Layover in Dubai,so will be doing the regular touristy stuff....apart from that any other suggestions-Shopping,Food etc.? Thanks in Advance
maniac Posted February 27, 2015 Author Posted February 27, 2015 I am getting the tour package but apart from that-what else is there to do? I am planning to buy some gold?So is it really that cheap and worth it...because I might have to pay custom charges if I buy a coin or a small nugget right? so if i buy an ornament can I negotiate? Suggestions please
zen Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 20 hours is not much time to do a lot of things. Focus on quality over quantity. I don't know what your flight schedule is but Emirates may offer guided tour packages, see the link below: http://www.emiratesvacations.com/ I am not sure if this is a good time to buy gold from an investment perspective. But for personal use there is never a bad time. You can always put on a personal ornament or say that the collection is a part of personal collection at the airport :dontknow:
maniac Posted February 27, 2015 Author Posted February 27, 2015 20 hours is not much time to do a lot of things. Focus on quality over quantity. I don't know what your flight schedule is but Emirates may offer guided tour packages, see the link below: http://www.emiratesvacations.com/ I am not sure if this is a good time to buy gold from an investment perspective. But for personal use there is never a bad time. You can always put on a personal ornament or say that the collection is a part of personal collection at the airport :dontknow: That is what I am getting :two_thumbs_up:....usually these guided tours are regular touristy stuff....So just wanted to see if there are any suggestions on restaurants,shopping etc from resident icfr's or icfr's who have travelled their before.
jalebi_bhai Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 Guys travelling to India this weekend,have a 20 hour Layover in Dubai,so will be doing the regular touristy stuff....apart from that any other suggestions-Shopping,Food etc.? Thanks in Advance Don't go to Dubai Mall, it is stupidly big, like Canada. :giggle: Use the metro network and get off at Deira City Centre for your shopping needs. If your flight is leaving from Terminal 1, don't bother with DCC either as you can shop in Terminal 1 duty free. For cultural stuff, go to the Dubai Museum (Al-Fahidi Fort). There is metro connectivity to the Museum as well. Get off at Fahidi Station. You can then roam around Fahidi St. and Meena Bazaar area and give yourself a bit of a reality check. Dubai is not all about skyscrapers. If you wanna just chill, Jumeirah is a cool place. It is the beach area. You can shop and dine. The Atlantis Hotel is also really cool. Some nice restaurants, though you need heavy pockets to dine there.
jalebi_bhai Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 I am getting the tour package but apart from that-what else is there to do? I am planning to buy some gold?So is it really that cheap and worth it...because I might have to pay custom charges if I buy a coin or a small nugget right? so if i buy an ornament can I negotiate? Suggestions please There is a gold souk in Deira, run by Dawood Ibrahim. You can go there. New Gold Souk in Bur Dubai. Karama Gold Souk in Karama Centre. I'm not aware of the current prices.
zen Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 There is an underwater restaurant at Burj-Al-Arab, if the bill is too high you can always break the glass :P
jalebi_bhai Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 That is what I am getting :two_thumbs_up:....usually these guided tours are regular touristy stuff....So just wanted to see if there are any suggestions on restaurants' date='shopping etc from resident icfr's or icfr's who have travelled their before.[/quote'] Getting that package is a waste of time frankly. You can sight-see by yourself via the metro system. Just need a bucket list for what you want to do.
maniac Posted February 27, 2015 Author Posted February 27, 2015 There is a gold souk in Deira' date= run by Dawood Ibrahim. You can go there. New Gold Souk in Bur Dubai. Karama Gold Souk in Karama Centre. Should I think about ethics or the prospect of getting cheap gold...catch 22 :giggle: Definetely will check it out...but what do you think,it is really that cheap?that it's worth buying just for the heck of it. The sterotype is gold is cheap there and online it says that gold is the thing to buy in Dubai...but some of my friends have said it is not really that much cheaper and noth worth dealing with customs in India.
maniac Posted February 27, 2015 Author Posted February 27, 2015 Don't go to Dubai Mall, it is stupidly big, like Canada. :giggle: Use the metro network and get off at Deira City Centre for your shopping needs. If your flight is leaving from Terminal 1, don't bother with DCC either as you can shop in Terminal 1 duty free. For cultural stuff, go to the Dubai Museum (Al-Fahidi Fort). There is metro connectivity to the Museum as well. Get off at Fahidi Station. You can then roam around Fahidi St. and Meena Bazaar area and give yourself a bit of a reality check. Dubai is not all about skyscrapers. If you wanna just chill, Jumeirah is a cool place. It is the beach area. You can shop and dine. The Atlantis Hotel is also really cool. Some nice restaurants, though you need heavy pockets to dine there. Thanks....This is good :icflove: ,but I beleive the tour package covers most of this stuff,except of course the Fahdi stuff.
maniac Posted February 27, 2015 Author Posted February 27, 2015 There is an underwater restaurant at Burj-Al-Arab, if the bill is too high you can always break the glass :P Emirates is not giving me a free hotel :mad: because my ticket was less than a $1000....it came to $945 :WTF: really pissed at them.
jalebi_bhai Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 Should I think about ethics or the prospect of getting cheap gold...catch 22 :giggle: Definetely will check it out...but what do you think,it is really that cheap?that it's worth buying just for the heck of it. The sterotype is gold is cheap there and online it says that gold is the thing to buy in Dubai...but some of my friends have said it is not really that much cheaper and noth worth dealing with customs in India. Give me 10 minutes. I've whatsapp'd my friend. He'll give me some info soon.
maniac Posted February 27, 2015 Author Posted February 27, 2015 Give me 10 minutes. I've whatsapp'd my friend. He'll give me some info soon. Thanks man...appreciate it
zen Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 The sterotype is gold is cheap there and online it says that gold is the thing to buy in Dubai...but some of my friends have said it is not really that much cheaper and noth worth dealing with customs in India. I guess the savings would depends upon the quantity. For a few grams, the savings may not be worth the hassle. On the other hand, if you are buying 1 Kg or more, may be there could be a case Another point is that gold ornaments in Dubai could be of standard quality. In India the quality control (higher % of alloy used vs. gold's) may not be there apart from at top jewelers
zen Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 Emirates is not giving me a free hotel :mad: because my ticket was less than a $1000....it came to $945 :WTF: really pissed at them. $945 is not bad - May be you could have tried getting the premium seats or changed dates which could have bumped the price by a few dollars and you could have got a hotel (if overall savings were worth doing that) :dontknow:
jalebi_bhai Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 Thanks man...appreciate it When is your flight? I think my friend went back to sleep or something :giggle:
maniac Posted February 27, 2015 Author Posted February 27, 2015 When is your flight? I think my friend went back to sleep or something :giggle: Tommorow morning :--D
jalebi_bhai Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 Tommorow morning :--D LOL. He's awake. Waiting for a reply from his Sindhi connection. :giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted February 27, 2015 Posted February 27, 2015 Find as many pakistanis as you can and offer them mithai.