Aakash Chopra's performance thread, 07-08..

Cricketics

I honestly don't care about how many runs we score in the first 30-40 overs. It's all about protecting RD, SRT and SG. Sehwag was a bonus last time around thats it. And no he doesn't deserve a spoton the team now. Its funny, that is Sehwag was the one who scored the double ton - he would definitely have been on the trip, but if AC scores big theres still a debate? Mark my words if SRT is forced on the pitch when the ball is still kinda new then WE ARE DOOMED. Think about it SG next? Newsih ball? thats game over right there ....
Eggjacktly...if we play 35 overs without losing a wicket, even if we are only 60-0 in 35 overs we have done well. Just play out the new ball without losing wicket and tire out Aussie bowlers. There are others like RD, SRT, SG, VVS to score runs later.

Chopra is an opener who played his heart out for the team ... He had the toughest job in the team (along with Sehwag) which was to see out the new ball on Australian pitches, and he did that job every game, only to have middle order batsman score big and outshine him. His stats dont do justice to how good an international opener he was. Anyone who thinks Chopra was not one of the vital cogs in our success in 2003/04 knows nothing about cricket. Just think about this ... yes Shaun Tait is going to be a factor ... but imagine if the guy had to bowl 20 or 30 overs against someone like Chopra who kept stone-walling ... the old ball not doing anything. Then we have guys like Sachin and Laxman walk in.

But who are bowlers of Maharastra?
the frontline seamers - ws sayyed and sm fallah have played 4 Fc Games and 2 fc games respectiveley only known bowler is Sairaj Bahtule, who isn't also the shane warne of our domestic cricket.. Anyway.. i just would be really happy to see Aakash Chopra getting his deserving chance.. he really deserves to go to Australia.. about sehwag, well he is just having his bad time.. kisi ki nazar lag gayi hai uspar
the frontline seamers - ws sayyed and sm fallah have played 4 Fc Games and 2 fc games respectiveley only known bowler is Sairaj Bahtule, who isn't also the shane warne of our domestic cricket.. Anyway.. i just would be really happy to see Aakash Chopra getting his deserving chance.. he really deserves to go to Australia..
Not exactly any known bowler or even a domestic bully! But he can only perform against these opposition, till gets to prove himself again against any stronger one!
about sehwag, well he is just having his bad time.. kisi ki nazar lag gayi hai uspar
Hum sab ki nazar hai uspar. phir bhi perform nahi kar raha. Just one century is needed and that is all!
Guest HariSampath

Akash Chopra is just a ranji bully of low standard bowling on wickets like the beach sand. In international cricket he has been tried and exposed again and again. We cannot hope he will "hold one end up" for 30 overs etc Remember the Brisbane test when Chopra got his "best" 36 off 140 balls ? Sehwag got us off to a flying start with 45 off 50 balls, but the moment Sehwag got out, the bowlers were on top and Gillespie snared Dravid and Sachin in the same over and we were reeling. Chopra had batted for more than 70 balls getting 15 or something in the first 20 overs when Sehwag departed. When he couldn't force the pace and eventually got out at 127-4, it was ganguly's aggressive 100 and VVS aggressive batting that restored the inngs. Chopra will be a liability in the top order and those who claim he will "take shine off and protect sachin"...are surely childish and stupid. If we need a mediocre Chopra to "protect" Sachin from the new ball, when Sachin has been facing the new ball almost all his life in ODIs and is very competent technically, then we are lost. Akash Chopra is a proven international failure and even if he gets 500 notout against Assam or J & K, it will be a wise thing to turn the newspaper to the next page and read what is the latest bollywood gossip. A stone walling Chopra ( if at all he gets to play 20 overs) will only succeed in letting the bowlers get on top and the moment Chopra goes, Sachin and others will come in to an Aussie bowling with tails up, 4 slips and shortlegs and 3 wkts in the bag. Chopra will be the worst possible move if selectors choose him ( even worse than ignoring Sehwag) And...lastly.....check Chopra's average in tests, and his avg in Aus too....23 something...hardly any impact. Further we are planning to win a test series, not try and draw tests in Australia , and for that even an out of form Sehwag is a better bet . Ian Chappell had written a few days back in The Herald Sun that the Indian selectors have done their first mistake by excluding Sehwag. Benaud too said this on channel 9 when the issue of Sehwag dominated the commentary even during the Aus/Sri Lanka test at Hobart. Above all Akash Chopra is 30 years old....and probably one season away from joining ICL if they call him.... Sehwag is younger, and FAR FAR better