amiret Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 Rajnath Singh asks : Union home minister Rajnath Singh on Monday sought to link humanitarian work by religious activists to conversions and highlighted demands for a law against proselytisation. Singh's remarks, made during a speech at a meeting of state minorities commissions, created a flutter among Christian members of the audience. He made no mention of continuing attacks on Christian properties across the country but said a solution must be found to issues like 'ghar wapsi', a campaign by right wing groups to convert people of minority faiths to Hinduism. "I want to say this because the national media is present here and it will send a message. Ghar wapsi is creating a wrong impression. But what can be done to solve it? What is the need for conversion?" Singh told the audience comprising representatives from all minority faiths. I agree with honorable home minister Shri Rajnath Singh-jee. All conversions should be banned. I also believe , Honda & Hyundai should be prevented from offering inducements,allurements and making false claims through Advts and forcefully converting the gullible, semi-literate , impoverished customers of Maruti Suzuki . Samsung should be prevented from proselytizing and forcefully Converting (through dastardly inducements) long term members of the Apple cult. LINK
Khalpat Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 Rajnath Singh asks : I agree with honorable home minister Shri Rajnath Singh-jee. All conversions should be banned. I also believe , Honda & Hyundai should be prevented from offering inducements,allurements and making false claims through Advts and forcefully converting the gullible, semi-literate , impoverished customers of Maruti Suzuki . Samsung should be prevented from proselytizing and forcefully Converting (through dastardly inducements) long term members of the Apple cult. LINK What? Did you just compared the Religion of a Person with the company he works. :hysterical: What next? Since Infosys chennai offered a great pay package to an HCL Noida employee he should think about changing his parents from North Indian to someone at South.
randomGuy Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 What? Did you just compared the Religion of a Person with the company he works. :hysterical: The comparison would not be far off if the religion of peace was not the cancer of 21st century.
amiret Posted March 23, 2015 Author Posted March 23, 2015 ^^ No. My comment refers to the present definition of "forced conversions" in India and to the anti-conversion Bill that was introduced in parliament last month . “Force, inducement, allurement or fraud” is currently used in anti-conversion legislation of five other Indian States, which means "the statutory definition of forced religious conversions includes inducements in the form of promises, economic benefits and free education/health services." If poor and impoverished dalits need to be protected from the allurements and inducements offered by Christian missionaries , I believe the gullible , impoverished , semi-literate customers of Maruti Suzuki also need to be protected from forced conversions (purchasing another brand of automobile ) through false advertising OR the allurements and inducements of discounts or lower prices offered by Hyundai , Honda and other car manufacturers.
Raghav_12 Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 There shouldn't be any ban on religious conversions. That would be dictatorial. To follow religion is my choice. Who is Rajnath to tell me that I can't follow Christianity ot Islam. It is absolutely my choice. I am fine with Hindu's too working towards spread of their religion. If any hindu group can inspire people from other religions to take up hinduism, why should there be problems with that? But issues with organizations like VHP and RSS are, they want to do it through threat and vandalism which shouldn't be allowed at any cost. And more importantly govt. should be completely away from any such activities, which unfortunately doesn't seem to be the case with current govt. Similarly if some Hindu wants to follow other religion than they shuold have a freedom to do that.
bulbul Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 There shouldn't be any ban on religious conversions. That would be dictatorial. To follow religion is my choice. Who is Rajnath to tell me that I can't follow Christianity ot Islam. It is absolutely my choice. I am fine with Hindu's too working towards spread of their religion. If any hindu group can inspire people from other religions to take up hinduism, why should there be problems with that? But issues with organizations like VHP and RSS are, they want to do it through threat and vandalism which shouldn't be allowed at any cost. And more importantly govt. should be completely away from any such activities, which unfortunately doesn't seem to be the case with current govt. Similarly if some Hindu wants to follow other religion than they shuold have a freedom to do that. You are ok with bribery/ lies etc during conversion :hatsoff:
Raghav_12 Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 You are ok with bribery/ lies etc during conversion :hatsoff: No.
seedhi Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 Rajnath Singh asks : I agree with honorable home minister Shri Rajnath Singh-jee. All conversions should be banned. I also believe , Honda & Hyundai should be prevented from offering inducements,allurements and making false claims through Advts and forcefully converting the gullible, semi-literate , impoverished customers of Maruti Suzuki . Samsung should be prevented from proselytizing and forcefully Converting (through dastardly inducements) long term members of the Apple cult. LINKIf we allow for conversions using allurement we should also make legal giving voters monetary inducement to vote for a party. For your info: Indian law does not have any effect whether you buy Samsung or Apple. But in India the Christians enjoy more rights than Hindus. Not to mention the historic atrocities committed on native Indians by members of this cult. Do we want the Christain colonial rule back via induced conversions?
