NEW DELHI: Senior BJP leader LK Advani has said that Emergency can happen again in India. "I do not say that the political leadership is not mature. But I don't have the confidence that it (Emergency) cannot happen again," Advani said in an interview in the Indian Express. The senior BJP leader said that there are no signs in Indian polity which assure him that the Emergency can't be imposed in India again. "I do not see any sign in our polity that assures me, any outstanding aspect of leadership. A commitment to democracy and to all other aspects related to democracy is lacking," Advani said. Advani also reminded that the 1975 Emergency happened despite the constitutional safeguards that were in place at that time. "There aren't enough safeguards in India in 2015," Advani said. Advani's interview saying "Emergency can happen again in India" may cause further embarrassment to the Modi government. The Modi government is currently facing demands for external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj's resignation over her help to former IPL commissioner Lalit Modi. Rajasthan chief minister Vasundhara Raje is also embroiled in the "Lalitgate" over allegations that she testified in favour of the former IPL chief's British immigration application in 2011. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Emergency-can-happen-again-in-India-LK-Advani-says/articleshow/47716873.cms
Buddha pagla raha hai :cantstop:

What exactly has the Modi government done till now which has made the psycho Ashutosh of AAP and Congress members think that Modi is going to bring emergency. It seems they all had collective orgasm afte hearing this.

I do not see any sign in our polity that assures me, any outstanding aspect of leadership. A commitment to democracy and to all other aspects related to democracy is lacking.”

the media “is more independent today”, said Advani, “but does it have a real commitment to democracy and civil liberties, I don’t know."
Media's commitment to civil liberties was exposed 11 years ago Advaniji , were you in a stupor then or did you simply lack the courage to speak out ?

So, He wants something in constitution to remove any chance of emergency. Make it fool proof. I always opine that generally, provisions within constitution are there for a reason, if it is not vote bank politics then and then only such provisions needs to be revisited

So' date=' He wants something in constitution to remove any chance of emergency. Make it fool proof. I always opine that generally, provisions within constitution are there for a reason, if it is not vote bank politics then and then only such provisions needs to be revisited[/quote'] Indira Gandhi did find it quite easy to impose emergency so LKA does have a point in that there are not enough safeguards. It should not be impossible to impose emergency but it should certainly be very difficult to do it so the provision cannot be abused in the way Indira Gandhi did.
Indira Gandhi did find it quite easy to impose emergency so LKA does have a point in that there are not enough safeguards. It should not be impossible to impose emergency but it should certainly be very difficult to do it so the provision cannot be abused in the way Indira Gandhi did.
Indira jis emergency still haunts our senior politicians. She must have done things with these guys which they don't tell :giggle: Jokes apart, Has there been any amendments wrt this since emergency?
“I do not see any sign in our polity that assures me' date= any outstanding aspect of leadership. A commitment to democracy and to all other aspects related to democracy is lacking.†Media's commitment to civil liberties was exposed 11 years ago Advaniji , were you in a stupor then or did you simply lack the courage to speak out ?
what are you referring to?
One instance : India's major news publications using anonymous sources and Terrorist propaganda to slander a dead 19 year old girl who never had an opportunity to confront her accusers or the evidence against her in a court of law.
As if same media covered 1984 riots? never ever I read that in civilised nation a community got butchered in broad daylight and in CAPITAL in number of 3000+ and there was no media outrage. Even in worst African nation with conflict capitals remain safe and you are crying just for 1 girl
I gave one instance or one example . :facepalm: to illustrate the broader point .
These are the examples why that Advani ji spoke is not only about Modi.
I gave one instance or one example . :facepalm: to illustrate the broader point .
Yup and your selective examples are the part of problem. One encounter out of the million which happened in India. It was just by luck that you picked this example to show how emergency would be imposed in India. Right? We never feared this during Beant Singh - KPS Gill era of Punjab when hundreds of innocent were killed. We never feared the same when hundreds of innocent Kashmiri got killed during NArsimha Rao era. We never feared the same when hundreds got killed during Mulayam Singh era of first kar sewa during police encounter. We never feared the same when hundreds of uttarakhandi got killed in police encounter during Mulayam singh era. We never feared the same when whole of Mumbai was burning and mostly innocent were getting killed during Mid 90's in Police encounter. We never feared when Sub Inspector Daya Nayak after encounter killing was counting the number of victims and when it reached 50 all were rejoincing. But this ladies and gentleman this incident of a girl who was mysteriously with 5 terrorist got killed in a police encounter should be made example to make people fearful and next time not to vote for same government as emergency can be imposed. One supposedly innocent got killed with terrorists. The only one of a kind incident which happened in the world. Comeon have the guts and courage to tell people that you are basically disappointed with this one incident because these 5 were very close to killing of Narendra Modi. If he would have been killed there wouldn't have been any problem in this country. you could have rejoiced but this police team foiled the attempt.

An illustration or example is selective by definition. You are free to add your own examples. To add to the main topic: Sardesai ‏ interviews advani.

Rajdeep Sardesai ‏@sardesairajdeep 1h1 hour ago LK Advani tells me: today's leaders should be modest like Vajpayee was. Says he is opposed to all kinds of dictatorships.
The "Great Bombast" would disagree. You don't get 300+ seats by being modest or truthful.
An illustration or example is selective by definition. You are free to add your own examples. To add to the main topic: Sardesai ‏ interviews advani. The "Great Bombast" would disagree. You don't get 300+ seats by being modest or truthful.
No niether you get 67 out of 70 in Assembly through the same.

Emergency can happen again in India, LK Advani says

No niether you get 67 out of 70 in Assembly through the same.
:giggle: Advani, the mind behind Babari Mosque demolition is the new role model..,

Hello, Giving powers to media vs putting provisions so that implementation of emergency becomes a ratrest of rare thing are two different issues. Infact, if anything, Indian media needs a independent watch dog. I dont want to hear with that, all my fellow countrymen are rapist, Indian PM has blood on his hand, Indian government is killing Chistians , India economy is bunch of fiddled numbers and so on.

Indian media= a Business promoting interest of few politicians answerable to NO one. Whether its supporting Congress, BJP or AAP, DMK , TMC Birala, Jindal, Dalmia, Adani, Advani, BCCI. I am still waiting when likes of Vinod Dua grill politicians of every party on same channel then promoting interest of their pay masters.