Raghav_12 Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 But you didn't mentioned it as an issue? Had that in mind but then I came under pressure to join a meeting, so I quickly finished my post. I'll update my post in sometime.
bulbul Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 Had that in mind but then I came under pressure to join a meeting' date=' so I quickly finished my post. I'll update my post in sometime.[/quote'] oh.
Khalpat Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 If we allow for conversions using allurement we should also make legal giving voters monetary inducement to vote for a party. For your info: Indian law does not have any effect whether you buy Samsung or Apple. But in India the Christians enjoy more rights than Hindus. Not to mention the historic atrocities committed on native Indians by members of this cult. Do we want the Christain colonial rule back via induced conversions? That's too far streched imagination. Similar to the thinking that Modi is going to harm the minorities this is equally cynical thought. christian population is what less than 1% , how many people can they convert. Remember this is conversion of faith it is not that a person changes his faith so easily. It is our duty to think that why is the person of our community going to some other faith. What can I do to stop him? I will be honest, if I would have taken birth in a caste where people of my own religion or faith think me as someone untouchable and not treat me equal, I might also consider changing my religion. So rather than taking out Laathi, Talwar on the people who are asking for conversion we should give our hands to the Tribals and Dalits and let them feel what all is written in Puran about Varna vyavastha is BS.
diga Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 christian population is what less than 1% ' date=' how many people can they convert.[/quote'] Sir, they are 2.3% of the population and were 1.1% during pre-independence days .. http://censusindia.gov.in/Census_And_You/religion.aspx
seedhi Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 That's too far streched imagination. Similar to the thinking that Modi is going to harm the minorities this is equally cynical thought. christian population is what less than 1% , how many people can they convert. Remember this is conversion of faith it is not that a person changes his faith so easily. It is our duty to think that why is the person of our community going to some other faith. What can I do to stop him? I will be honest, if I would have taken birth in a caste where people of my own religion or faith think me as someone untouchable and not treat me equal, I might also consider changing my religion. So rather than taking out Laathi, Talwar on the people who are asking for conversion we should give our hands to the Tribals and Dalits and let them feel what all is written in Puran about Varna vyavastha is BS.No it isn't. And before you think this is far fetched, please check out what is going on in the north east.
Khalpat Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 Sir, they are 2.3% of the population and were 1.1% during pre-independence days .. http://censusindia.gov.in/Census_And_You/religion.aspx No it isn't. And before you think this is far fetched' date=' please check out what is going on in the north east.[/quote'] Phir bhi yaar lets take this as an opportunity to identify the people of our religion who need the social upliftment. What have we done for the North Easterns, they are not treated equally in our own country they also need to think about their future right? You, me are not going to change our faith because our religion and faith has given us many thing. None of the religions have been able to overtake Hindus in this country even during the 17th and 18th century when the oppression on these lower caste was at its peak. Rather than thinking narrow mindedly about numbers and %, lets look at the broader picture it would be so tough for a person to change his faith man. Only he would have known as to what all he would have gone through socially.
amiret Posted March 23, 2015 Author Posted March 23, 2015 If we allow for conversions using allurement we should also make legal giving voters monetary inducement to vote for a party. Leave aside cash incentives , promises of free Laptops ,TV's and Subsidies are inducements. BJP followed SP's insanity and promised free laptops in Karnataka before the assembly elections. CBN came to power in Andhra promising Farm loan waiver that would cost the state over 50 K crores. Should all of this be illegal ? Are voters being forced to vote for certain parties due to inducements ? Or perhaps conversion by allurement cannot be termed "forced" , it is just the exercise of independent choice . Is there really any difference between the allurements offered by political parties , Corporations or Missionaries ? "Twenty five kg of rice at Re one for all poor families and free laptops/tablets to pre-university level and graduate students are among a set of allurements to Karnataka's ruling BJP held out to the electorates in its manifesto for May 5 assembly polls ." LINK
randomGuy Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 You are ok with bribery/ lies etc during conversion :hatsoff: OK with allurement for conversion but not ok with freedom of speech for criticising religion
bulbul Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 OK with allurement for conversion but not ok with freedom of speech for criticising religion How will you differentiate freedom of speech and lies?
randomGuy Posted March 23, 2015 Posted March 23, 2015 How will you differentiate freedom of speech and lies? Public will differentiate. If I criticise RoP for terrorism, gender inequality, divisiveness, poison and state my reasoning, it will be up to the public to accept or reject. Right now, I am not allowed to state my views even.